We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay in an excellent location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel L'Aigle des Neiges
Ranked #2 of 39 Hotels in Val d'Isere
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 February 2014

We recently stayed at the L'Aigle des Neiges in mind January. The hotel is in a wonderful location right in the centre of the town at the foot of the nursery slopes, carry enough speed and you can slide straight to the door of the boot room - 2 min walk to the nearest chair lift.

A warm welcome was received on arrival, all the staff we met through our stay were all friendly and accommodating.

The rooms were comfortable and functional, there is plenty of storage space - which is such a bonus in a ski resort. Our room was on the 1st floor overlooking the square and we can say that there was no noise disturbance from the hotel bar during our stay. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was lovely.

We were on a half board package so ate breakfast and dinner in the restaurant each night.
We found the restaurant staff were all very friendly and we enjoyed the varying menu for each night (the desert buffet is the best). We enjoyed the flexibility of eating at a time that suited us although we found that the restaurant lacked atmosphere due to this factor. The choice of food at breakfast was also good although it would have been nice to have been able to get hot waffles/crepes rather than cold.

The Spa within the hotel is a wonderful place to ease those aching muscles, we looked forward to a quick session at the end of each day and the facilities found were some of the best we have had in a ski resort.

The boot room guys really do look after you - we had all our own gear which they stowed away each nigh,They do a very good overnight service for anyone who would need one.
,as its at the foot of the slopes we could drop it all off before they closed and head on out for Apres Ski - from this hotel there are 4 après bars within a 2 min walk and its central for the remainder of the resort.

Service overall from the hotel was second to none, its seems to be a small team and they always greet you with a smile and acknowledgment.

There were only a couple of occasions we found it slipped - During dinner one evening due to a large group 40+ who had seated at the same time as us we never received the drinks we requested. There also seemed to be a confusion with the staff in the hotel bar over afternoon tea - we were advised by reception that afternoon tea would be laid out at the end of the bar and during set times we could help ourselves however over a 3 day period each time we asked at the bar where it was they didn't seem to know.

Minor things but with these it would have been a 10/10 for us.

We do look forward to returning though as we had an amazing time.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RachaelD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mehdi R, Directeur général at Hotel L'Aigle des Neiges, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

Dear Madam,

Many thanks for your comment on our property.

This a real pleasure that you spent a lovely stay with us.

Your comments and suggestions are very important for us, to improve our service.

I hope to welcome you again very soon,

Best Regards,

Mehdi Rezki
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (451)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

143 - 149 of 451 reviews

Reviewed 9 February 2014

Hotel L'Aigle is a great hotel and given a few tweaks could be exceptional. Ideally located within 100m of the slopes, it has a lovely ambience, not your stereo typical bland boxed interior, but a warm unique style and decor. Indeed it's too warm, bordering on uncomfortable, whether that be for breakfast or evening drinks, take plenty of t-shirts! The rooms are good, with decent proportions but again they aren't great - i was on the first floor and couldn't relax for the noise from the band in the bar, the toilet paper is cheap and the mini bar was never re-stocked. None of these are overly problematic but all can be easily rectified and turn the experience into being so much more pleasurable - and it isn't cheap so shouldn't one expect close to perfection? If you visit the bar don't expect to be served quickly either - the staff were superb but there simply weren't enough of them and we would generally be 10/15 minutes to get served, too long in this kind of establishment. All in all a good hotel that with the right management could be great

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oxley7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mehdi R, Directeur général at Hotel L'Aigle des Neiges, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

Dear Sir, Dear Madam,

We appreciate very much your comments regarding your stay at l'Aigle des Neiges . It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely yours,

Mehdi Rezki
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Just returned after staying here for one week half board, (2 Couples in late twenties) we had a fantastic experience in a very nice hotel.

Rooms
Rooms are well equipped with good decor, plenty of storage etc, nice comfy bed, mini fridge with a selection of products (chargeable). There is also a safe at no extra charge. Shower was powerful and heated towel rail in the bathroom was a nice touch and useful to dry ski gloves. We were on the 2nd floor and could not here the music from the bar, however there was some noise from outside as we were above the main entrance and the smokers gather there and after a few drinks they were quite loud.

Food
Breakfast was buffet style with plenty of choice for everyone, pastries, fresh fruit, the normal cooked options, fruit juices and yoghurts. The only downside to breakfast was the toaster! Standard domestic 4 slice style that was slow, not really good enough at busy times.
Evening meal was a three course and of a high quality, two options for starter and main course, buffet salad and desert selection. Portion size was not massive and extra vegetables would have made a big difference but the quality was fantastic.
Between 4pm and 6pm the hotel serve tea, coffee and snacks in the bar, great after a days skiing. On arrival we were told that they would serve hot chocolate and pancakes. In reality only tea and coffee was free of charge and although the cookies, muffins and doughnuts were very good, it is a shame that Hot Chocolate was not available free of charge.

Location
Very close to the centre of the Val, close to both shops, bars and the local supermarkets this is a great location, as for access to the slopes, there is a short 2 minute walk to the ski lifts although you can ski almost to the door of the hotel. The guys in the boot room are great, collect your skis and boots from you and issue you a ticket so no need to use lockers etc, they also advise on where to head for the best skiing dependant on the conditions.

Spa and Swimming Pool
We did not have any treatments so can not comment, good size steam room and sauna, clean and tidy and the swimming pool was of the expected standard, there is no hot tub but there are jets in the one corner of the swimming pool.

Few comments on here about prices, I do not believe that this hotel is over priced, it is in relation to other resorts in this area, bar prices are also reflective of what we are used to paying in hotels in ski resorts, does not mean I like it but something you have to expect.

Finally majority of the staff spoke great English which is great as my French is poor at best and all staff were very helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: Standard rooms are on floors one and two, rooms 216 and above are away from the front entrance so sh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RichiePreece100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mehdi R, Directeur général at Hotel L'Aigle des Neiges, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

Dear Sir,

Many thanks for your post on the website and for the time spent completing it following your stay at l'Aigle des Neiges .

We gratefully acknowledge your comments and suggestions, as they allow us to improve our service and better satisfy our guests.

Thank you and we look forward to host you again in our hotel.

Sincerely yours,

Mehdi Rezki
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

We stayed in l'Aigle des Neiges for four nights in mid-January to celebrate my birthday with friends. The hotel is very well located within the village, just a couple of minutes from the nursery slopes and close to all the shops and bars of Val d'Isere.

The room was comfortable with a high quality bed and bedding. The room we had was not exactly huge, but fine for skiing and well appointed. Bathroom was new and the shower was good.

One thing to not is that you like to go to bed early, you may not want to be on the first floor. You can hear the music from the bar downstairs until 12-1am in the morning. Didn't bother us, but it might some people.

Breakfast, if not included in your room cost, is pretty punchy at€24. We had it one day and it was very good. Other days we just went to a local cafe before hitting the slopes.

The hotel staff are very friendly and helpful. Friends had organised champagne for me on the first night in our room, which the staff were happy to bring to us in the bar with friends instead the next day.

The bar is comfortable with big sofas. It's not too busy and the cocktails are very good if quite pricey. The music could be a little more chilled for my tastes, but that could be my age!

Overall, very good hotel in a great location.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mehdi R, Directeur général at Hotel L'Aigle des Neiges, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2014
Google Translation

Cher Monsieur,

Je vous remercie vivement de votre commentaire.

Je suis ravi que votre séjour parmi se soit merveilleusement déroulé. Vos remarques sont un réel encouragement, et toutes mes équipes travaillent au quotidien à votre service.

J'espère avoir le plaisir de vous accueillir de nouveau,

Cordialement,

Mehdi Rezki
Directeur Général

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

We stayed here this weekend. Fab service. Really nice, helpful staff but we didn't expect to pay quite so much!! We booked our EUR 522 (for 2 nightS) room a couple of weeks ago and had to change it from a Monday/Tuesday night to a Friday/Saturday night which meant we had to pay EUR 100 extra per night. On top of that a couple of drinks and breakfast NOT included we ended up paying more that EUR 400 more!!!! A nice hotel, very nice staff but watch out for the hidden extras!!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KellyGriffiths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mehdi R, Directeur général at Hotel L'Aigle des Neiges, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Dear Madam,

Many thanks for your comment on our property.

I will share it with all my team, this important for us.

I notice your comment about our rates, and we will take care of this point for our future rates for next season.

I remain, with all my team at your disposal,

Best Regards,

Mehdi Rezki
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

Stayed here for four nights with my two sons for a quick ski trip. I could not have chosen better. Our rooms were excellent, staff were very friendly. The boot room guys were spot on. Not bad value and the location was great. The bar is a bit soulless but very clean and efficient. I will be going back and I would recommend this hotel.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
Thank CKevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mehdi R, Directeur général at Hotel L'Aigle des Neiges, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2014

Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

Many thanks for your comment about our property.

This is a real pleasure for us, I will share your experience with all my team.

We remain at your disposal, for your next trip in Val d'Isère.

Regards,

Mehdi Rezki
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

We stayed a few days in December.
We appreciated the location , the breakfast and part of the staff.
BUT the rate is a scandal for a rather 3* , the spa is full of noisy kids and forget the room service.
Discussions with the staff and regular clients confirmed that there is definitely a problem .
We paid a fortune to learn , hope you benefit from our sad experience.
We believe that recent advises are just fakes..

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank Rol S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mehdi R, Directeur général at Hotel L'Aigle des Neiges, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2014

Dear Sir,

Many thanks for your post on the website.

First of all, all recent advises are not fakes. We received a lot of comments, true this site, but also true Guest Comments before departure or after departure, and a lot of them are really positive.

I could understand that prices were really expensive, but you must know that december is a very high season for us and in Val d'Isère. Unfortunately, our rates are based on the demand and the offer, and our prices were the same as other hôtels in the area during this period.

For the swimming pool, I could perfectly understand your point, but during holidays, we have a lot of families in our property.

If you need more information, I remain at your disposal,

Regards,

Mehdi Rezki
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Val d'Isere hotels
0.1 mi away
Le Yule
Le Yule
#9 of 39 in Val d'Isere
136 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Restaurant La Toviere
Hotel Restaurant La Toviere
#5 of 39 in Val d'Isere
156 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tsanteleina Hotel
Tsanteleina Hotel
#1 of 39 in Val d'Isere
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Altitude
Hotel Altitude
#4 of 39 in Val d'Isere
220 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Les Barmes de l'Ours
Hotel Les Barmes de l'Ours
#12 of 39 in Val d'Isere
126 reviews
1.2 mi away
Le Samovar Hotel & Chalets
Le Samovar Hotel & Chalets
#23 of 39 in Val d'Isere
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel L'Aigle des Neiges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel L'Aigle des Neiges

Address: Place de l Eglise, 73150 Val d'Isere, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Val d'Isere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Val d'Isere
#2 Luxury Hotel in Val d'Isere
#2 Spa Hotel in Val d'Isere
#7 Romantic Hotel in Val d'Isere
#8 Family Hotel in Val d'Isere
Price Range: £185 - £637 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel L'Aigle des Neiges 4*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the old village, the Hotel L'Aigle des Neiges**** at 1800 m high, with its wooden structure and its slate roof, is ideally located just at a few steps from the slopes and Espace Killy olympic downhill ski area. Offering 109 spacious and comfortable rooms, the hotel combines perfectly modernity and tradition in its interior decoration. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel L'Aigle des Neiges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel L'Aigle Des Neiges France/Savoie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing