We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Chalet Hotel Center Of Town”
Review of Tsanteleina Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tsanteleina Hotel
Ranked #2 of 39 Hotels in Val d'Isere
Certificate of Excellence
Beziers
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful Chalet Hotel Center Of Town”
Reviewed 30 June 2012

Later review - apologies
Stayed January for five days whilst skiing - lovely spa, great bars and bedroom overlooking slopes was fantastic. Great service. Ideally located to ski slopes but you can literally ski to the hotel. Outside hotel are buses to other resorts and also lots of boutiques and shops.

Prices reflect the hotel standard so don't expect groups of skiers.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaisonDeLOrbBeziers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    154
    45
    11
    6
    3
See reviews for
91
62
9
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2012

This hotel has modest size rooms (though not as bad as some comments on this site have suggested). The food was excellent and that makes up for a lot. The boot room was a bit of a mess but they are planning a refurbishment apparently.

It's not particularly close to the lifts, you can ski most of the way back but it's several hundred yards in the morning. The bus (which is really frequent) stops right outside and that;s better particularly with children).

The bar is charming and has a reasonable amount of seating. The prices are high but not as egregious as some French ski resort hotels. If you are drinking alot or on a tight budget the whole town is on your doorstep so you can go out easily enough.

Service is OK as good as one can expect in France, ie..... OK.

There is free WiFI in the Lobby.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GrouchyOldMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
690 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012

The Tsanteleina is a very good French hotel in the heart of this resort. Rooms are good quality and generally very adequate in terms of size. The restaurant is top quality and the whole experience enormously good value. Very close to the slopes and the centre of local nightlife.
watty

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Watty5657
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bend
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 March 2012

We stayed here the first week of February - our first time skiing in the French Alps! It was recommended we stay in the center of the village and the Tsanteleina was in the perfect location. Close to ski shops, bakeries, apres ski activities, and the slopes! One room faced the mountain and one room faced the village. Both exceeded our expectations in comfort and amenities. The food was superb, especially the dessert buffet on Wednesday evening and the seafood buffet Friday. The housekeeping service was excellent. Pool and hot tub area can be very crowded and messy with too many people and towels everywhere on the weekends. Overall we found the Tsanteleina to offer everything we wanted in a skiing vacation!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HighDesertFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
234 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2012

We stayed at Tsanteleina Hotel in early March 2012 and enjoyed a comfortable seven nights.

The hotel is centrally located in Val d'Isere and the bus stops right outside, before whisking you off to the lift stations for either Tignes or Solaise area. It is possible to ski back within about 50 metres of the hotel, however you do have to walk in ski boots and carry your skis.

The half baord option is good value and although not the best French half board we have experienced, it is more than adequate in terms of quality and amounts. I must say I thought the breakfast was superb; the usual buffet style, however you coud make toast and have bacon, scrambled egg and sausages for no extra charge. Even when we left at 0600 the night porter prepared hot tea and we were able to have cereals, fruit and toast.

Some of the staff are superb and cannot do enough for you, some are not so helpful, however the good ones make up for the not so good ones!

I used th Spar for a massage as I injured my back mid week and although the one hour treatment was £100, the treatmet was superb and I skied the rest of the week. The rest of the Spar pool etc was very nice indeed and is free.

Overall, if you want a quality hotel, good food and superb sking at a reasonable price, this is the place to go.

Room Tip: A mountain view room is best for sleep quality, as you are not facing the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hjohnnacepilot50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2012

Visited this hotel with friends for a skiing trip. The hotel is centrally located, convenient for the slopes and après ski. Rooms are comfortable but not large (as is often the case with hotels in France). The bar area is lovely to relax in and have an aperitif or nightcap. The spa is well set out and good for relaxing in after a hard days skiing. However, the highlight of our trip was the fantastic food served every evening. It was beautifully presented and was of the highest quality. I would definitely recommend the hotel to others.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with mountain view as these are at the back of the hotel and are therefore quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northumberland
Level Contributor
68 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2012

Short break on half board. Food great especially the seafood on Friday night. Spa very relaxing
Wonderful central location

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gasmanNorthumberland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Val d'Isere hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel L'Aigle des Neiges
Hotel L'Aigle des Neiges
#1 of 39 in Val d'Isere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Altitude
Hotel Altitude
#3 of 39 in Val d'Isere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Christiania
Hotel Christiania
#6 of 39 in Val d'Isere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Le Yule
Le Yule
#13 of 39 in Val d'Isere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Les Barmes de l'Ours
Hotel Les Barmes de l'Ours
#11 of 39 in Val d'Isere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Ormelune
Hotel Ormelune
#10 of 39 in Val d'Isere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tsanteleina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tsanteleina Hotel

Property: Tsanteleina Hotel
Address: avenue Olympique, 73150 Val d'Isere, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Val d'Isere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Val d'Isere
#2 Luxury Hotel in Val d'Isere
#2 Family Hotel in Val d'Isere
#8 Romantic Hotel in Val d'Isere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Tsanteleina Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LE TSANTELEINA, HOTEL & SPA Indulge yourselves in the heart of Val d'Isere! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Tsanteleina Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tsanteleina Hotel Val d Isère
Tsanteleina Hotel France/Savoie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing