We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Restaurant La Toviere
Ranked #7 of 39 Hotels in Val d'Isere
Certificate of Excellence
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Very Good Hotel”
Reviewed 3 February 2014

We had a great 6 night stay at La Toviere. All the staff are really friendly and helpful and made us feel so welcome. The breakfasts are very good and the location is fantastic for skiing. All the rooms and public areas are very comfortable and well appointed, only one small niggle - the bedrooms are far too hot at night. Lovely comfy beds. We only ate in the restaurant 1 night as our son was working in town and so we wanted to go and see him, but the meal we had was very good.
Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    40
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
43
35
12
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
sydney
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

Our family of three (2 adults and teenage daughter) have just returned from a delightful week's stay at La Toviere in mid-January 2014, staying in a family room comprising main bedroom and separate bunk-room, each with own access to balcony overlooking ski slopes up La Daile.
Firstly, the great things about this hotel ...
Accommodation-wise, this hotel is worthy of far more than its 3-star rating!! Either that, or other 3-star hotels in the area should be re-rated 2-star. Our room (210) was spacious, clean, bright, and beautifully furnished in a contemporary style, with oodles of storage, not just with wardrobes for our clothes but with a large bench in the hallway which easily accommodated three large suitcases, three cabin-bags, and a ski boot bag, and wall-hooks for our ski gear. and shelves alongside the tv and above the bed so that we could spread out our books, computers, and phones (two lots of double power points for charging phones. etc, one at either end of the shelf above the king Bed - much better than bedside tables!). Heavy drapes across the balcony doors provided excellent sound, temperature, and light insulation.
The well-lit, bright bathroom had separate bath and shower (with option of rain shower or hand-held), -lit, and a make-up mirror - (thank you), supplied with plenty of white, fluffy towels and hand-towels changed daily! Again, plenty of storage space to accommodate toiletry and cosmetic bags.
Individual ski locker (opened by secure room key) in basement was roomy - separate hooks for up to four pairs of boots, four helmets, and storage space for skis and poles.
Steam and sauna rooms were a welcome respite from a hard-day's skiing!
Location is literally a 2-minute walk (or when the snow is plentiful a 1 1/2 minute ski!) to the Funival, which gets you to the top of Bellevarde in 3 minutes! Being out of the town centre, it is quiet and peaceful in the evenings. Alternatively, if you want to ski from Solaise or Le Fornet, (or go to the main town centre) the free shuttle leaves about every 5 - 7 minutes from the bus-stop about 200 metres down the road.
Staff: friendly, professional, accommodating. Housekeeping: excellent - timely and thorough.

And secondly, the niggles ...
Our stay was so enjoyable it seems churlish to mention the little niggles!
The bunk room is a little on the small side, and the top bunk is so close to the ceiling so that unless you're a tiny tot, you can't really sit up in bed! That didn't bother us, as we were a party of three, and only used the bottom bunk. Also, no bedside table here, so phone, book, and ipad were stored on the floor.
Meal service: breakfast is good, although as others have mentioned, limited in terms of hot food options (scrambled eggs and bacon only!). Dinner atmosphere would be more enjoyable if the bright lights were toned down and maybe the tables were candle lit, so that there is less of a "diner-feel" to it.

We really enjoyed our stayed here, and hope that the high standards of service, cleanliness, and furnishings are maintained, and that any refurbishment takes place before the place starts to get tired, as seems to have been the case with other hotels in this area! If you don't need/want to be in the village centre, Hotel La Toviere is an excellent choice!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AmandaSydney88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burleigh Heads, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Left this morning after a 9 night stay with my husband & 2 sons aged 12 & 14. Room large & beautifully decorated. Boys in a separate bunk room. Room so quiet; next to the lift & never heard a thing. Great breakfast with plenty of choices. Thank you to the friendly staff for a great experience.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Julie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

I've just come back from a 5 night stay at La Toviere and would definitely recommend it to anyone looking to enjoy the skiing around Val d'isere.
staff members were extremely helpful and friendly throughout our stay.
The location in La Daille was brilliant, literally a 2 minute walk from the lifts which took us to an area between Val and Tignes . If you want to go into town the buses run every 5 minutes until 8pm and then every 10 mins -
Bad points :
- there was no temperature control in the rooms -
- The room itself was very small. However, it was clean and comfortable with a good shower and everything you would need on a ski trip (including mountain views).

Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Bernard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2013

Absolutely beautiful. This Hotel has recently re-opened after spending a fortune on refurb. It now has a three star rating and is just absolutely beautiful. So good for the first time ever I have already booked to stay again next year. The food is beautifully presented and the staff are courteous and professional. I cannot rate this enough. I would say not what you would expect from a Ski resort hotel, just much much better and great value as well. It is also directly opposite the Funival (Train to take you straight up the mountain). You have secure ski lockers with boot driers which kicks out ambient air.

Room Tip: The family rooms are either Twins pushed together but with loads of storage. There is also a separat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RaymondL933
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

I've just come back from a 5 night stay at La Toviere with my boyfriend and would definitely recommend it to anyone looking to enjoy the skiing around Val d'isere. The hotel has just been refurbished and feels clean and fresh inside with all new fittings and fixtures (however I would say that some parts haven't yet been finished but these are minor and to be honest to didn't affect our stay).
We arrived and were quickly shown to our room by the staff who also helped us get our ski pass sorted (at reception) so we could get on the slopes as early as possible the next day! They were extremely helpful and friendly throughout our stay and were also great when we left as they allowed us to stay in the room a little later as out bus didn't leave until 3 (perfect when you want a shower after a morning on the slopes!).
The breakfast was great, with fresh croissants and baguette throughout the time they were open with tonnes of other bits too including fruit, bacon & scrambled egg, ham, ect.. We also decided to eat in the hotel for supper one night, the food was very good, no complaints there although we ended up a bit apart from the rest of the guests which meant it was a little quiet and we were forgotten about from time to time!
The location in La Daille was brilliant, literally a 2 minute walk from the lifts which took us to an area between Val and Tignes (also we could ski down easily - there's a red, blue and green down!). If you want to go into town the buses run every 5 minutes until 8pm and then every 10 mins - so very very easy there if you want to go for dinner or drinks in the evening!
One big gripe...there was no temperature control in the rooms - the heating seemed to be on full blast throughout the night which meant we boiled and the room became very muggy (also since it's underfloor heating it meant the bed got uncomfortably hot!) - we tried to open the balcony doors however ended up too cold! They need to sort this out as we have to say we slept pretty badly due to this.
When this is sorted we would have no problem in recommending anyone to stay, it's a great price for what it is (compared to a lot of the other accommodation in Val), is very near the lifts and the staff are fab - all in all thank you La Toviere!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the slopes!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LouiseH783
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2013

Just got back from 5 nights here. Inside and out very tastefully decorated. Modern design but retains the alpine/mountain feel. Parking is apparently available in a limited way, but we had to park opposite in the public car park which cost around 10 euros a night. The ski room is excellent and secure, and it is possible to dry your boots overnight. There is a sauna and a steam room, both of which are modern and clean.

The room itself was very small. However, it was clean and comfortable with a good shower and everything you would need on a ski trip (including mountain views). The bar area was very nice, and the restaurant/breakfast room also attractive. Breakfast itself was ok with the usual continental options. There was scrambled egg (not great) and bacon available but this was the limit of the hot food options. A perfectly fine breakfast but for the price we paid you might expect a little more in the way of hot options. The location is great and I actually preferred it to being in Val D'Isere town. The funicular and gondola leave from less than 200m away and it is possible to be on the slopes at 9am having woken up at 8.15am!

We eat in the restaurant once and the food was very nice at reasonable prices. The staff were efficient if not always smiley, and the only real downside was having just handed over £1000 to settle the bill we were asked to pay a fine for losing one of the room keys (in fairness we had lost it and it was only £5).

Overall, this is a very good hotel but for the money we paid and the size of the room it met rather than exceeded expectations.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Val d'Isere hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel L'Aigle des Neiges
Hotel L'Aigle des Neiges
#1 of 39 in Val d'Isere
424 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Altitude
Hotel Altitude
#3 of 39 in Val d'Isere
210 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel les Cretes Blanches
Hotel les Cretes Blanches
#24 of 39 in Val d'Isere
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Bellier
Hotel Bellier
#13 of 39 in Val d'Isere
98 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel L'Avancher
Hotel L'Avancher
#9 of 39 in Val d'Isere
176 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Residence Les Chalets de Solaise
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Restaurant La Toviere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Restaurant La Toviere

Property: Hotel Restaurant La Toviere
Address: la Daille, 73150 Val d'Isere, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Val d'Isere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Val d'Isere
#3 Romantic Hotel in Val d'Isere
#4 Family Hotel in Val d'Isere
#4 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Val d'Isere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Restaurant La Toviere 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Restaurant la TOVIERE, located in the heart of the Espace Killy has just undergone a complete renovation. La TOVIERE welcomes you at the foot of the slopes right in front of the Funival which is the fastest ski-lift in the resort. On the top of its great location the Hotel offers a cosy and modern setting where old woods blend with refined design. The team of la TOVIERE takes good care of you and make sure you enjoy an unforgettable stay in the mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Restaurant La Toviere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Restaurant La Toviere France/Savoie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing