We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy hotel with a great location”
Review of Hotel Altitude

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Altitude
Ranked #4 of 39 Hotels in Val d'Isere
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 February 2013 via mobile

Our ski club stayed at Altitude, and we had the best time. The food was wonderful, we had breakfast and dinner at the hotel restaurant. Gourmet dining with a wonderful variety. The hotel is right near the Olympic gondola and Solaise chair, conveniently located. Nicolaus is a terrific host and very accommodating, he even arranged a Super Bowl viewing for us.
I would definitely return and stay at hotel Altitude.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NadineG222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (210)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Altitude
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 210 reviews

Reviewed 24 January 2013

Definitely a great location, we had 2 rooms overlooking the ski lifts. These are not south facing rooms. So its a choice of either view of the ski lifts, or sunny side.
Rooms were nothing special, although larger than standard, lots of wardrobe and storage space.
Nice bathrooms with plenty of counter space, and deep bath. Housekeeping were very efficient, and the rooms were spotless.
Front desk staff were friendly and helpful. The main down side for us was the lounge area had little atmosphere. Although it had a log fire and fairly comfortable seating, it was not a cosy place for a drink, to socialise, or do anything else really except use internet which was patchy to say the least. The choice of music played in the lounge bordered on bizarre, considering this is a family hotel and not a techno nightclub.
The restaurant was excellent for dinner. The food was fresh and tasty, obviously a talented chef at the helm.We had a dessert with berries with every strawberry bursting with flavour (not common in the middle of winter). I think a lot may be lost in the menu translation from french to english. One of our party bravely chose something that translated to something like 'fish in jelly' which turned out to be an amazingly delicious salsa of smoked fish, capers and crunchy veg, nothing like what we were expecting.
The breakfast was OK, usual offerings with boiled Eggs. The restaurant staff are really great. Genuinely friendly, with nice smiles, and patient with stragglers and latecomers. Even willing to put up with poor attempts at speaking French with kindness.
The hotel is very close to the fantastic Aquatic centre (also Gym, wellness etc) This is a top class facility so take your bathers. Its just a hundred metres or so away
If the internet was fully functional and the lobby a bit more convivial i would definitely give this hotel 5 stars, but even as it stands we really enjoyed it.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wawagal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2012

The location of the Hotel Altitude is hard to beat: the Solaise Express ski lift and two smaller lifts are right next to the hotel. If you don't mind walking straight across the slopes, the village center is less than three walking minutes away (alternatively, you can take a slightly longer route following the road).
Though the Hotel Altitude doesn't quite qualify as a "luxury" hotel, our room was nice and cozy. The room interiors are mainly wood, simply decorated but inviting. There was a little anteroom that was great for changing in and out of ski gear, and a little sitting corner with a coffee table and two chairs. The little balcony overlooked the lifts and ski slopes (but in the winter you're probably not going to spend much time out there). As with most ski resort hotels, there is a locker room where you can store your boots and gear.
The staff was very helpful in recommending and booking good restaurants for dinner, and they even once helped us retrieve an item we had forgotten at a restaurant (we didn't have to do anything, it was just magically delivered to our room).
For breakfast, the buffet offers a good selection with sufficient options for everyone.
Parking needs to be paid extra as the hotel has no parking lot or garage of its own, but a public parking structure is right across the street.
The overall price is in line with any ski resort with limited capacities, but still a pretty good deal.
If you want a cozy place to stay that's close to the slopes and to the village the Hotel Altitude will not disappoint!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank raner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2012

Been here 5 times and counting. You can rely on this hotel for the following. Location is best in the valley for lift service. 2 minutes from the pool and gym. Parking garage is 1 minute away but not free. Close walk to town and away from the noise. Staff is awesome even with the owner never being in hotel. The staff makes this place and it's the main reason that I return. Some rooms are very dated while others have been done over nicely. Hit or miss. Hotel is spotless. Breakfast is OK, dinner is hit or miss. There are great dinning options within a short walk from the hotel. That being said, I just don't know why they don't stick with traditional fare from the region. It's like the chef watched a cooking show the night before and tries to duplicate it the following night. I used to eat in the hotel every night the first 3 visits but now I find that I go once just as a courtesy. All in all it's a good value for what you get.

Room Tip: Ask for an updated room, night and day from the old rooms. Stayed in a triple this year and the bed...
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NYSEski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2012

Next to the slopes, it is a really nice hotel. I like the decoration. The room was cleaned and quite big. The breakfast great. The staff was also very helpfull... Everything is done for a perfect stay...

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JulesZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2012

I have just spent 4 nights at the hotel altitude at the beginning of february. I have got no faults with this hotel. 3 rooms were booked within our party, 2 being superior doubles and 1 being a standard double. The only difference between the rooms were the size, other than that they were both upto an equal standard. The bedrooms themselves were basic, clean, with a chalet style. We didnt need anything else during our stay. The bathrooms were lovely, i think they must have been recently renovated, very clean and comfortable.

The lobby/lounge area is very comfortable, great selection of local alcoholic beverages (cannot comment on international brands as i cant say i even looked for any) the waitor was very helpful and attentive. All staff we came across were very professional, helpful and friendly.

Breakfast was lovely, a traditional french continental breakfast, with the additions of boiled eggs and toast. We couldnt have asked for anymore really.

The location is ski in ski out and accesible for going up and coming back down from both sides of val d'iseres mountains. You have to walk down a road or across the ski slopes to get to the main town but this is not far at all.

A great value hotel for central val d'isere, we would stay again.

All in all we were very pleased with our hotel, great price

Room Tip: I woudl choose a superior room, 1st floor
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LauratheExplorer12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2012

Stayed here for three nights with a friend for a ski trip and were very impressed!

The staff were lovely and helpful. There is a nice lounge area with a bar and fire where you can access free wifi (not available in the rooms). They also have a ski room where you can store and lock up all your gear.

The location is fantastic! The view from our balcony literally overlooks the town and ski lifts. There are several ski lifts to cater for all ski levels just out the front of the hotel and is probably one of, if not the, closest hotel to the lifts. There is also a free lift for a short green run just down from the hotel which is great for a warm up!

There is a free shuttle that runs through town and stops just around the corner from the hotel. However when you arrive and depart with luggage in the winter, it is a little difficult through the snow to get from the bus to the hotel. We barely used the bus aside from when we had our luggage as it is such a small town you can easily walk from the hotel.

There is a ski/snow board hire place just where the bus stop is and there is a nice restaurant next door to it too!

The rooms were above what we expected being really comfortable and had plenty of room. They are very clean and serviced daily. The one negative - as I am a light sleeper - is the walls are quite thin and sound from your floor travels (we could hear the couple next door talking). 

Overall it was great, particialy being so close to the lifts it was defiantly fantastic value for money!

Will definately stay here again!

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Riddleson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Val d'Isere hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel L'Aigle des Neiges
Hotel L'Aigle des Neiges
#1 of 39 in Val d'Isere
424 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Restaurant La Toviere
Hotel Restaurant La Toviere
#5 of 39 in Val d'Isere
151 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Avancher
Hotel Avancher
#8 of 39 in Val d'Isere
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Tsanteleina Hotel
Tsanteleina Hotel
#2 of 39 in Val d'Isere
219 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Yule
Le Yule
#11 of 39 in Val d'Isere
120 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel les Cretes Blanches
Hotel les Cretes Blanches
#24 of 39 in Val d'Isere
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Altitude? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Altitude

Address: Rue de la Face, 73150 Val d'Isere, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Val d'Isere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Val d'Isere
#6 Family Hotel in Val d'Isere
Price Range: £182 - £348 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Altitude 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Altitude reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Altitude France/Savoie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing