We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BRILLIANT STAFF!!! (FACT)”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Val d'Isere
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Champs Avalins Hotel
Ranked #26 of 39 Hotels in Val d'Isere
Newcastle upon Tyne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“BRILLIANT STAFF!!! (FACT)”
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Hotel is very basic but right beside ski lifts that are quiet. Very few queues for lifts even in the morning. Bus service into Val d'isere town centre is very efficient and runs well into the early hours. All the staff at the hotel were very welcoming right from the first meeting and couldn't do enough to help you all week. All you had to do was ask. Nothing was too much trouble. They made our stay very pleasant!! A small number of the other guests did give some of the staff a hard time which was totally uncalled for (sad to see really) as they were genuine happy, cheerful, helpful, normal everyday people, who in my opinion were doing a very good job. They wanted to make sure all the guests thoroughly enjoyed their stay - we certainly did thanks to them. Well done to the staff! Thanks for a great holiday!! Keep up the outstanding work!!!!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mbell3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    72
    24
    12
    16
See reviews for
47
20
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We stayed at the champs with ski total over the Christmas week (family of 4 with two teenage boys) and whilst the hotel is pretty basic I just want to say a hearty thanks to Francesca and the team for all their efforts especially the effort made for Christmas dinner which was fantastic. Also a special thanks to Joey and Jonny.

Yes the hotel is basic but food was great, lots of hot water and good views of the piste and lifts if you pick the right rooms. Rooms were clean and the location is good at the bottom of the Daille lifts. Having read a number of tripadvisor reviews on the Champs before I booked the hotel was as expected and in my view represents good value for money given the location.

Neil from Perth

Room Tip: Level 2 or 3
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank neil s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014 via mobile

The hotel is very shabby and needs a lot of maintenance. The bar is small and not big enough to accommodate the number of guests.
However the staff were excellent and could not do enough for you and the food was very good.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SezMerc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We spent a week at the Chalet Champ Avalin. When we first got there, we were corralled into the basement (where the pub is) and given a brief. It was there we met the hotel manager, Francesca. She was insanely rude and had a ridiculous, sarcastic, contemptuous tone that let you know she was in charge and you were just cattle she's herding through the week.

After the brief, the hotel was actually a pretty good experience. Most of us just avoided the hotel manager. When we did need something, we went to the assistant hotel manager, who was lovely!! The entire staff there was incredible and amazing, but Francesca made the experience terrible.

At the end of our week, we were told to pay our bar tab, although we had paid our tabs the nights we drank. Since we paid with cash, we were not given a receipt and thought nothing of it. Unfortunately, out of a total of €38, I paid €11 on my night out and my partner paid €38 twice (that €38 included by my €11 tab).

Francesca insisted that we would not get on our flight if we did not pay our tab and was so rude that I felt compelled to tell her what I thought, though I didn't.

All in all, the trip was good, but Francesca is a horrid person. The rest of the staff is amazing. Should you want to stay there, please get a receipt for your bar tab and make sure and interact with all the other staff (Avoiding Francesca at all costs).

Room Tip: There are rooms facing the piste that are beautiful views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Soon2beUTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Positives - good sized room twin beds and clean bedding, balcony facing the mountain, excellent bathroom facilities, with hot shower and bath, AMAZING food and wine served, excellent breakfast, AMAZING and friendly staff and hotel manager. Great location, 3 min walk to gondola and funicular that take you up the mountain, and 2 min walk from bus stop that takes you in town (town is 5 min on the bus).

Negatives: No dry room, just a ski room which was a bit cramped when needing to put your boots on. Small communal area.

There is a split dinner service, which I thought I wasn't going to enjoy but I did, as it gave us the chance to go and explore the town a bit more rather than just staying in the hotel.

Room Tip: Go for a room with a balcony facing the mountain, very nice views of the piste and mountain!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Renee C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Went to this hotel as part of a group of 12, very small & basic rooms but its not like you spend much time there anyway. They were warm, clean and we slept well which is important. The staff are all English which was nice.

There were a couple in the group that could not eat certain foods - 1 being a vegan and two being lactose intolerant - this was not catered for very well for the first few days. even though they had paid £35 for a special diet catered to their needs, there were no options for the afternoon tea & cakes, and they were often just given fruit salad for pudding each night. This only improved after a complaint was made. Apart from this ongoing problem the staff were very nice.

No swimming pool, spa or anything like that which was disappointing. We went into the leisure centre in Val few nights which has great facilities.

Dinner each night was split into two groups as there was not enough room for everyone to eat at one time. It was alternated each night so one night you were 18:30 and next 20:30, which was too late for me! Canapés before dinner were always very good.

The hotel is located in La Daille, which is about a 5/10 min bus journey out of Val - the busses run every 10 mins until very late. the good thing about the location is that you are only a few minutes walk to the gondola which gives you access to Tignes, which we all preferred as we found that Val was quite flat in comparison.

As a whole the resort was fab, hotel was ok, but I think next time we'd stay in Tignes.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ciara k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2013

The holiday was booked late and represented very good value for money. The hotel is quite basic as other reviews suggest however it was warm; had comfortable beds and an endless supply of hot water even when fully booked.

What was really impressive though was the excellent food and service from all members of the staff team. The hotel manager (Ian) impressed from his first welcome speech and continued to do so for the rest of the week.

Our party would certainly book again; if we do we hope Ian and key staff are still there. Well done to the entire team; you certainly do an excellent job for Ski Total.

Room Tip: Keep an eye for for a late booking at a discounted price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulT505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Val d'Isere hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Restaurant La Toviere
Hotel Restaurant La Toviere
#7 of 39 in Val d'Isere
146 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Samovar Hotel & Chalets
Le Samovar Hotel & Chalets
#22 of 39 in Val d'Isere
126 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel L'Avancher
Hotel L'Avancher
#9 of 39 in Val d'Isere
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel L'Aigle des Neiges
Hotel L'Aigle des Neiges
#1 of 39 in Val d'Isere
424 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel les Cretes Blanches
Hotel les Cretes Blanches
#24 of 39 in Val d'Isere
101 reviews
1.1 mi away
Auberge Saint-Hubert
Auberge Saint-Hubert
#23 of 39 in Val d'Isere
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Champs Avalins Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Champs Avalins Hotel

Property: Champs Avalins Hotel
Address: la Daille, 73150 Val d'Isere, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Val d'Isere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 39 Hotels in Val d'Isere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In common with the rest of Val d’Isère’s La Daille area, the hotel might not win any awards for the cutest or prettiest exterior in the Alps, but as with all properties, it is the location that really counts! And that’s where the Champs Avalins really scores. You can ski back to within just 50m of the hotel, and each morning you have a choice of lifts right on hand to whisk you up the mountain. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel Champs Avalins
Champs Avalins Hotel France/Savoie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing