We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel and staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Langley Hotel La Foret
Ranked #29 of 39 Hotels in Val d'Isere
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent hotel and staff”
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Staff very welcoming and friendly. They will give a full brief of weather forecast for the weeks skiing as well as information of ski area (best place to ski depending on weather). Food is excellent. The evening meal is put on a board every morning in the restuarant so if there is anything that you dont like they will arrange an alternative for you. Nearest lift is a 5 minute walk away but isnt too far. If it has recently snowed you can ski down the foot path home which is a bonus after a long hard day skiing. Rooms are small but your never in them and they have a pretty decent Ski locker room, only down side if having to take boots up to room as there is not too much space in them. Overall great hotel, great staff and located in the best ski area in the world.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glasgowboy2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    49
    18
    8
    12
See reviews for
26
34
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Great little hotel run by a fantastic team of young Swedish people who are a credit to their country!!!
Friendly, helpful excellent service, great food and chilled out bar. Rooms a little on the small side, and 1/2 mile walk to the slopes other than that I would recommend and stay their again.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jcmsf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Excellent Hotel What friendly staff from the moment you arrive, always smiling ! Luckily arrived on the overnight train before some guests had left so squeezed in a breakfast before skiing !! Food was of real excellent quality & there was a choice to cater for different needs, just ask. Lovely hearty breakfasts. The ski locker room is accessed thru the hotel, the techies were very helpful & prices & gear was of a good standard. The Olympic & Solaisse lifts were 10m walk away. The town with bars & restaurants were again no more than 10m walk.
OK so what was wrong, yes the single beds were a little uncomfortable , the rooms were basic, clean, severed their needs BUT were warm, keep your boots in the room to keep them warm. Internet Free in the bar & restaurant area. If you were not skiing make use on the Sauna & Hot Tub, as the bar area is locked after 11 - 4 ish

Room Tip: Choose a balcony room away from the bar at least on the 2nd Floor or above
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Simon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

I will try and keep it short, sweet and helpful....

If you've booked a ski school then the walk is about 8 minutes door to door. Ski Hire shop is within the hotel. The accommodation is basic but clean and expected for a 3*plus hotel.

The resort is not cheap....few examples...burger and chips from a small burger joint in the resort centre approx 10.00 Euros, glass of wine, 4.50 Euros.

Après ski is awesome however; get ready to re-mortgage the house!! MUSIC and ATMOSPHERE at Folie Douce is awesome. Give you an idea, can of Red-bull 8.00 Euros, bottle of Smirnoff 10.00 Euros...after party from Folie Douce happens in cafe face and it gets packed from 17:30 so get there about 17:00 if you want the table with the window!! Drinks are on offer from 2.60 euro a pint till about 18.00 then it goes up a little every hour.

What made this holiday awesome for me and our group, great snow (we got lucky!!) Fantastic 'Langley' staff, from the hotel manager to all the Langley staff was brilliant. Always smiley, willing to help, and considering this is not their main language the staff really try and interact with you.
Shame Crystal hotel staff (Krysia) don't have the same enthusiasm. Only seem to be interested in your well-being if you are prepared to spend some money booking any trips. Do not buy the pack lunch they provide at 6.00 Euros, as the hotel provides you a sandwich, drink and a fruit for FREE!!!
In summary, most of the holidays I/WE have taken are 4/5 star, what makes this hotel SPECIAL is the food, the chef is amazing...and the 'Langley staff. Would I go back “yes” :0)

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank snowskiparty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

Seriously awesome food! The staff are so friendly and helpful too. Well worth a visit based on them alone. Trust me. Best food ever.

The hotel is a good 10min walk to the nearest ski lift and well situated to visit Cafe Face and Dick's Tea Bar. If that's what you are into ;)

The rooms are little pokey, and we didn't have a bath :( BUT don't let that put you off.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Glen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014 via mobile

Great stay, very clean and super friendly. We came here with a group of friends. We have stayed here a couple of times, but this time we enjoyed our stay even more. The selection of food in the restaurant would not go amiss at any high class place. The bar in the hotel is so relaxing after a hard days sking with leather sofa's open fire and fantastic friendly Barman called Hampus who can throw a awesome cocktail together. The combination of the atmosphere and staff makes for the perfect holiday. Can't wait to return next year!!!!

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Martin268033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Yorkshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Had great time staying at La Foret, the Langley staff at the hotel are from Sweden and are exellent hosts, the food is is fantastic,the hotel is clean and in a good location.

It's a pity I cannot say the same about the Cystal staff who seem to represent a different type cluture and this is reflected in thier custmer care. It almost appears that there are two types of holiday going on, one holiday with Cystal and one hoilday for the Swedish guest who booked with Langley. Its a pity that but these youngsters from Sweden make the Cystal reps appear second best.

Sorry about the rant may be its me being an old f**t please don't let this spoil your holiday I had a great week and would come back to this hotel again

Room Tip: The rooms are very warm try and leave the balcony doors open when you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mondo21a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Val d'Isere hotels
0.1 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Residence Les Chalets de Solaise
0.3 mi away
Hotel L'Aigle des Neiges
Hotel L'Aigle des Neiges
#1 of 39 in Val d'Isere
424 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Restaurant La Toviere
Hotel Restaurant La Toviere
#7 of 39 in Val d'Isere
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Altitude
Hotel Altitude
#4 of 39 in Val d'Isere
204 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Yule
Le Yule
#12 of 39 in Val d'Isere
118 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Kandahar
Hotel Kandahar
#19 of 39 in Val d'Isere
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Langley Hotel La Foret? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langley Hotel La Foret

Property: Langley Hotel La Foret
Address: la Balme, 73151 Val d'Isere, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Val d'Isere
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 39 Hotels in Val d'Isere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Langley Hotel La Forêt is located in the heart of Val d'Isère with walking distance to the ski lifts and approximately a five minute walk to the city center.A simple and cosy hotel with a restaurant a bar to relax after your ski days. It also has a sauna and jacuzzi available for an extra charge and its own in house ski rental. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Langley Hotel La Foret reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Foret Hotel Val d Isère
Langley Hotel La Foret France/Savoie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing