We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Champs Avalin val d'isere”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Val d'Isere
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Champs Avalins Hotel
Ranked #27 of 39 Hotels in Val d'Isere
Certificate of Excellence
London, UK
Level Contributor
107 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Champs Avalin val d'isere”
Reviewed 1 March 2013 via mobile

First time with Ski Total and I would use them again. Staff and food was very good at this chalet hotel. Breakfast incl hot, afternoon tea and cakes and dinner included. You also got choice for dinner and wine was included. Hot was in La Daille which was about 5min by free bus from tons centre but next to ski lift so perfect for family.

Only negative comment is that hotel needs refurbishing. Our shower curtain was torn, but room and bathroom were clean.

The young staff were really friendly and helpful. Rep was good and we did arrange paragliding through Becky which was amazing.

Overall, I would use Ski total again and would come back here. Hotel I would say 3 star but food and service 5 star.

Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank OracLondon_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    72
    24
    12
    16
See reviews for
47
20
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Marseille, France
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2013

This was my first year skiing with Ski Total in a party of 8 people for a week. The hotel is in the La Daille area of Val d'Isère, which is approximately a 15 min walk from the centre of town (or 5 mins on the free bus!).

The hotel is situated at the bottom of the pistes so you can pretty much ski straight to the door and is a 5min walk to the nearest gondola/chair lift. The ski location is good because there are green, blue and red pistes all down, which will cater for all levels.

The hotel itself doesn't look too great from the outside as it looks more like an apartment block and inside, the decor is a little basic and dated. However, do not let this get in the way of your stay. We stayed in room 303 with a piste view. The room was very clean and inviting. We also had ajoining doors to the room next to us (that we kept locked because those guests were not in our party). Only real downside was that our bathroom lights would flicker after about a half hour of using them which meant having a shower in the dark most of the time. This problem was experienced by another 2 in our party in room 306. We thought perhaps our electricity in the bathroom was shared with another room. Anyway, it wasn't enough to darken our holiday that's for sure, but it would have been nice to have them. Showers in the room are amazing! Just what you need after a hard day of skiing! Housekeeping was also great. Fresh towels once a week (on Thursday).

The restaurant is as others have said. The hotel needs to have 2 dinner sittings due to the small size, but it didn't really bother us. Food at the hotel was to a very high standard. You got to choose from 2 starters, 3 main courses (one was always vegetarian) and 2 desserts at breakfast time. Canapes course was held in the bar downstairs as was the cheese course at the end. Canapes were good. Drinks at the bar were good value - didn't notice a weird smell as some other people have reviewed. It is quite small though, so I imagine if there were a lot of people it would be unbearable but we never had that problem. Never had to wait for a table for breakfast either and I would go down for breakfast at like 8.30am. The afternoon tea was amazing; they always had an amazing soup on (best one I had last week was leek and potato - was divine).

Ski room was a little small and cramped. I only left my boots in there and kept my skis in my room. There is a side door leading into the ski room from outside and often I found it unlocked so I was a little worried about leaving my brand new skis in there. However, as far as I was aware, nothing was stolen or lost so I was probably over reacting.

Hotel staff hold a pub crawl on a Tuesday, which was a great laugh, and they also do ski guiding, which I never did.

I would say all in all that the hotel was of a decent standard with exceptional food. We didn't hang around the hotel too often with us skiing all day and generally out at a bar at night so I found the hotel to be comfortable and exactly what I was looking for. I would probably recommend it to people who are looking for something a little cheaper with good skiing options.

Room Tip: Get a piste view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Colliebell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2013 via mobile

Second year with Ski Total, having stayed in the excellent Abendrot in Ischgl last year.

Champs Avalins was always going to be different, so I'll try to remain objective.

Location

CA is in La Daille, which is at one end of Val d'Isere, note not in the centre itself. This brings pros and cons. Pros are excellent lift access, you can be on the mountain in no time. Downside is... It's not in the centre of town and entertainment in evening is thus somewhat limited. But, big pro, there's a super free bus that runs from La Daille to Le Fornet until the early hours serving skiers and après skiers alike. Really couldn't ask for more.

Hotel

It's basic. You get what you pay for. The hotel is clean, but not spotless, comfortable, but not homely. You get the idea. Rooms are on the small side, all with twin beds I believe. Bathroom was ok, hot water at decent pressure, but small fittings and grout need attention.

Food was the best part of the package. Chefs really tried hard and dinner was of a good standard. Bizarrely the dining room can only hold half the guests at a time, so dinner is served in 2 seatings. You alternate between early and lates. Plenty of free wine, as we have come to expect from Ski Total.

Breakfast was not quite so good which in part is because it's not set up in dedicated sittings, so getting a seat can be an issue, and staff aren't always quick to clean tables, replace cutlery and crockery, but most importantly food. On a number of occasions juice ran out, as did coffee and pain au chocolats. It would eventually be replenished and the staff try hard, but if they had this down to a military operation it would massively lift the breakfast experience.

Must say cakes and tea from 4pm were superb.

Bar is small and not particularly cheap, no atmosphere. Boot room is tiny, you couldn't put your boots on in it, storage only. Note that there is a small supermarket 20 yards from the hotel an ski hire is in the same complex as the supermarket. Free bus stop is 50 yards away, where initial coach drops you off. Wifi works, just. Guessing it's timed before connection drops as after 20 mina you'd need to log on again. Reception anywhere other than dining room is hit and miss. Signal in room would be dependent on proximity of reception area so can't be guaranteed.

Skiing

Simply brilliant. Our first time to France for a full week. Expanse and variety of resort was amazing. Ski hire cheaper with Ski Total than in shop. Insurance against damage or theft at 11 EUR for the week sounded worthwhile. I don't want to comment on the ski area too much more, but plan where you want to eat carefully as mountain restaurants few and far between, quite pricey and of varying quality.

Ski Total only supply a full area lift pass, so is ideal. Hotel guests were a mix from beginners through to off piste powder hounds.

Other

One night a week the dining staff have off, so you need to book somewhere for dinner early. Earlier the better as I think a lot of chalets have the same night off, so places get very busy.

Walls are on the thin side, so take ear plugs if a light sleeper. Only noise is likely to be other guests.

Finding expensive drinks is easy. Cheap drinks harder. For the latter in the centre of Val would suggest you head to Pacific bar (show sports on tv), Alexandra bar or the Saloon bar.

Bus transfer at 3 hours is on the long side, especially given the flight time logistics.

Bottom line, we had a great holiday. Skiing was super, dinner exceeded expectations and La Daille was a great base to get around from. You get what you pay for and this isn't the Ritz. Judged on cost and bang for buck Id give this 4 stars. The hotel itself would be 2 stars at best. Perfect to get fed and get your head down, but not a place you'll want to spend all your spare time. The key is expectations, we are not fussy travellers and you need to assess lodgings on merit and Champs Avalins covers the basics well.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank xtemq84i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2013

Champs Avalin is a very basic hotel, more like a typical small french catered apartment block but without the small kitchens in the room, just beds. Most of the comments made on here are pretty on the mark.
The bar is too small, the canapes and pre dinner drinks also too cheap and small to bother with really. The food was in general good, and the service also.
Afternoon tea coffee and cakes were very nice.
No TV in room and no communal one either.
Detrimental points - WiFi - only worked in bar or restaurant.
Plastic glasses in the bar because all the glass ones had been smased the week before (buy some more then!)
Bar too small and in two halfs - (knockj out the wall)
Afternoon Tea finished at 5, which is only just after the lifts shut, and later in the season would be much too early (we went in January)
It is in a good position at the botton of OK Run and allows a stop at the very lively Folly Douce if you are so inclined (at the top of the run)
When we were there it was full of mainly all lad groups, not neccessarily a bad thing if thats OK with you but I can imagine it wouldnt go down all that well with everyone.
Plus points - Good price value for money, the staff pub crawl on Tuesday (although Wednesday was heavy going!), well organised.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank woodykibworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with a group booked with Total Ski. Staff were great, food was good and so was the skiing. Location proved better than expected with easy access to some of the best slopes. Bar was a bit poky though.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hungrybiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 January 2013

Before traveling I read a few negative reviews about this hotel, how amazed I was when I arrived and was greeted by so friendly and helpful staff. We were given the exact room we ordered and not fobbed off with another which is usually the case.
The location for me is usually the most important. This hotel is right at the bottom of the la Daille gondola, you can ski right to the door so nipping back for the afternoon tea and cakes they provide is so easy and quick as buying food and drink on the mountain is expensive.
A choice of two, 3 course dinners at night, with wines included and a cooked breakfast what more does a skier or (snowboarder in my case) need.
Oh, and I forgot to mention the free bus rocks up 50 yards from the hotel, so easy access in to and out of Val.
Enjoy your trip.......
Charlie UK

Room Tip: We had a piste view which was awesome but couldn't connect to the hotels free wi-fi so ask for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CharlieSnowboard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgnorth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2013

The position was superb, you could literaly ski to the door and you were greeted by an array of afternoon tea,coffee,cakes and soup. Later we enjoyed early evening drinks in the friendly bar, while having canopy's before a delicious 3-course meal of your choice.
The cleanleness was impeccable, with the cleaners coming in every day to make your room spotless and the rooms were always warm, although the decore was a bit dated.
There was a mini supermarket and gift shop near the hotel so you could pick up anything you needed, plus some good resturants and bars.
The local bus stopped regularly outside the Hotel and it took a five minute bus ride to reach the heart of Val D'Isere, which had great atmosphere and lots of bars and restaurants to choose from.
The rep and hotel staff were lovely and all English so it was easy to comunicate.
Overall it was a brilliant stay and I would recommend this accomodation to anyone!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1966Will
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Val d'Isere hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Restaurant La Toviere
Hotel Restaurant La Toviere
#7 of 39 in Val d'Isere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel le Kern
Hotel le Kern
#17 of 39 in Val d'Isere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Samovar Hotel & Chalets
Le Samovar Hotel & Chalets
#22 of 39 in Val d'Isere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel L'Aigle des Neiges
Hotel L'Aigle des Neiges
#2 of 39 in Val d'Isere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
1.1 mi away
Alpina Lodge - Val d'Isere
Alpina Lodge - Val d'Isere
#31 of 39 in Val d'Isere
3.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
1.2 mi away
Tsanteleina Hotel
Tsanteleina Hotel
#1 of 39 in Val d'Isere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Champs Avalins Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Champs Avalins Hotel

Property: Champs Avalins Hotel
Address: la Daille, 73150 Val d'Isere, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Val d'Isere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 39 Hotels in Val d'Isere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In common with the rest of Val d’Isère’s La Daille area, the hotel might not win any awards for the cutest or prettiest exterior in the Alps, but as with all properties, it is the location that really counts! And that’s where the Champs Avalins really scores. You can ski back to within just 50m of the hotel, and each morning you have a choice of lifts right on hand to whisk you up the mountain. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel Champs Avalins
Champs Avalins Hotel France/Savoie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing