We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great hotel”
Review of Hotel Christiania

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Christiania
Ranked #6 of 39 Hotels in Val d'Isere
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A great hotel”
Reviewed 15 March 2012

This is our second time here in three years. As the previous reviewer said the staff are friendly, professional and no request is too much for them. The main lounge has been updated recently but has maintained it's charm and warmth. The breakfast is a buffet with a great variety for both the North American and European guest. One recommendation for breakfast would be scrambled eggs to be better cooked and bacon to be crispy. These are small things when presented with the rest of buffet. This is our 6th time to Val and would come back to stay here without hesitation.

Room Tip: The corner rooms 430 and 130 have large balconies and sun until it goes behind mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PJCToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    129
    27
    8
    3
    2
See reviews for
75
44
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newmarket
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2012

I stayed at the hotel for 3 days earlier this week and the whole experience was worth shouting about. The staff are fabulous and friendly and very helpful about the smallest of details. Rooms are comfortable and pretty good but the location is perfect for people wishing to walk yards to the slops. Overall a superb place to stay with some outstanding customer service. I will be returning.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jomo36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London UK
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Hotel Christiania is an exceptionally comfortable hotel. All the staff are helpful, professional and highly efficient. The dining is particularly good and the hors d'oevres, as a choice of first course, are the most extensive and of the highest quality that I have been offered in any hotel worldwide. It is also in a very central location and close to the ski slopes.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Formax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2011

The hotel is excellent, the service is exceptional and location couldn't be better. Half board is definitely worth choosing.
We used the hotels recommended babysitters for our one year old and they were very good. However to make a very good visit a fantastic stay if you have small children there could be some improvements to be made.
1. More high chairs at meals are definitely required. There only seem to be 3 available so you are very lucky to get one.
2. Between 17.30and 21.45 there is a kid zone play area and play leader for the over 5's which is excellent but no access outside these times; and for the under 5's there are no play facilities/areas at all.
It would be fantastic to have a soft play area for toddlers (and mums or dads) during the day.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1drwho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newport
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2011

The hotel is faultless, from amazing food (the buffet is a must) to the beautiful room and the location could not be better. The maitre de knows what you want before you do and is perfectly proffessional, the owner and his family are very pleasant and helpful with great local knowledge.
Highly recomend to everyone!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank critic1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lebanon
Level 6 Contributor
62 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2011

This is our fourth trip to Val D'Isere. Having stayed in Blizzard and Grand Paradis previously, I think Christiania represents the best value for money and best service overall. The service is truly excellent, you are never left waiting long in the lounge and staff are always eager to help and pleasant, food is excellent as well and menu price as well as drinks prices as reasonable for this standard establishment as well. The superior room C was beautiful and very cozy and comfortable, I would recommend superior, my brother & wife had booked a B regular and they preferred ours.
If I had to criticize one thing, it would be that the interior decoration in the lobby and bar could be made to look more chalet like.
We will probably rebook this hotel on our next visit unless they decide to increase their rates.

Room Tip: Stay in a superior room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TinoA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Estoril, Portugal
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2011

Very cozy hotel, staff very friendly, rooms big and perfect, breakfast very good, dinner excelent ! 4 stars hotel but better than others 5 stars!!!!

Thanks Alpine Answers to recomend this hotel!!!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 5ruivos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Val d'Isere hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel L'Aigle des Neiges
Hotel L'Aigle des Neiges
#1 of 39 in Val d'Isere
424 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Yule
Le Yule
#11 of 39 in Val d'Isere
120 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Altitude
Hotel Altitude
#4 of 39 in Val d'Isere
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Les Barmes de l'Ours
Hotel Les Barmes de l'Ours
#14 of 39 in Val d'Isere
119 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel L'Avancher
Hotel L'Avancher
#9 of 39 in Val d'Isere
176 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Restaurant La Toviere
Hotel Restaurant La Toviere
#7 of 39 in Val d'Isere
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Christiania? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Christiania

Property: Hotel Christiania
Address: rue du Parc des Sports | BP 48, 73152 Val d'Isere, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Val d'Isere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Val d'Isere
#1 Family Hotel in Val d'Isere
#5 Luxury Hotel in Val d'Isere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Christiania 5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Christiania Hotel is a Hotel located at 100 meters from the slops departure and also 100 meters from the Village Center.The Christiania has 69 rooms and Suite. There is a spa, which is composed by a indoor swimming pool, a sauna and a hammam. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Christiania reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Christiania Hotel Val d Isère
Hotel Christiania France/Savoie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing