We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place for lunch”
Review of La Fruitiere

La Fruitiere
Ranked #22 of 98 Restaurants in Val d'Isere
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$28 - US$45
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, View, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: HIGH, CLASS, DINING(butcher, cheese maker, fishmonger, wine maker, baker..) and the modern, specially adapted techniques required (low-temperature slow cooking, heat-immersion, vacuum and pressure cooking…). The whole menu makes maximum use of quality local (Savoyarde) produce, an open invitation to indulge in the superb regional food culture. La Fruiterie is equally original in its interior design, taking its inspiration from the old mountain dairies, with a thoroughly modern design interpretation: from the white metal milk churns to the regional Beaufort styled furniture, the visible zinc pipework to the staff uniforms. The staff team are young, enthusiastic and dynamic, from the kitchens to the front of house, the emphasis is on a totally cool client/staff rapport, creating powerful customer loyalty.
Santiago de Cuba, Cuba
Level Contributor
696 reviews
437 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
“Great place for lunch”
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

Ideal spot on the ski fields, nearby la folie douce, but far better.
Excellent and fast service
Great food, very generous portions...(try the local Boudin) and good quality of tasty products.
Pricing is reasonnable at 20-25euros the main course
And the expresso coffee is excellent!
Worth the try!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank ClubGGG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    76
    34
    17
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
68 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“The place to eat on mountain....”
Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

Eaten here a number of times over the years. Quirky & fun interior. Food can be hit & miss - some mains are outstanding, some a bit less so. Puddings excellent apart from chocolate fondant that was a slab of cake NOT a fondant. It's the "place" to go & worth a visit.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sarah I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
132 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Outside a Must!!”
Reviewed 7 April 2014

You need to be booked outside here to give it justice, inside,it's a bit crowded and normal. But get on the terrace with the music playing,sun shining and the dancers and its a different place. DON'T have the duck shepards pie......tried it and,with polenta on top instead of Tatties, its vile. There are a lot of good choices and the desserts are amazing!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Blackfish365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasgow
Level Contributor
87 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Give it a miss. Go to the bar and watch the cabaret”
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Pretentious food served by pretentious staff at ridiculous prices. I have no idea why they suggest booking as we shared our table with strangers. After suffering a starter and main which I found inedible (steer clear of fondant leek and hot pot). I have never been served cold leeks in a cheese sauce before or sausages thrown into a pot of cabbage (including the stalk) and water and I never will again. However, the piece de resistance came when my fellow diners and I watched as a chocolate fondant was served to many other tables and all agreed this would be the saving grace after all what could they possibly do to that? I ordered the said fondant and when it arrived it did not resemble those we'd previously seen. I questioned the waiter who blatantly lied and said the enormous slab of dense chocolate cake was the fondant. I am not in the habit of arguing with foreign waiters and chose not to comment further although my perception was confirmed by a French gentleman sitting at our table. the cake was equally as bad as the previous 2 courses as it was obviously days old and had been microwaved to give the illusion of a melting centre.When the bill arrived we had been charged for some chocolate dessert which was not even on the menu. There's only one thing worse than bad food and that is being treated badly by staff who are not fit to lick my shoes never mind serve me.Suffice to say if we ever return it will be to the bar for a drink only and to watch the cabaret which was very entertaining.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank janette h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Rip Off”
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Went here 2 weeks ago great atmosphere but the service & food was disgraceful.
Twice our food was brought out cold not even an apology or discounted bill.
Go for the music & dancing but give the expensive food & bad service a miss which so typical of the French.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aolbrechts, Responsable relations publiques at La Fruitiere, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Hello Paul,

We're sorry to hear about your experience at La Fruitière, which clearly doesn't meet both our expectations about our restaurant and it's quality.

Be sure these kind of glitches have been reported to the right people inside the staff so we make sure it doesn't happen as it did for you.

We do appreciate the fact that you could give us another chance if you come back in Val d'Isère. Don't hesitate to tell us when you do ...

La Fruitière Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Fruitiere also viewed

Val d'Isere, Savoie
Val d'Isere, Savoie
 
Val d'Isere, Savoie
Val d'Isere, Savoie
 

Been to La Fruitiere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing