We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Fabulous!”
Review of Tsanteleina Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tsanteleina Hotel
Ranked #2 of 39 Hotels in Val d'Isere
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Absolutely Fabulous!”
Reviewed 18 March 2013

Just back from Val D'Isere and this absolutely gem of a hotel. Already rebooked for 2014 - with a request for a room not on the 1st floor which was the only negative as the staff start work in the kitchen on the floor below from around 5am which disturbed my sleep! Location is fabulous. Meals are amazing and cannot believe they are not Michelin starred. Staff and service were exceptional - everyone really helpful and friendly. Will definately use the family hire shop next door for next year as well. Very secure double entry door to boot and locker room on street level. Spa/pool facilities pretty amazing for ski hotel. Whilst not directly on the slope, really not an issue to walk up the road to the piste. Can't wait to return - fabulous little gem.

Room Tip: Try to avoid a 1st floor room - just a wee bit noisy when the kitchen starts work early in the wee h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shazfern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    154
    45
    11
    6
    3
See reviews for
91
62
9
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2013

We visited during Feb 2013. The location is great for the town centre and not too bad for the lifts (if you're skiing like we were). We had two of the newly refurbished suites - which are very modern and trendy, but have zero storage. Not great if your there with your kids skiing and there's limited places to put things. Porters and front desk were great. The bar is also very cool, trendy and cosy, but takes a while to get served, so don't be in a rush. The Resturant serves good food on the whole, but two nights it wasn't great. We had a really dreadful service incident in the Resturant on one night - I asked for butter for bread, I had to ask three more times, after 15 mins waiting, I asked a fourth time to be told by the waitress "can't you see I'm just a little busy!" Astonished I replied "I'm just a little customer". The service then became worse and took over 2 1/2 hours to get served. We sadly then had same girl at breakfast and she went out of her way to be awkward, slow and rude.

The spa is ok but very limited and we've certainly had better value in hotels with a better service ethic. By the way we're based in Switzerland, so are used to high prices, but Val d'Isere is a very expensive resort overall

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zycek66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2013

Grumpy Sumpy just about covered my sentiments on the Tsanteleina Hotel and our holiday in Val d'isere. The aren't alot of places where you are compelled to take photographs of your food - and thats each course, every night! The presentation, attention to detail and flavours are out of this world. Always make room for their "trolley" of cheeses. Just a minor detail, but if you like tea, remember to ask for milk, as its not automatically part of the order. The Matis ski shop next to the hotel is brilliant and surprisingly well stocked considering its so small. Well worth trying there first before traipsing up to the bigger store near the chair lifts. Also, its worth catching the bus to start your ski day instead of trekking up the icy streets to get to the chair lifts or gondola.

Best location for New year, as you get to watch the fireworks, music in streets and general partying in the square - from your hotel room or from their wonderful bar area.
Thanks to all the staff for their excellent and friendly service.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2013

This was our second visit to this lovely resort and great hotel (we have a policy of not returning to a resort as we're always looking for new experiences), yet we made an exception and returned to the Tsanteleina because it was so good the first time round. Sadly, the general manager, Francios had passed away the month before we arrived in a car crash, but the remaning staff were as helpful and charming as the first visit.
It's difficult to find fault with this hotel, however, there are one or two things you should look out for:
There's no bottled water in the rooms which means a trip to the local Spar to stock up.
Trying to get a coffee or tea delivered in the morning via room service is almost impossible and there're no tea or coffee supplies in the room.
Other than those two minor gripes, the rest is superb, in particular the bar area and the spa/steam room/swimming pool/sauna. The restaurant for evening meals is top class and saves one from having to traipse all over the village trying to find somewhere to eat.
There was unanimous agreement from all in our party that this was certainly our best ski holiday so far (out of 8 trips) and it was largely down to the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GrumpySumpy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beziers
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2012

Later review - apologies
Stayed January for five days whilst skiing - lovely spa, great bars and bedroom overlooking slopes was fantastic. Great service. Ideally located to ski slopes but you can literally ski to the hotel. Outside hotel are buses to other resorts and also lots of boutiques and shops.

Prices reflect the hotel standard so don't expect groups of skiers.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaisonDeLOrbBeziers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2012

This hotel has modest size rooms (though not as bad as some comments on this site have suggested). The food was excellent and that makes up for a lot. The boot room was a bit of a mess but they are planning a refurbishment apparently.

It's not particularly close to the lifts, you can ski most of the way back but it's several hundred yards in the morning. The bus (which is really frequent) stops right outside and that;s better particularly with children).

The bar is charming and has a reasonable amount of seating. The prices are high but not as egregious as some French ski resort hotels. If you are drinking alot or on a tight budget the whole town is on your doorstep so you can go out easily enough.

Service is OK as good as one can expect in France, ie..... OK.

There is free WiFI in the Lobby.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GrouchyOldMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
693 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012

The Tsanteleina is a very good French hotel in the heart of this resort. Rooms are good quality and generally very adequate in terms of size. The restaurant is top quality and the whole experience enormously good value. Very close to the slopes and the centre of local nightlife.
watty

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Watty5657
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Val d'Isere hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel L'Aigle des Neiges
Hotel L'Aigle des Neiges
#1 of 39 in Val d'Isere
424 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Yule
Le Yule
#11 of 39 in Val d'Isere
120 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Altitude
Hotel Altitude
#4 of 39 in Val d'Isere
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Restaurant La Toviere
Hotel Restaurant La Toviere
#7 of 39 in Val d'Isere
143 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Christiania
Hotel Christiania
#6 of 39 in Val d'Isere
169 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Les Barmes de l'Ours
Hotel Les Barmes de l'Ours
#14 of 39 in Val d'Isere
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tsanteleina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tsanteleina Hotel

Property: Tsanteleina Hotel
Address: avenue Olympique, 73150 Val d'Isere, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Val d'Isere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Val d'Isere
#2 Family Hotel in Val d'Isere
#2 Spa Hotel in Val d'Isere
#8 Romantic Hotel in Val d'Isere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Tsanteleina Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LE TSANTELEINA, HOTEL & SPA Indulge yourselves in the heart of Val d'Isere! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Tsanteleina Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tsanteleina Hotel Val d Isère
Tsanteleina Hotel France/Savoie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing