We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Grea but needs revamp”
Review of Hotel Altitude

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Altitude
Ranked #3 of 39 Hotels in Val d'Isere
Certificate of Excellence
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Grea but needs revamp”
Reviewed 28 March 2014 via mobile

Great hotel just at the ski lift, superb food, but rooms are outworn and need a full revamp for the price raised. The spa is ok, but everything very tiny. We loved dinner, the chef does a great job. Staff and owner are young and lovely. So all in all we definitely come back. If only the rooms would be better, everything needs an upgrade

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank adambay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    77
    15
    3
    3
See reviews for
89
38
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014 via mobile

Spent a wonderful ski in ski out 5 days in this superbly positioned hotel in Val. Owner Nicholas is very attentive and Justine creates a wonderfully relaxed atmosphere in the very convivial bar area. Comfortable sofas in a large reception area with open fire create a very welcoming atmosphere after a hard day on the slopes. Rooms are basic but clean and have fab views over the valley with large balconies. Bathrooms good and all is very cleanSituated within 10 seconds of the solaise chair and Olympic bubble lift there is no excuse for not being the first on the slopes. A 5 minute walk into the main area of town across a flat snowy plane. A nice rustic alpine feel to the restaurant with excellent evening food and wine selection. Breakfast of fruit, eggs, fresh bread, croissants and tea that tastes like home I can highly recommend this hotel. I will definitely come back when next in Val. I was here on a 6-man boys trip but would suit a family very well too

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank The_Doctor_MOC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

the hotel is conveniently located near the Telepherique of Val d' Isere, which means that one can ski directly to the pistes and back.
The rooms are OK, pretty basic but with all the necessary amenities.
The restaurant offers a set menu service ( with 2 choices of first and main course) only which is a bit restrictive in comparison to an a-la-cart service.
the lobby is quite pleasantly furnished and the staff are all very courteous.

Room Tip: try and choose rooms on the higher floors, and on the South side-you'll have a better chance of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anna123s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Just returned from a week in Hotel Altitude from a family break. Nicholas and all the staff were so helpful and friendly. Great location very close to lifts, definite ski in ski out and a few minutes walk to town centre. Rooms and bathrooms spacious and extremely clean ,quiet location at night . Food excellent and abundant . Overall excellent hotel, would highly recommend this location and praise the staff for all their help.

Room Tip: All rooms seemed to be of similar quality and no issues with noise , we were on 1st floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mcgarmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

We stayed here December - January 2013 for 10 nights bed and breakfast. Nicholas the hotel manager was very accommodating and offered us drinks upon arrival. Our room was on the ground floor overlooking the ski lift. The double bed was comfy enough but the other single in the room was way too soft. I think the mattresses could do with being updated. Other than that the room was big and very warm and cosy. Only downside was the lack of a safe in the room.

The breakfast buffet was a selection of cold meats, toast, cereal, and boiled eggs. This was fine for us but there was no cooked breakfast if you are expecting bacon and eggs etc. The bar area has Wifi which kept dropping out, its a shame its not available in the rooms as the bar area gets busy in the afternoon with people trying to log on.

The location is great as right next to the ski lifts. Its a short walk into town which is quite nice as you wont be going out without your snow boots on in the winter.

.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisJames204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bozel, France
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Nicholas welcomed us as if we were family immediately offering us drinks as we had just come in from a long day of riding. The hotel has a great heated pool with amazing views, a welcome sight after riding. The rooms though were just as wonderful! Big corner bathtub with enough hot water to fill it, the toiletries were L'Occitane en Provence and plenty in the rooms. Bed was super comfy and we had a wonderful balcony. We ate in the hotel that night and glad that we did. The meal was superb, the cheese course out of this world and 2 of the 6 of us were vegetarian, and had one of the best meals of the week there. Breakfast was typical for France, cheese, meat, eggs, token cereal bread etc. we all wished we could have stayed another night and I think a few of us will book there for winter!

Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank cyclegirlfrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
In England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2013

This is a 3 star hotel situated right on the champ de neige. It is slightly out of the town (only 5 minute walk across the piste ) so it is quieter than in town and is situated right on the slope with access to all the lifts. We stayed b and b but ate out of choice for 3 nights in the charming little restaurant, which has a varied set menu. The other nights we ate at different restauarants in the town and our selection and booking was made with pleasure and grace by the hotel staff. We had some excellent choices.

The staff were always available to answer any questions.
Some of the rooms are a little tired but are kept clean and tidy and any problems are quickly corrected.

Nicholas the young manager has many great plans for the hotel including refurbishment of a number of the rooms and living areas. There is great scope and this little friendly hotel can only become better and better. A number of guests were regulars every year.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sizzler57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Val d'Isere hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel L'Aigle des Neiges
Hotel L'Aigle des Neiges
#1 of 39 in Val d'Isere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tsanteleina Hotel
Tsanteleina Hotel
#2 of 39 in Val d'Isere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Restaurant La Toviere
Hotel Restaurant La Toviere
#7 of 39 in Val d'Isere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ormelune
Hotel Ormelune
#10 of 39 in Val d'Isere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Les Barmes de l'Ours
Hotel Les Barmes de l'Ours
#11 of 39 in Val d'Isere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Christiania
Hotel Christiania
#6 of 39 in Val d'Isere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Altitude? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Altitude

Property: Hotel Altitude
Address: Rue de la Face, 73150 Val d'Isere, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Val d'Isere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Val d'Isere
#6 Family Hotel in Val d'Isere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Altitude 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Hotel Altitude reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Altitude France/Savoie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing