We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Snowboarding in Val-D'Isere”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Val d'Isere
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Champs Avalins Hotel
Ranked #27 of 39 Hotels in Val d'Isere
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Snowboarding in Val-D'Isere”
Reviewed 16 January 2013

Before traveling I read a few negative reviews about this hotel, how amazed I was when I arrived and was greeted by so friendly and helpful staff. We were given the exact room we ordered and not fobbed off with another which is usually the case.
The location for me is usually the most important. This hotel is right at the bottom of the la Daille gondola, you can ski right to the door so nipping back for the afternoon tea and cakes they provide is so easy and quick as buying food and drink on the mountain is expensive.
A choice of two, 3 course dinners at night, with wines included and a cooked breakfast what more does a skier or (snowboarder in my case) need.
Oh, and I forgot to mention the free bus rocks up 50 yards from the hotel, so easy access in to and out of Val.
Enjoy your trip.......
Charlie UK

Room Tip: We had a piste view which was awesome but couldn't connect to the hotels free wi-fi so ask for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CharlieSnowboard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    72
    24
    12
    16
See reviews for
47
20
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bridgnorth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2013

The position was superb, you could literaly ski to the door and you were greeted by an array of afternoon tea,coffee,cakes and soup. Later we enjoyed early evening drinks in the friendly bar, while having canopy's before a delicious 3-course meal of your choice.
The cleanleness was impeccable, with the cleaners coming in every day to make your room spotless and the rooms were always warm, although the decore was a bit dated.
There was a mini supermarket and gift shop near the hotel so you could pick up anything you needed, plus some good resturants and bars.
The local bus stopped regularly outside the Hotel and it took a five minute bus ride to reach the heart of Val D'Isere, which had great atmosphere and lots of bars and restaurants to choose from.
The rep and hotel staff were lovely and all English so it was easy to comunicate.
Overall it was a brilliant stay and I would recommend this accomodation to anyone!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1966Will
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camberley, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2013

We stayed for a week over Christmas as a family of three. On arrival it was a bit of a squash as the reception is at the top of the stairs and not a lot of room when there a lot of new arrivals, bags skis etc. Our room was a triple room with three beds spread around the room but it was large enough for us and we had a slopeside room so could view the piste, which was wonderful.
Can not fault the food, which was good every night and the chef made something different for my son every night as he did not like the choices, which by the way you choose at breakfast. Your meal times are staggered into two sittings and alternate between 6.30pm and 8.30pm, so one night you eat at 6.30pm and the next at the later time. The 8.30pm sitting can be a bit of a pain if you want to eat early and go to bed early ready to get up for the next day.
Breakfast is ok with cereals, pastries, meat and cheese etc but you do need to be down early as the restaurant area is not big enough for the the whole hotel and you can find yourself waiting for a table. The bar area was another place we didnt venture very often, as it is in the basement and you are meant to gather there for canapes etc before dinner. Very small and very noisy, didnt like it all. It can be noisy at night, with bin collections at 4.00am, late night revellers getting off the last bus at 2.45am and the bottle bank right outside the hotel. Would recommend so ear plugs.
We didnt use the ski room, so can not comment on this as we kept all our equipment in our room.
The staff are all quite young but very pleasant, friendly and willing to help. Can not fault them.
All in all the hotel is yes basic and a little tired but is ideal for getting on the slopes early. It is ok if you are there for the skiing and not the luxury and if it all the about the skiing for you, ideal. The runs back to La Daille can be tricky if you are a beginner, the green run (Verte) is a nightmare later in the day. The red and blue are also quite undergraded and get very mogully later in the day. It was quite fun though watching all the skiers from our balcony that had accomodation in Val D'Isere queuing for the bus back to resort. Horrendous wasnt the word.
Do recommmend catching the bus in the morning though and heading over to La Fornet and the Solaise areas, we found those areas to be really quiet and with wonderful long and wide runs, wish we had headed over that way a little earlier in the week instead of trying to access Tignes and Val Claret.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sharon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level Contributor
84 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2012

I stayed as part of a group of 50 on a skiing trip. The good points are the staff and the food. Even though it was the end of the season, they couldn't be faulted and were friendly and helpful. The food was excellent, I'm a picky eater but they catered for my whims and it was all lovely.

The downsides are yes, its a bit basic and tired, but its clean. Also the bottle bank outside my room was emptied at 5,15am everyday. Not the hotel's fault but something to be aware of if you are a light sleeper (my room mate didn't notice).

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the road if you are a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MissBugg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
67 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2012

We wanted a skiing holiday where we were spending a fortune but was still enjoyable and Champs Avalins (booked through Igloo) totally delivery. Admitedly on arrival we thought we were just getting exactly what we'd paid for, the room was basic and not that pretty, and it felt a bit drab. But after the first night we knew we'd made the right choice. The rooms are basic but that's what you need for skiing, the bathroom was great - bathtub - much needed!! The welcome was friendly and very chalet-like. For what we paid we got breakfast, afternoon tea and a 3 course dinner.The food was really unexpected. Lovely buffet breakfast with great hot options, afternoon tea had loads of yummy cake and soups, as well as tea and juice. And each morning we chose our 3 course meal, with 2 options for each course. Scallops, roasted duck, chocolate tart, lots of wine. Really fantastic. They do two sittings for dinner and you get to know the people you sit with which was nice. Not recommended for families as there can be some rowdy groups. But overall very pleased. Also very close to slopes and very close to central Val D.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the run into la Daille, we had glorious sunshine every morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gabster49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2012

We had a fabulous week away at the Champs Avalins. We hit a week where the weather was amazing, really hot every day so worth taking sun cream with you... The hotel was great (yes, as per previous comments is a little tired and worn, but it's really no issue) - as has been said, the staff were all amazing - they couldn't do enough and were all really friendly. Jean Rennier the manager was always approachable and on hand to check everything was ok and to see how your day had been, which was a great touch. Bar manager and rep (Andrew and Dom) were also brilliant fun... On the last night, I wasn't feeling very well and the staff brought me up dinner to my room which was very kind..

The food is great, lots of options for dinner in the evening (which you pick at breakfast from the menu), there is either a 6.30pm or 8.30pm sitting in the restaurant in the evening which is find as the early sittings meant you could go out afterwards in town and still be back at a reasonable time, the later sitting mean that you could enjoy the apres in town prior to dinner!

The rooms were a decent size and all of our party had balconies (which is where I kept my snowboard so can't really comment on the ski room).. Lots of hot water and VERY powerful shower - I also had a 3/4 length size tub in my room so was happy with a soak on a couple of occassions..

Location wise - you are at the foot of La Daille slopes (blue/ red/ green) so pretty easy to ski down regardless of your level. There is a Gondola and chairlift which take you to the top of these (and access to Tignes also), and the Funival which takes you to the top of the Olympic run over to the other side of Val D'Isere. Check out the Folie Douce (which is at the top of La Daille runs) - it is a rocking bar which kicks off around 3pm until 5pm - lots of people dancing on tables in the sunshine - although you are in for a colourful ride down the mountain afterwards!

Val D'Isere is a fabulous resort with some great nightlife and a really large skiing area with a massive variety of runs. The rep organises a bar crawl on a Tuesday night which is lots of fun and gets you into some bars that you may miss ordinarily as a tourist. The town is beautiful and about a 5 minute (free) bus ride from the hotel (buses seem to go about every 3-4 minutes)..

Cocktails in the hotel bar are large - I ordered a cosmopolitan on the first night which came in a rather large glass beaker (as a breakaway from the usual martini glass) - it was lovely though!

Would highly recommend this hotel and would most definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank louloupitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thames Valley
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Excellent points:
Extremely friendly and helpful staff, every single one of them. Really lovely team. Could not fault the service they provided.
Good points:
The hotel was a bit dated and the rooms very basic but it was warm, a decent powerful shower and plenty of hot water. Had a lovely view of the slope and was perfect for a quick lunchtime sunbathe on the balcony.
The food was good. Plenty of choices at breakfast. Soup and a good selection of cakes at tea time. Evening meals were also good and you had to order your choice at breakfast. I didnt see any vegetarian choices so maybe these had to be requested.
The hotel is described as "Practically ski in ski out". Misleading as you can't but it is only a short walk to the lifts and funicular.

Not so good points:
Other people have commented on the small dining room and split dinning shifts; 6pm and 8pm. Didnt really bother us; for our trip they had half the guests take the early and the other half the late sitting and then alternated the next night. The real problem was at breakfast. If you didnt arrive early you couldnt get a table. Being an early riser I was ok but most mornings people were queuing for a free table.
The food serving was disjointed. The aperitifs were taken in one side of the basement bar then you were called up to the dinning room for the starter, main and dessert. Coffee and chocolates were then served in the other side of the basement bar. Because the small bar was so crowded we never bothered with the aperitifs or coffee so waited in our rooms.

Bad points:
There is no common place to sit and relax during the day or evening. The bar is VERY small, no windows and not a place where people can sit to relax quietly; more than 6 people and its crowded. It looks and feels like a converted basement cupboard or rather two cupbboards as it has a solid wall right down the centre. At dinner times early sittings sit on one side and late sitting on the other. Also, they need a better dishwasher! Crockery was regularly dirty.

I enjoyed my holiday at Val d'Isere but we wouldn't stay in this hotel again. We stayed in a different "Total" hotel last year but this one is definitely a poor relation.

Room Tip: Piste side definitely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AnnieBushy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Val d'Isere
1.3 mi away
Hotel L'Aigle des Neiges
Hotel L'Aigle des Neiges
#1 of 39 in Val d'Isere
424 reviews
1.0 mi away
Langley Hotel La Foret
Langley Hotel La Foret
#29 of 39 in Val d'Isere
136 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Samovar Hotel & Chalets
Le Samovar Hotel & Chalets
#22 of 39 in Val d'Isere
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Restaurant La Toviere
Hotel Restaurant La Toviere
#7 of 39 in Val d'Isere
143 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel L'Avancher
Hotel L'Avancher
#9 of 39 in Val d'Isere
176 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel Le Dome
Hotel Le Dome
#17 of 37 in Tignes
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Champs Avalins Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Champs Avalins Hotel

Property: Champs Avalins Hotel
Address: la Daille, 73150 Val d'Isere, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Val d'Isere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 39 Hotels in Val d'Isere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In common with the rest of Val d’Isère’s La Daille area, the hotel might not win any awards for the cutest or prettiest exterior in the Alps, but as with all properties, it is the location that really counts! And that’s where the Champs Avalins really scores. You can ski back to within just 50m of the hotel, and each morning you have a choice of lifts right on hand to whisk you up the mountain. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel Champs Avalins
Champs Avalins Hotel France/Savoie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing