We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel, lovely staff”
Review of Hotel la Savoyarde

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel la Savoyarde
Ranked #15 of 39 Hotels in Val d'Isere
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 January 2014

very helpful and charming staff. awesome evening meals with good shoices, nice wine and 17 cheeses to hoose from!
third time i have stayed here and i will be back again.
good for ski season being close to the slopes, excellent ski and boot room with good security.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
Thank WanderingAcademic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (129)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 129 reviews

Reviewed 13 April 2013

The most difficult part of La Savoyarde family run hotel was leaving. The staff were not only helpful and friendly but made us feel a part of their family. We left some of the best memories and also new friends at this 3 star rated hotel which actually is more like a 4 star. It actually over delivered it's promises...We are already planning our return for next season.

The bar area and staff - we love Denise and the Portuguese owner were so lovely and we enjoyed chatting with them every day (and night!)

Reception - Fred, Dimitri, and the others were so helpful and treat their guests with kindness and superb service

Spa - what a treat after a full-on day skiing and kept to the highest standards!

I would only say the rooms are a bit small - next year we will look into a Jr Suite, but who really needs a massive room when you're made to feel at home every where else in the hotel?

We miss you Hotel La Savoyarde, but will see you next March!!!

xxxx

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Valentina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

We stayed as a family in Feb´13 for a week, and were really charmed by this typical Savoyard chalet. Don't except a 5* hotel, because this is not what this is, but be prepared to be conquered by the true warmth of this place and the authentic kindness of its people.

First, the staff is always friendly and helpful and goes out of their way to help without being asked, a real +. The owner is always around, and it shows that he cares. The rooms are warm and spacious enough for a ski hotel. The beds are good and firm and linens are simple white, fresh and comfortable. The hotel is very welcoming after a good day in the cold, with a fire place in the main lobby next to the bar area... Divine (Lola the dog knows!). People know you by name, you are not just a room number... The ski room is warm and convenient, well located on the side of the chalet and VERY convenient with kids (actually not just with kids!). The hotel location is first class: not right on the snow front, but this is just as well. The restaurant is really charming, with typical wooden walls and serves simple, authentic french cuisine, and a smile. The wine list could be more flourished but we are here to ski, aren't we? There is a Sauna/Hammam, with a Jacuzzi area, again where staff is friendly and welcoming. There is even a French Physio on site, and the guy is so good, people come from other hotels around... Of course, the Wi-Fi service could be more robust, etc, etc.., but if you really require a professional internet service when you go on a ski trip with your family, then maybe you shouldn't be on a ski trip...
I could have rated this place a 5, but will go for a solid 4: this is a place to recommend.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JezzonHolidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2013

This is the third time I have come here with my mother and brother. For years we had been going to the Hotel Blizzard but sadly it became overpriced, over-pretentious and consequently slightly lost its charm, at least for us.

The Savoyarde, however, continues to impress. It's difficult to know where to begin with a hotel that strikes the balance so perfectly between unbeatable service and a friendly, convivial ambiance. I'm also not one for lengthy reviews full of hyperbole. Nevertheless having enjoyed my visits here so much I feel it is the least I can do to pick out some of the highlights.

At the top of the list, it has to be the food. We usually go half-board (so breakfast and dinner at the hotel, and lunch on the mountain). For dinner you get a delicious 5-course menu with a choice between two main-courses. If you are an incredibly fussy person then you might find it restrictive not being able to eat à la carte, but quite frankly if you're willing to put your faith in the top-quality chef then you won't be disappointed. The soups and starters are neither too delicate nor too hearty but just what you feel like after a day's skiing, and the mains (often made using local produce) are fantastic. For the cheese aficionados there is a fairly abundant selection of France's finest, and the desserts cater for every taste. If you've worked up an appetite during the day then you won't be left unsatisfied, but equally you won't feel unable to move afterwards (unless it's because of the wine and the welcoming fire in the hotel bar!).

The other great thing about having a fixed menu is that the hotel avoids that frenetic, 'swinging-kitchen-door' effect that is typical of some of the bigger players in the Val d'Isère hotel club. The result is that food is delivered quickly and calmly to your table and you can actually enjoy it, all within the relaxing environment of the tastefully (and not OTT or faux ski chalet) decorated restaurant.

The staff (whether in the restaurant, at the reception or behind the bar) are always smiling and are happy to do whatever is necessary to ensure your comfort.

The bar is the perfect place to unwind and, at the risk of using a cliché, you'll feel completely at home there. Look out for the sweet little Jack Russell who likes to do his rounds and bid good evening to guests after dinner (as does the owner), giving the hotel a nice personal/family-run touch.

The rooms are very comfortable and, because of the hotel's location (set back as it is from the main street while at the same time only a short (2 min) walk from the pistes), not noisy at all.

Granted the Savoyarde may not have all the additional luxuries of a five-star hotel (e.g. a swimming pool, though it does have a decent jacuzzi/spa setup), but I can guarantee that it delivers on every other aspect of a reinvigorating skiing holiday in the Alps, and represents exceptional value in a resort that has been known for its steep prices. Quite honestly it does everything that an Alpine holiday should do, letting you switch off and enjoy the unparalleled winter playground that is the Espace Killy.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Benjamin_J89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2012

Good hotel, polite and helpful staff. Spa area is a nice addition althought quite small. Rooms are relatively small taken that on skiing holidays you will propably carry a lot of gear with you. Ski lockers however, are spacious but dampness is a big problem. Hotel is situated perfectly right in front of slopes and Val D´isere center is just a couple of steps off the back door.

Room Tip: Double room was quite small. Would recommend junior suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jerkko K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Just come back from staying at the Savoyarde. Very average hotel, family room not as described when booking, we felt as though we had been shoved up in the eves. Having seen the family room next door when leaving we felt we had had a poor deal as that room was how it was described and as we imagined when booking, our room was clearly not big enough for a family of 4. Rooms were clean and bed sheets also clean. Bathroom was small and not having a great shower facility was dissapointing as not really a bath person! Plenty of hot water though and also clean. Breakfast was average nothing too fancy. We never tried evening food! Bar area was a reasonable size and bar service good. Wifi none existant the whole time we were there which was very frustrating as inthe hotel description it's detailed as available throughout which was a large factor in us choosing this hotel. After asking many times we were told to use hotel next door (not acceptable)!! Most staff were friendly although on our last day we had asked to extend the room till 1.00 which was not a problem at all but come 12.30 on the day it was a huge issue and this had not been agreed according to them. Overall the hotel is very basic and in need of modernising and refurbishment, the dog mess outside the front of the hotel which is never cleared away is unsightly. We can rest assured this hotel will not be on our list of ones to return too again which is a shame as it could have potential.

Room Tip: When booking a family room make sure you request it is not room 500, this is not a connecting room i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sarahsreveiws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

The Savoyard hotel in Val D'Isere is a well placed ski hotel. Its main areas, lounge, bar, restaurant and sports facilities are well appointed and cosy. The open fire in the living room helps add ambiance.
The rooms are sparse but clean, and the lack of a decent shower in the bathrooms (this was our scond visit) can be frustrating, although a nice bath after skiing did the trick.
The food in the restaurant was excellent. We had the 5 course set menu twice and it was good value and nicely done. Not every dish was brilliant, but desserts, cheese, and starters were all sublime.
Staff were very helpful.

Room Tip: Go for a room with a balcony as these are larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Quinzen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Val d'Isere hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel L'Aigle des Neiges
Hotel L'Aigle des Neiges
#1 of 39 in Val d'Isere
432 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Yule
Le Yule
#10 of 39 in Val d'Isere
126 reviews
1 mi away
Hotel Restaurant La Toviere
Hotel Restaurant La Toviere
#5 of 39 in Val d'Isere
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Christiania
Hotel Christiania
#7 of 39 in Val d'Isere
169 reviews
1 mi away
Le Samovar Hotel & Chalets
Le Samovar Hotel & Chalets
#23 of 39 in Val d'Isere
126 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tsanteleina Hotel
Tsanteleina Hotel
#2 of 39 in Val d'Isere
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel la Savoyarde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel la Savoyarde

Address: rue Noel Machet, 73151 Val d'Isere, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Val d'Isere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Val d'Isere
#7 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Val d'Isere
Price Range: £141 - £522 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel la Savoyarde 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of the "Espace Killy", the Hotel La Savoyarde remains a symbol of Val d'Isere since 1954. Warm welcome, cosy rooms, fine french cuisine, relaxing atmosphere, fitness room and slopes within reach... everything tends to make your stay unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel la Savoyarde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Savoyarde Hotel
Hotel La Savoyarde France/Savoie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing