We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value ski hotel”
Review of Hotel la Galise

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel la Galise
Ranked #15 of 39 Hotels in Val d'Isere
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 April 2013

The la galise is situated just a few metres from the main lifts in the centre of val. polite staff and a nice breakfast buffet. The rooms are functional and comfortable for a ski holiday. It does seem to be one of the best value central hotels. It has a very lively après ski bar 'Alexandra's ' in the basement although dicks t bar just around the corner has a good atmosphere and its only 3 euro for a large beer which was cheaper than most places. It has the usual ski gear locker room which is free to use. I would recommend this hotel for a great val ski break.

Room Tip: Ask for as low a floor as possible as there is no lift and climbing even a short flight of stairs af...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (99)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 99 reviews

Reviewed 16 April 2013

Thibaut and Magli are amazingly friendly and accommodating , helping with arrangements and information. Rooms basic, comfortable and clean. Awesome location, good ski gear logistics.

Bears repeating though, the hosts and staff make this a great stay.

Ill be staying here on my next visit.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rogbot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2013

Another good week in Val. The hotel was very good as usual, perhaps more selection for breakfast and showers in the bedrooms that are connected to the walls would be suggested.

Great location though in the centre

Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Dave1101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2013

We stayed at this hotel in February and found both the location and service very good. It is understandable why so many guests return year after year, as we will. The staff are both friendly and professional and this adds to the relaxed environment within the hotel. Excellent value.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CHRIS W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2013

We love this hotel so much that we returned from Australia for our second year in a row.

Magali & Thibaut are wonderful hosts and honestly, I’m not sure you could stay in a friendlier or more accommodating hotel.

Location is amazing, breakfast plentiful, and basic but comfortable and clean rooms.

See my review of La Galise from last year – it’s still the same great hotel!

Don’t hesitate, book at this hotel with confidence. I’m hoping we can make it back for a third year!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RestlessMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2013

What's not to like about Hotel La Galise....
- It is close to the slopes, about a 1 min walk
- Its close to the main town, Spar and bars
- The staff are friendly, helpful and accommodating
- On you're check out day, there is a luggage room to use to store bags etc

Overall, for the price of the hotel in a resort like Val d'Isere, you'd be hard pushed to find better value for money

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tdb83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2013

Hotel la Galise is perfectly located in Val d'Isere. It is just a 200 yard walk in the morning to the main lift area and on return you can ski practically to the door. The rooms are small but very comfortable and quiet. We had room 29 on the third floor with a small balcony looking out towards a beautiful church tower and the backs of several other lodges. We could see a small section of the slopes from our balcony. The hotel is just a block from the main street with most of the shops and restaurants. There is no elevator so it takes some effort getting bags up and down, but it's worth the effort. The lodge has a lovely breakfast area which serves a buffet breakfast from 7:30am til 10am. The breakfast is the same every morning and relatively simple -- but with enough choices to keep us satisfied. The owners and staff were extremely friendly and helpful in recommending and booking restaurants. For casual dinners, try WineNot (wok), L'Avancher (raclette), and La Corniche (fondu). For really spectacular evenings, make reservations (in advance) at La Grande Ourse and L'Atelier d'Edmond at Le Fornet. On the mountain, try Le Signal above Le Fornet. The lodge has a ski room with lockers for skis and a boot drying rack. There is a ski shop next to the lodge which gives a 30% discount to la Galise guests for ski rentals. Their selection was somewhat limited so we opted to rent skis at Snowberry (near the Solaise Tram). The English-speaking staff at Snowberry is very knowledgeable, and they had a great selection of skis, including some Movement Buzz99 powder skis (totally awesome powder skis!). For us, Hotel la Galise was the ideal choice and a great value.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 503travelincouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Val d'Isere hotels
0 mi away
Hotel L'Aigle des Neiges
Hotel L'Aigle des Neiges
#2 of 39 in Val d'Isere
450 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Restaurant La Toviere
Hotel Restaurant La Toviere
#5 of 39 in Val d'Isere
156 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel les Cretes Blanches
Hotel les Cretes Blanches
#24 of 39 in Val d'Isere
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel le Kern
Hotel le Kern
#20 of 39 in Val d'Isere
116 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel la Savoyarde
Hotel la Savoyarde
#14 of 39 in Val d'Isere
133 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bellier
Hotel Bellier
#16 of 39 in Val d'Isere
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel la Galise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel la Galise

Address: Rue de la Poste, BP 3, 73150 Val d'Isere, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Val d'Isere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 39 Hotels in Val d'Isere
Price Range: £123 - £181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel la Galise 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With over 30 years experience, we would be pleased to welcome you in a convivial environment in the heart of the resort. We offer you 30 cozy rooms,a house bar with 3 pool tables and a gourmet snack, all devoted to your well being. Located nearby the slopes ( 100m from the lifts) and all commodities ( shops, tourism office, ski schools...), we will do our best to ensure you enjoy relaxing and memorable holidays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel la Galise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Galise Hotel
Hotel La Galise France/Savoie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing