We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic holiday in a great chalet” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chalet Bonjour-Athenaise

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Val d'Isere
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chalet Bonjour-Athenaise
Ranked #2 of 18 Val d'Isere B&B and Inns
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic holiday in a great chalet”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

My wife and I are just back from a great holiday in La Daille. We stayed with ski Bonjour in the Athenaise with our four children.
The Athenaise is a great chalet in a fantastic location. The rooms are nice and clean. It is literally across the road from both the chairlift and the Funival. Access to the slopes could barely be easier. The chalet is near a bus stop for the free ski bus. The journey to the centre of Val D'Isere is effortless.
Gabby, Steph and Tom looked after us really well. The food was delicious and nothing was too much trouble. There was no issue with alternative meals for the children in the company. We stayed in the Panoramique in Les Brevieres last year. We are becoming devotees of Ski Bonjour and are gradually moving up the mountain. We already planning the return trip next year.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Skifans2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnBManager, Manager at Chalet Bonjour-Athenaise, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Thanks so much for your feedback, it's great to hear from you and we look forward to welcoming you back next season!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    9
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
3
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Harrogate, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

The chalet was perfect - very close to the piste and lift access to the upper reaches of the Val d'Isere ski area. The chalet was exceptionally well run by the staff - very comfortable, excellent food and wine and we felt completely looked after. Ski school for my children couldn't have been easier. The frequent bus service to Val meant we could leave at 8.40am and be at the ski school drop off by 8.55am. The buses run back and forth about every ten minutes or so and are refreshingly efficient made even better by the fact that the bus stop is virtually opposite the chalet. All in all, everything about our skiing holiday was perfect! Thank you Ski Bonjour!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Nick693
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnBManager, Manager at Chalet Bonjour-Athenaise, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Thank you for your feedback, it's great to hear that you had such a good holiday with your family. It is useful to know about the ease of ski school from this chalet, so thank you for your comments. Best wishes from everyone at Ski Bonjour.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liversedge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

Ski Bonjour are first rate. The chalet is perfectly located and ticks all the boxes in charm, comfort and service. Top marks to Tom the chef, he cooks a mean paella and the rest of his dishes all hit the spot too. Steph was always a joy to be around and is a pretty mean skier too! 5 minutes out of the door you have the Funival up to Bellevarde for a blast down a beautifully groomed Face first thing in the morning (get there on the first lift, it's spectacular) or the Daille gondola and a quick link on Tommeuses over to Tignes and Val Claret. The room I stayed in was a little tight but still had sufficient space for 2 adults, plenty of kit and was lovely and warm. The bathroom was as good as any you might find in a mid range hotel, clean, well designed and had a great shower with plenty of piping hot water. The skiing in this area is obviously amazing and the multitude of reds back to La Daille always tops the day off nicely. Val d I'sere is a 15 min walk or a free 5 minute bus ride away. I've used Ski Bonjour once before and will most certainly use them again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Plutop82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnBManager, Manager at Chalet Bonjour-Athenaise, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Thank you for your comments about your holiday, we're really pleased that you enjoyed your holiday and that you were well looked after with good food. We hope we can welcome you back again in 2014/15! Many thanks from the Ski Bonjour team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

You cannot get a better location or chalet experience in Val d'Isere! Gabby and Tom our chalet manager and chef were fantastic and made us feel very at home while ensuring that our every need was catered for. This was a 5 star experience with the service and friendliness of the staff being the highlight. The food was outstanding and Tom's porridge is a must! Even Gary, our great chalet host, admitted that its the best meal in Val!

You want this chalet and these guys!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnBManager, Manager at Chalet Bonjour-Athenaise, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Thank you for your review it is much appreciated. It is great to hear that you had fantastic food and were well looked after by Gabby, Tom and Gary. We hope we can welcome you back again next season. Many thanks indeed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

Booked the whole Grand Athenaise for 2nd week of March 2014. The location was perfect, I think best place to stay in Val D'Isere/ La Dialle. Right at the bottom of the run from La Folie. Gabby and Tom the hosts were brilliant and really made the holiday for us. I love my food and Tom was amazing. It was like eating out every day. With out doubt the best chalet holiday we have had due to the food and hosting.

Hats off to ski bonjour. Would definitely recommend and stay there again!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnBManager, Manager at Chalet Bonjour-Athenaise, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your holiday and particularly the location of the chalet. Tom will be pleased to hear that you enjoyed his food so much. Thank you for your comments and we hope to have you to stay with Ski Bonjour again next season!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

We drove to the Grande Athenaise Chalet from Lyon on the Sunday morning (Ski Bonjour change over day). The Chalet is very easy to find and is in a perfect location - in La Daille and directly opposite the bubble lift up. 2 min walk with skis max to the lifts in La Daille - or a short bus ride to the centre of Val 'Isere to the other ski lifts. The bus is every 5 mins so very handy.

Tom was an excellent Chef (cooks for both Petit and Grande Athenaise) and Gabby was a perfect chalet host in the Grande Athenaise Chalet. We arrived earlier than expected and they couldn't have been more helpful with our bags from the cars - even though they were busy cleaning and cooking. We went out skiing and when we returned the chalet was spotless. Gary (ex Navy) the Resort Host had our ski passes ready for us on Sunday and came to deliver them to us before we went out onto the slopes. Gary was extremely helpful and also takes guests up the mountain for the day if they wish to be guided around the slopes.

We had sole occupancy of the Chalet - 6 of us in total. This made the Chalet feel very spacious. There is a lovely lounge upstairs with a large TV and DVD player. The rooms are spotless and Gabby did an excellent job of cleaning them each day. There is also UK TV in each room.

The food is great and Tom made sure he asked us if we liked what was on the menu each night - if a guest was not keen on the menu he would do his best to cater for them personally. The cakes after a hard days skiing are also very delicious.

Overall a great week and a perfect chalet considering we booked only 6 weeks in advance!

Room Tip: 2 rooms in the Grande do not have a view of the slopes and only room 1 in the whole chalet (Grande C...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank charlotte c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnBManager, Manager at Chalet Bonjour-Athenaise, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to give us your positive review, it's great to hear that you enjoyed your holiday and that the chalet is in a perfect location (we think so too!). Gabby, Tom and Garry appreciate your comments and we hope that we can welcome you back to Ski Bonjour in 2014-15.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

On arrival to Val, ahead of schedule we were stood outside the chalet attempting to peer into the windows and work out a swift entrance.. Gabby, Steph and Tom quickly saved us and whisked us upstairs to the comfy chilled lounge which has an abundance of Shag and furry lamps..very cool. Realising we were starving and cold, we were served biscuits and tea and coffee straight away, just what we needed!

Gabby, Steph and Tom were extemently friendly and helpful from start to finish and made sure we had a great time and did well to deal with 8 lads post apres!

Tom - great chef, and a great laugh, did not stop laughing when he was around, roast beef / duck were awesome.

Gabby and Steph, nothing was too much trouble, great laugh.

The Chalet is ideally positioned opposite the telecabine la daille (bubble) a chairlift, and the funicular which takes you straight to the top of the bellevarde.

Athenaise was nice a big, 4 bedrooms which were a decent size with clean, modern bathrooms which a large dining area to enjoy Toms food and Gabby and Stephs hosting skills + plenty of woods rum. If your room mate snores too much, you can wonder upstairs and sleep in the spare beds in the lounge.which are just as comfy.

Bus service is good, every 20 minutes or so into town, which runs untill 3am, if you miss this on the way back from a night out its easiily walkable with a hot dog cheeso .. bring a coat!

Overall great value for money, all most ski in ski out, highly recommend for groups of friends, couples and families.

#Mr.Coin

Jersey boys x

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnBManager, Manager at Chalet Bonjour-Athenaise, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Thank you for your lovely review and comments, it is great to hear that you were so well looked after by Gabby, Steph and Tom, they have been a great team this year. Many thanks for your feedback, we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Val d'Isere
0.1 mi away
Le Samovar Hotel & Chalets
Le Samovar Hotel & Chalets
#22 of 39 in Val d'Isere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel L'Aigle des Neiges
Hotel L'Aigle des Neiges
#2 of 39 in Val d'Isere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Le Ski d'Or
Hotel Le Ski d'Or
#14 of 37 in Tignes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Altitude
Hotel Altitude
#3 of 39 in Val d'Isere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Restaurant La Toviere
Hotel Restaurant La Toviere
#8 of 39 in Val d'Isere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
3.9 mi away
Chalet Bonjour-Colettine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet Bonjour-Athenaise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Bonjour-Athenaise

Property: Chalet Bonjour-Athenaise
Address: la Daille, 73150 Val d'Isere, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Val d'Isere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Val d'Isere
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are very proud of the Chalet Bonjour-Athenaise. Ski Bonjour chalets are all high quality, but the Chalet Bonjour-Athenaise raises these standards even higher. Its position is amazing, only one minute from the Funival funicular to the top of the Bellevarde, with the Face de Bellevarde Olympic ski run and the 'Ski Tranquil' zone. It is also only one minute to the Bubble lift, followed by a two-minute ski run into the Tignes ski sector. There are homeward bound green, blue and red runs. NEW for season 2015-16 guests have free access to the spa facilities at the Samovar Hotel next door - at the end of a hard day skiing relax in the jaccuzi, hammam or sauna. The Chalet Bonjour-Athenaise in the la Daille sector of Val d'Isere is a beautiful, modern, detached chalet, built in the traditional style. It is operated as two smaller independent chalets, each with their own entrance, dining and sitting area, one sleeping eight and the other ten. However it can be occupied by one large group, sleeping 18 in total. There are eight bedrooms, seven of which are fully en-suite, with the eighth having a bathroom and toilet immediately across the corridor. For convenience, the Chalet Bonjour-Athenaise cannot be beaten. Just one minute from the slopes and lifts, it is also very close to the ski school, nursery slopes, shops, bars and restaurants. Although situated out of the hurly burly of central Val d'Isere, the free shuttle bus, stopping just outside the chalet, arrives in Val d'Isere centre in five minutes and runs all day until 2.30 Am. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chalet Bonjour-Athenaise France/Savoie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing