We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Champs Avalins Hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Val d'Isere
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Aspen Lodge(Val d'Isere)
View Hotel
Hotel La Gelinotte(Val d'Isere)
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hotel Danival(Val d'Isere)
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (186)
Filter reviews
186 results
Traveller rating
52
77
27
13
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
52
77
27
13
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssoupla dailleafternoon teadinner sittingscakeswifi worksorder toasthotel is pretty basicread several reviewsholiday makersval d'iserecommunal spacethe busstar accommodationbus serviceenthusiastic staffmeal times
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
125 - 130 of 186 reviews
Reviewed 22 January 2013

Champs Avalin is a very basic hotel, more like a typical small french catered apartment block but without the small kitchens in the room, just beds. Most of the comments made on here are pretty on the mark.
The bar is too small, the canapes and pre dinner drinks also too cheap and small to bother with really. The food was in general good, and the service also.
Afternoon tea coffee and cakes were very nice.
No TV in room and no communal one either.
Detrimental points - WiFi - only worked in bar or restaurant.
Plastic glasses in the bar because all the glass ones had been smased the week before (buy some more then!)
Bar too small and in two halfs - (knockj out the wall)
Afternoon Tea finished at 5, which is only just after the lifts shut, and later in the season would be much too early (we went in January)
It is in a good position at the botton of OK Run and allows a stop at the very lively Folly Douce if you are so inclined (at the top of the run)
When we were there it was full of mainly all lad groups, not neccessarily a bad thing if thats OK with you but I can imagine it wouldnt go down all that well with everyone.
Plus points - Good price value for money, the staff pub crawl on Tuesday (although Wednesday was heavy going!), well organised.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank woodykibworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with a group booked with Total Ski. Staff were great, food was good and so was the skiing. Location proved better than expected with easy access to some of the best slopes. Bar was a bit poky though.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hungrybiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2013

Before traveling I read a few negative reviews about this hotel, how amazed I was when I arrived and was greeted by so friendly and helpful staff. We were given the exact room we ordered and not fobbed off with another which is usually the case.
The location for me is usually the most important. This hotel is right at the bottom of the la Daille gondola, you can ski right to the door so nipping back for the afternoon tea and cakes they provide is so easy and quick as buying food and drink on the mountain is expensive.
A choice of two, 3 course dinners at night, with wines included and a cooked breakfast what more does a skier or (snowboarder in my case) need.
Oh, and I forgot to mention the free bus rocks up 50 yards from the hotel, so easy access in to and out of Val.
Enjoy your trip.......
Charlie UK

Room Tip: We had a piste view which was awesome but couldn't connect to the hotels free wi-fi so ask for a room where you can receive this. We were given the exact room we asked for. Wi-fi can be purchased for about 30 euros for the week. The photo I've added was from our view from room 109.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CharlieSnowboard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2013

The position was superb, you could literaly ski to the door and you were greeted by an array of afternoon tea,coffee,cakes and soup. Later we enjoyed early evening drinks in the friendly bar, while having canopy's before a delicious 3-course meal of your choice.
The cleanleness was impeccable, with the cleaners coming in every day to make your room spotless and the rooms were always warm, although the decore was a bit dated.
There was a mini supermarket and gift shop near the hotel so you could pick up anything you needed, plus some good resturants and bars.
The local bus stopped regularly outside the Hotel and it took a five minute bus ride to reach the heart of Val D'Isere, which had great atmosphere and lots of bars and restaurants to choose from.
The rep and hotel staff were lovely and all English so it was easy to comunicate.
Overall it was a brilliant stay and I would recommend this accomodation to anyone!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1966Will
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2013

We stayed for a week over Christmas as a family of three. On arrival it was a bit of a squash as the reception is at the top of the stairs and not a lot of room when there a lot of new arrivals, bags skis etc. Our room was a triple room with three beds spread around the room but it was large enough for us and we had a slopeside room so could view the piste, which was wonderful.
Can not fault the food, which was good every night and the chef made something different for my son every night as he did not like the choices, which by the way you choose at breakfast. Your meal times are staggered into two sittings and alternate between 6.30pm and 8.30pm, so one night you eat at 6.30pm and the next at the later time. The 8.30pm sitting can be a bit of a pain if you want to eat early and go to bed early ready to get up for the next day.
Breakfast is ok with cereals, pastries, meat and cheese etc but you do need to be down early as the restaurant area is not big enough for the the whole hotel and you can find yourself waiting for a table. The bar area was another place we didnt venture very often, as it is in the basement and you are meant to gather there for canapes etc before dinner. Very small and very noisy, didnt like it all. It can be noisy at night, with bin collections at 4.00am, late night revellers getting off the last bus at 2.45am and the bottle bank right outside the hotel. Would recommend so ear plugs.
We didnt use the ski room, so can not comment on this as we kept all our equipment in our room.
The staff are all quite young but very pleasant, friendly and willing to help. Can not fault them.
All in all the hotel is yes basic and a little tired but is ideal for getting on the slopes early. It is ok if you are there for the skiing and not the luxury and if it all the about the skiing for you, ideal. The runs back to La Daille can be tricky if you are a beginner, the green run (Verte) is a nightmare later in the day. The red and blue are also quite undergraded and get very mogully later in the day. It was quite fun though watching all the skiers from our balcony that had accomodation in Val D'Isere queuing for the bus back to resort. Horrendous wasnt the word.
Do recommmend catching the bus in the morning though and heading over to La Fornet and the Solaise areas, we found those areas to be really quiet and with wonderful long and wide runs, wish we had headed over that way a little earlier in the week instead of trying to access Tignes and Val Claret.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sharon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews