We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A family hotel in the heart of Val d'Isère”
Review of Hotel la Galise

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel la Galise
Ranked #15 of 39 Hotels in Val d'Isere
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A family hotel in the heart of Val d'Isère”
Reviewed 18 January 2014

This hotel is located right in the center of Val d'Isère close to the old church and a few minutes walk to the start of gondolas lifts to Solaise and Bellevarde. A very enjoyable location !
It's one of the most ancient hotel in Val d'Isère and it is run by the same family for a long time.
Welcome is very friendly and the staff is helpful.
The rooms are clean quiet and comfortable enough for a ski holiday.
A nice buffet breakfast with eggs, cereals, ham and cheese is waiting for you in the morning.
This place is really a very good value especially due to his location in the center of Val d'Isère
Many restaurants and bars are nearby.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    24
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
25
27
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

First time I stayed here was in Feb 2002. La Galise is within walking distance of the lifts, price/quality can't be beaten. Alexandra and Thibaut are very friendly and try to make your stay as pleasant as possible. I liked this place so much returned again in 2008 and 2010. Perfect location. friendly service, reasonably priced, no need to go elsewhere in MHO.

Enjoy.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Murat U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2013

The la galise is situated just a few metres from the main lifts in the centre of val. polite staff and a nice breakfast buffet. The rooms are functional and comfortable for a ski holiday. It does seem to be one of the best value central hotels. It has a very lively après ski bar 'Alexandra's ' in the basement although dicks t bar just around the corner has a good atmosphere and its only 3 euro for a large beer which was cheaper than most places. It has the usual ski gear locker room which is free to use. I would recommend this hotel for a great val ski break.

Room Tip: Ask for as low a floor as possible as there is no lift and climbing even a short flight of stairs af...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed 16 April 2013

Thibaut and Magli are amazingly friendly and accommodating , helping with arrangements and information. Rooms basic, comfortable and clean. Awesome location, good ski gear logistics.

Bears repeating though, the hosts and staff make this a great stay.

Ill be staying here on my next visit.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rogbot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2013 via mobile

Another good week in Val. The hotel was very good as usual, perhaps more selection for breakfast and showers in the bedrooms that are connected to the walls would be suggested.

Great location though in the centre

Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Dave1101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2013

We stayed at this hotel in February and found both the location and service very good. It is understandable why so many guests return year after year, as we will. The staff are both friendly and professional and this adds to the relaxed environment within the hotel. Excellent value.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CHRIS W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2013

We love this hotel so much that we returned from Australia for our second year in a row.

Magali & Thibaut are wonderful hosts and honestly, I’m not sure you could stay in a friendlier or more accommodating hotel.

Location is amazing, breakfast plentiful, and basic but comfortable and clean rooms.

See my review of La Galise from last year – it’s still the same great hotel!

Don’t hesitate, book at this hotel with confidence. I’m hoping we can make it back for a third year!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RestlessMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Val d'Isere hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel L'Aigle des Neiges
Hotel L'Aigle des Neiges
#1 of 39 in Val d'Isere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel le Kern
Hotel le Kern
#17 of 39 in Val d'Isere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ormelune
Hotel Ormelune
#10 of 39 in Val d'Isere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Tsanteleina Hotel
Tsanteleina Hotel
#2 of 39 in Val d'Isere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel L'Avancher
Hotel L'Avancher
#9 of 39 in Val d'Isere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Altitude
Hotel Altitude
#3 of 39 in Val d'Isere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel la Galise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel la Galise

Property: Hotel la Galise
Address: Rue de la Poste, BP 3, 73150 Val d'Isere, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Val d'Isere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 39 Hotels in Val d'Isere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel la Galise 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With over 30 years experience, we would be pleased to welcome you in a convivial environment in the heart of the resort. We offer you 30 cozy rooms,a house bar with 3 pool tables and a gourmet snack, all devoted to your well being. Located nearby the slopes ( 100m from the lifts) and all commodities ( shops, tourism office, ski schools...), we will do our best to ensure you enjoy relaxing and memorable holidays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel la Galise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Galise Hotel
Hotel La Galise France/Savoie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing