We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect ski location”
Review of Hotel la Galise

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel la Galise
Ranked #12 of 39 Hotels in Val d'Isere
Certificate of Excellence
Bingley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect ski location”
Reviewed 16 February 2013

Less than 5 minute chomp to the lifts smack in the centre of town makes this an excellent location for a skiing holiday. Good value too with clean and well fitted out accommodation which was ample for two big blokes to share. The staff were very helpful and whilst waiting for our room on the first morning we were able to get changed for skiing and leave our luggage in the safety of the store room whilst we set off for the slopes. My only criticism of the hotel is the lack of coffee making facilities but this is a minor point as everything else is pretty perfect. Lots of good eating places in town for your evening meal and the breakfast served is more than adequate. I thoroughly recommend this to anyone seeking good accom in one of the worlds top ski resorts at a reasonable cost.

Room Tip: Room 12 overlooked the main shopping area
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fletchjs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    24
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
25
27
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bridlington, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2013

Spent nights in Val d'Isere last week, whilst attending the conference centre. It's a short walk to the lifts and is right in the centre of town. The staff were all extremely nice to me (and all spoke perfect English!) Breakfast was very good: as I was leaving at 5.30 in the morning they left breakfast in my room for me the night before, which was very much appreciated. The room was a good size, the bed was comfortable. The Alexandra Bar, in the basement of the hotel, served great food and beers, and the atmosphere was friendly and relaxed. Overall, highly recommended!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank APB71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santo, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2013

On a scale of 1-10 , we would say a 7. First the plusses. The rooms are pretty big, considering the French standards; the hotel is situated splendid; the staff is friendly; and breakfast is good. And we have a bathtub. Downsides are that the beds are pretty tough, there is no elevator, no shower curtain, no parking lots and no safe in the room. Security does not seem to have the highest priority here anyway (we didn't notice any smoke alarms or general fire alarms).

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GdeVader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Binghamton, New York, United States
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2013

The location is right in the town close to all restaurants and shops. It is also within walking distance of ski lifts. The staff was always friendly, willing to help in any way they could. I ended up with a cast on my arm and they let me borrow plastic wrap so that I could take a shower and told me about walks I could take that had flat terrain. The place is clean and the breakfast buffet is well stocked. They also have a baggage room and showers available for those who ski after checking out. The rooms are nothing special, but clean, and the beds are very comfortable. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Try not to get room 19 or 29. They are under the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PegW26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2012

Just stayed in Hotel La Galise in Val D'Isere from 24-26 December 2012. The staff were fantastic and saved our Christmas holiday and my 50th birthday after being badly let down by Ski France. The rooms were very comfortable and fitted out for an advertised 2* hotel but the customer service and hospitality were 5*. The hotel manager rang around restaurants to find our family of 4, great places to eat on Christmas Eve and Christmas Day, this was on the morning of 24 December. All the staff did their best to be as helpful as possible and when thanked said this was part of their job and they enjoyed doing it. What a fantastic hotel and great French hospitality!!!

This hotel is right in the town centre and only 1 minute from the bottom of the lifts.

There is also the attached Bar Alexandra, which is great for après ski and playing pool, and its wide variety of cocktails.

Room Tip: Room 18 sleeps 3 and has a balcony overlooking a market area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jerome824
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2012

The hotel's location is definitely one of its key advantages. Really close to elevators and ski-out area, and is among lots of restaurants, shops and other attractions too. The staff is very friendly, helpful and speaks good english. The rooms are clean and cosy although a bit too small - try to get a room with a balcony on the 3-rd floor, that would add some romantic flavour to the overall feel of the hotel. The breakfast was also quite nice and diverse.
Another good thing about this hotel is its bar at the basement with table football and live music from time to time. But no matter how loud it is there in the evening, you won't here a bit in you room anyways - the bar zone is very isolated soundwise.
Would definitely choose this one again to stay next time we visit Val D'Isere.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AeroOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2012

I have stayed at this hotel with my parents for 3 years running now and every time it is amazing. Each time we stayed in different rooms so I have seen 6 rooms now and each one is clean, warm and with breathtaking scenery (balcony). The hotel is so close to the slopes, that it is actually possible to ski from the slopes straight to the main entrance of the hotel. I will definitelly stay at this hotel next year and most probably the year after and so on. There is no better hotel in the area and because it is family run, you always have access to staff if you need anything. There is also a very good bar downstairs (1 of about 5 in the whole val d'isere) and the food is also very nice.

Room Tip: some rooms do not have balconies but have big wooden bathtubs
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Val d'Isere hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel L'Aigle des Neiges
Hotel L'Aigle des Neiges
#1 of 39 in Val d'Isere
424 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Restaurant La Toviere
Hotel Restaurant La Toviere
#7 of 39 in Val d'Isere
146 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Yule
Le Yule
#11 of 39 in Val d'Isere
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Les 5 Freres
Les 5 Freres
#8 of 39 in Val d'Isere
89 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bellier
Hotel Bellier
#13 of 39 in Val d'Isere
98 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Altitude
Hotel Altitude
#4 of 39 in Val d'Isere
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel la Galise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel la Galise

Property: Hotel la Galise
Address: Rue de la Poste, BP 3, 73150 Val d'Isere, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Val d'Isere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 39 Hotels in Val d'Isere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel la Galise 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With over 30 years experience, we would be pleased to welcome you in a convivial environment in the heart of the resort. We offer you 30 cozy rooms,a house bar with 3 pool tables and a gourmet snack, all devoted to your well being. Located nearby the slopes ( 100m from the lifts) and all commodities ( shops, tourism office, ski schools...), we will do our best to ensure you enjoy relaxing and memorable holidays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel la Galise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Galise Hotel
Hotel La Galise France/Savoie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing