We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Meat and potato gratin delicious.”
Review of Restaurant 1789

Restaurant 1789
Ranked #18 of 98 Restaurants in Val d'Isere
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Meat and potato gratin delicious.”
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Go hungry and make sure you book. They're always busy even when other restaurants have space. Only two times available 7.30 and 9.30 so If you are slow to order you will wait a while to be served but worth it
Doesn't really cater fo vegetarians

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank PAHMDH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    102
    32
    18
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
South West
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“It's all about them - you just pay the bill”
Reviewed 21 March 2014

The attitude in 1789 is appalling. It transcends the whole place including the remarkable statement regarding a vegetarian choice on the menu - e.g. "Vegetarian choice according to chef's mood." Outstandingly laissez faire and couldn't give a monkey's toss. (see photo)
Sadly, they have been spoiled by the fact they are in a popular resort that brings new faces every week.
I booked by telephone a month before going to Val. On arrival I called over to reconfirm as this restaurant has a bad history of arguing with clients and turning them away.
They said I had not booked - only to discover after several frustrating minutes of argument that I was first on the list (and I speak enough French to get more than by!)
The evening of the meal was not good. At 7pm we walked past three people who were smoking at the door in order to gain entrance. They were all staff.
They squash two sittings in and you get the Macdonalds rush effect if you are at the later end of the first sitting.
The take it or leave it attitude is amazing.
I asked for my steak to be medium to well done. Medium was the best the moody chef would cook my steak if I was lucky. When it turned up it was rare/blue.
The tables are packed in and beware the table in the far left corner as you go in. You will be squashed under an arch and most uncomfortable. They will overcharge you full price none the less.
The food is uninspiring, the attitude appalling and there are much better places to eat than this.
Don't spoil your holiday or waste your money. If desperate buy a baguette from the supermarket and some cheese and ham. You will be far more satisfied.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Odynson98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tulum
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“ok”
Reviewed 11 March 2014

The place is small and packed, we had sausage and crozet it was a bit greasy. The really bad thing there is the service the waitress are rude and very busy and the price are just as high are in other places in Val (la luge for example)

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank larsTulum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
159 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Expected more”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We were a bit disappointed with the restaurant. This is our second time in Val d'Isere, and last year we could not get to 1789 as it was fully booked for the week- apparently it's very popular. This time we decided to have our last dinner at the resort on 14 Feb 2014 at this place. The restaurant is rather small so the tables are very close to each other (which is often the case in Europe). The personnel did their job ok but they were not too friendly. We decided to have the fondue since it's the local specialty but this was a mistake. The cheese was not that good :( So I ordered a steak with mushroom sauce and that was delicious. Evidently it's a meat place so if you have a meal there, go for meat. The restaurant presented each lady with a rose as a good-bye compliment which was a nice touch.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maria_Ber_2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carvoeiro, Portugal
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A great little restaurant”
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We were a little nervous about eating here as we visited in 2013 and we didn't have a great experience but WOW what a change, we were very pleased that we revisited on this ski trip and ended up eating here twice.

The restaurant has a lovely setting, quite intimate and lovely interior. Booking is essential, we eat early but by 19:30 this restaurant was full. The menu is lovely, we had the Cote de Bouef on our 2nd visit which was amazing, they bring the meat to the table before cooking and then use the open grill to cook - a nice touch. Our meals on both occasions were fantastic, there is a good wine at a reasonable price and the desserts were very very good. Good value and we would highly recommend.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EmsRobinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurant 1789 also viewed

Val d'Isere, Savoie
Val d'Isere, Savoie
 

Been to Restaurant 1789? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing