We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Rude Staff”
Review of Hotel la Savoyarde

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel la Savoyarde
Ranked #15 of 39 Hotels in Val d'Isere
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 April 2008

There are some great things about this Hotel. The location is great and the South facing rooms looking up the valley are fantastic, a little small and dated but they do the job. We ordered a double room and got 2 twin beds pushed together but that is pretty standard in Europe. The food is great - someone on this site says the portions are small but bearing in mind you get 5 courses I think that is not a bad thing. The spa and ski locker room are great and you are only a 5 minute walk from the main lifts out of Val d'isere. The downside and it is a pretty big downside for me is the staff. With the exception of the barman and the head waiter, the rest of the staff including the owner, are beyond belief rude. In fact they are so rude it got to the point where for some reason I found it quite amusing - how can people act like that and still be in business. I will go to Val D'isere again but not to this hotel, although I may pop in for dinner, if someone can be bothered to take my reservation that is.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rusty44London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (128)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 128 reviews

Reviewed 18 January 2008

Overall we where very impressed with the hotel. When we arrived we went to our rooms and we couldn't believe how small they actually where. I asked reception for an upgrade to a larger room. They had 2 rooms spare which we had a look at and so we moved. The new rooms where much larger and more pleasant. They are clean and the bathroom was pretty new. There was also a heated towel rack in our room which was handy for drying gear after skiing. The beds were single and a little small if I can be honest. The only English speaking channels on TV are BBC World, CNN & Eurosport. We took a portable DVD player with us to keep us entertained in the evening. As we were tired from skiing all day the evenings where always quiet.

We had booked half board and I must say we were very impressed with the food. The breakfasts had a good selection of food. The evening dinner was 5 courses. On each evening we had a feast and the food was of a very high standard. Aside from a couple of dishes we had no complaints at all (And that was just personal taste). If there were any courses that we didn't like they always offered us an alternative. The staff always had a smile and were always helpful. Since we've returned home we have really missed the food.

The lobby area and bar are comfortable. There is normally live music too every evening. It's a quiet hotel generally. Most guests were Europeans but there were also a few Russian families. They also have Wireless internet available too. Should you not have a laptop they allow you free access to the hotel computer.

The facilities generally are very good. There were lockers for our ski gear and changing rooms. There is also a nice spa area with a jacuzzi, sauna and steam room. You can also have a sport massage for those aching limbs after a long day of skiing.

Our hotel was located literally 2 minutes walk from the lifts so it is a very handy location pretty much in the centre of town. Town can be a little expensive as it's a captured market. As we had booked half board we only had to buy lunch really so we didn't spend too much money.

We booked our boots and ski's throught Intersport Rent online. They have a large selection of gear and the staff are very helpful. As this was our first skiing holiday we where not quite prepared with our gear. I would recommend that when buying any ski gear you ensure that you purchase good quality products. The key to enjoying your holiday is always ensuring that you remain dry and warm. Always ensure that your hat and gloves are waterproof and don't go for the cheap stuff because normally it's not effective against the elements. My wife had to buy another set of gloves and I had to buy a new hat. It was a little over priced but were a must. We had skiing lessons with Evolution2. The instructors were French but their English was of a good standard. We definitely left and felt that our skiing technique had improved. Now that we have a better understanding of how things work we shall be purchasing our own boots before our next trip. It's important to ensure that they fit properly otherwise it is difficult to manouvre properly. As rental boots will have been worn 100's of times by various people it is near impossible to find a pair that fit exactly. Since returning home I have bought a pair and it will make such a difference.

When we travel to Val D'Isere we shall of course be staying at this hotel again. Definitely a good choice for anyone staying in Val D'Isere.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank AndyYac1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2007

This hotel is in a central Val location - it takes 5mins on level ground (walking in skiboots) from leaving the ski/boot room in the basement to being at the Solaise chair. It is right in the middle of town too so all the shops & restaurants are on the door step. We booked via the Val Tourist office which offers competitive packages - as we were on a half board basis we tended to stay in the hotel for dinner. The food and service was very much ABOVE average - a set 5 course menu every night with a couple of options usually left us struggling after the 3rd course -the wine list as you'd expect was extensive. The bar area in the hotel is cosy yet sophistacated and a great place to enjoy civilised apres lounging on their big squashy sofas. The piano is a nice touch too. Our room was comfortable, clean and of a good size - but unremarkable. All the staff in the hotel were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank The_Var
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2007

This hotel does the job but it's nothing special,in fact it's rather bland.On the plus side it's got a handy location,the rooms are good and the sauna,jacuzzi and steam room area is pretty fine.However on the down side in my opinion the food by French 3-star standards was very poor indeed and the portions rather meagre.When I was there the large,nicely decorated bar had absolutely no ambiance whatsoever,with never more than half a dozen people in it.Not recommended.

Stayed: February 2007
Thank SheffieldmrT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2007

We stayed there two nights in their two-room suite (each room occupied by one couple). The bath was english style, i.e. there was a handheld shower but no shower curtain or hook to attach the showerhead to which we hate. Otherwise the room was comfortable and clean and decent size. Paid EUR 350 for two rooms, effectively EUR 175 per room. Funny thing is they ask for a cash deposit (it has to be cash!!!) of EUR 30 (15 for each key, one for the ski-box key and one for the room key). Never seen that before anywhere else. The breakfast was included in the price. They also offer half-board but we didn't take that. Breakfasst was good with fresh orange juice and smiling staff. It's quite close to the underground car park and the lifts and centre of town so location is really good. Lobby area is decent with a nice fireplace etc. The spa is not great. The sauna, steam room and jacuzzi were all on the cold side but clean.

  • Stayed: January 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mehmetartun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2006

My son and I recently stayed at this hotel during our 2006 skiing holiday.The hotel is located in the centre of val also close to the slopes and with a car park nearby.On arrival we were told our twin room had been booked only as a single.We panicked only to be told by the friendly receptionist,She would give us a suite instead as it was their fault.Would we mind moving back to a twin after two nights? I thought they handled a sticky situation very well.I also appreciated the complimentary croissants left by the hotel entrance and the 20% discount on ski hire offered in a shop nearby. Well done! After that our stay was pleasant and relaxing.Dinnertime was a pleasure too. The Menu in the restaurant was different every night and the Friday evening seafood buffet was out of this world :smoked salmon,oysters,lobster really unexpected at 5000 ft up.In addition the cheeseboard selection was outstanding! Can everything be good... well almost. I found the restaurant staff not very friendly or chatty, oh! hold on, they were friendly allright to the french guests ,but not the english speaking guests like us. It didn't matter that I can actually speak some french, as I wasn't french there seemed to be no point in talking to me! Shame but I still enjoyed my stay really. The ski room and leisure facilities are very good , modern and functional althought I think a cyclette, is not gym , and that is all there is in the gym!? And who wants to go on a bike after a hard day skiing when your leg muscles are killing you? Please chuck the bike away and replace it with a rowing machine or something more immaginative and productive.

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank maur0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Wiltshire, UK
120
Reviewed 19 August 2005

La Savoyarde is a friendly family run hotel with a great atmosphere and a superb chef. Excellent location in the centre of town, less than 5 mins walk to the main lift area. Rooms are generally not large and furnished in a simple rustic style. This is our only negative comment, although this is probably consistent with a 3 star hotel. South facing rooms have views of the mountains. larger suites are available. Would suggest paying a little extra for a south facing room with balcony with views over the slopes. Half board is exceptional value with extensive buffet breakfast and 5 course evening meal - including cheese with a choice of around 14 cheeses! Friendly waiting staff add to the overall experience. The bar area has comfortable sofas and a good atmosphere. We would normally choose a 4 star hotel but have returned to La Savoyarde twice now and would not hesitate to come again. Suggest booking through val d'isere tourist office, who offer good value packages for hotel and lift passes.

  • Stayed: April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
20  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Val d'Isere hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel L'Aigle des Neiges
Hotel L'Aigle des Neiges
#1 of 39 in Val d'Isere
425 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Yule
Le Yule
#12 of 39 in Val d'Isere
120 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Christiania
Hotel Christiania
#7 of 39 in Val d'Isere
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Avancher
Hotel Avancher
#9 of 39 in Val d'Isere
176 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tsanteleina Hotel
Tsanteleina Hotel
#2 of 39 in Val d'Isere
219 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Restaurant La Toviere
Hotel Restaurant La Toviere
#5 of 39 in Val d'Isere
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel la Savoyarde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel la Savoyarde

Address: rue Noel Machet, 73151 Val d'Isere, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Val d'Isere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Val d'Isere
#7 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Val d'Isere
Price Range: £218 - £609 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel la Savoyarde 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of the "Espace Killy", the Hotel La Savoyarde remains a symbol of Val d'Isere since 1954. Warm welcome, cosy rooms, fine french cuisine, relaxing atmosphere, fitness room and slopes within reach... everything tends to make your stay unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel la Savoyarde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Savoyarde Hotel
Hotel La Savoyarde France/Savoie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing