We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4* luxury at a reasonable price”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Tsanteleina Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tsanteleina Hotel
Ranked #1 of 39 Hotels in Val d'Isere
Certificate of Excellence
Eastleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
233 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“4* luxury at a reasonable price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2012

We stayed at Tsanteleina Hotel in early March 2012 and enjoyed a comfortable seven nights.

The hotel is centrally located in Val d'Isere and the bus stops right outside, before whisking you off to the lift stations for either Tignes or Solaise area. It is possible to ski back within about 50 metres of the hotel, however you do have to walk in ski boots and carry your skis.

The half baord option is good value and although not the best French half board we have experienced, it is more than adequate in terms of quality and amounts. I must say I thought the breakfast was superb; the usual buffet style, however you coud make toast and have bacon, scrambled egg and sausages for no extra charge. Even when we left at 0600 the night porter prepared hot tea and we were able to have cereals, fruit and toast.

Some of the staff are superb and cannot do enough for you, some are not so helpful, however the good ones make up for the not so good ones!

I used th Spar for a massage as I injured my back mid week and although the one hour treatment was £100, the treatmet was superb and I skied the rest of the week. The rest of the Spar pool etc was very nice indeed and is free.

Overall, if you want a quality hotel, good food and superb sking at a reasonable price, this is the place to go.

Room Tip: A mountain view room is best for sleep quality, as you are not facing the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hjohnnacepilot50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    151
    45
    11
    5
    3
See reviews for
89
61
9
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2012

Visited this hotel with friends for a skiing trip. The hotel is centrally located, convenient for the slopes and après ski. Rooms are comfortable but not large (as is often the case with hotels in France). The bar area is lovely to relax in and have an aperitif or nightcap. The spa is well set out and good for relaxing in after a hard days skiing. However, the highlight of our trip was the fantastic food served every evening. It was beautifully presented and was of the highest quality. I would definitely recommend the hotel to others.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with mountain view as these are at the back of the hotel and are therefore quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northumberland
Level Contributor
68 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

Short break on half board. Food great especially the seafood on Friday night. Spa very relaxing
Wonderful central location

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gasmanNorthumberland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milford on Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

Had a week's stay here at end of January 2012. Hard to find fault. Greeted very warmly (in English!) by the receptionist. Our room was ready early which enabled us to ski a few runs that day. The room itself was very good - far exceeding expectations. Our room had been booked by a third party and we hadn't asked for anything special so were very pleasantly surprised to find a large bedroom with a sitting area and balcony (handy for chilling white wine.) The bathroom was small, dark but functional.

Food at the Tsanteleina is excellent. Breakfast is a good hot and cold buffet. Eggs are boiled or scrambled. If you absolutely must have fried eggs there is a small supplement. Evening meal is a gastronomic event - top quality; if I have criticise, perhaps a little bit too nouvelle at times but really I'm quibbling here.

There is a small gym, swimming pool and saunas. The pool is fine - but I imagine it could easily get busy. The gym wouldn't satisfy a gymaholic, but honestly most people are here to ski and haven't the energy for a work out. I had a massage in the spa - it was OK but not particularly memorable apart from the price (treatments are mostly > 100 Eu).

Skis and boots are stored in the basement; the boot holders are heated so your boots are nice & warm in the morning.

The hotel situation is excellent - on Val's main street, surrounded by shops, bars and restaurants. The snow front is 200 metres.

Wouldn't hesitate to return.

Room Tip: South facing room look over the famous "Face"; probably quieter than rooms which overlook...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terence K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2012

The hotel is in a great location. The staff are very helpful and pleasant. We were a little disappointed with our room - very small and no shower, only a hand held shower over the bath. The breakfast is poor. If you wanted hot boiled eggs there is a charge, and also for omlettes. The evening meals are exceptional - first class dining every night. We enjoyed the Spa after a day on the slopes. The pool, jacuzzi, sauna and steam room are all available to guests f.o.c. I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel and hope to return again one day.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MichLewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2012

We had a wonderful time over the Christmas period at the Tsanteleina - we couldn't really fault our experience here. The location is perfect - 300m walk to the main lifts and about 10m to the nearest ski bus [to La Daille and Le Fornet]. Service was first class and the staff were exceptional - friendly and very helpful. The icing on the cake was the food - we would definitely recommend and hope to return sometime soon.

Room Tip: 4th floor - village view was absolutely fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ginger_keith_1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2011

Just came back from a stay here. A group of 9 people, and we all felt that our trip could not have been much better. Part of that was our stay here. The staff were all very attentive, any requests (extra towels, bedding, etc, etc) were met in an extremely timely manner. One of the fastest response times of any hotel I have every stayed in. The staff went above and beoynd, without even being asked. I don't want to identify what they did to go above and beyond, but let me just say that whatever your needs, they did everything within their power to make sure you were as comfortable as possible, and had whatever you wanted at your disposal. Congratulations. You have my business anytime.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DolphinsLeafs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Val d'Isere hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel L'Aigle des Neiges
Hotel L'Aigle des Neiges
#2 of 39 in Val d'Isere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Altitude
Hotel Altitude
#3 of 39 in Val d'Isere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Christiania
Hotel Christiania
#6 of 39 in Val d'Isere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Le Yule
Le Yule
#14 of 39 in Val d'Isere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Les Barmes de l'Ours
Hotel Les Barmes de l'Ours
#13 of 39 in Val d'Isere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Ormelune
Hotel Ormelune
#10 of 39 in Val d'Isere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tsanteleina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tsanteleina Hotel

Property: Tsanteleina Hotel
Address: avenue Olympique, 73150 Val d'Isere, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Val d'Isere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Val d'Isere
#1 Spa Hotel in Val d'Isere
#2 Family Hotel in Val d'Isere
#8 Romantic Hotel in Val d'Isere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Tsanteleina Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LE TSANTELEINA, HOTEL & SPA Indulge yourselves in the heart of Val d'Isere! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Tsanteleina Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tsanteleina Hotel Val d Isère
Tsanteleina Hotel France/Savoie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing