We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic week at hotel La Gelinotte”
Review of Hotel La Gelinotte

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Val d'Isere
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel La Gelinotte
Ranked #21 of 39 Hotels in Val d'Isere
Bracknell, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic week at hotel La Gelinotte”
Reviewed 21 January 2013

Having just returned from la Gelinotte and previously reading reviews before departure I thought i'd share my experience of staying here with Alpine Elements.

Firstly this place has been very underrated, both on here and by Alpine Elements in their description of the hotel and the service you can expect. Jess (manager) and her team done a fantastic job all week looking after our party of 14, nothing was too much trouble and there was always a smile from the staff no matter what time of the day or night it was. Staff were there to great us on arrival and refused to let us carry bags up the hill and instead bringing them up in the van for us.

The food was excellent, well prepared, presented and very tasty. There was a cooked buffet breakfast each morning and at that time the menu for the evening meal is left out for you to choose from. You don't normally find this and means that there wasn't a day when I wasn't looking forward to eating my chosen meal in the evening. There was usually three options for starter and main with two for desert (One option in each course was always vegetarian).

Previous posts have mentioned the "large/steep" hill up to the hotel, if others hadn't noticed it is a ski/board resort in the alps, there are much bigger climes around. Nevertheless it wasn't an issue (and not that steep) as Alex the driver was on hand at the required times to either pick us up and drop us off at the lifts or to pick us up and take us back to the hotel after a great day on the slopes. By the second day he knew who's gear was who's and most of our names, great attention to detail.

The hotel and rooms were spotlessly clean and pretty much what you would expect of an alpine hotel. George (barman) was great and very dedicated to the job, not only does he pour a good drink his knowledge of the Espace killy (and the night-life) is also noteworthy.

All in all a great trip, hotel and team. I would happily return without any hesitation or concerns.

Room Tip: I can only speak for room 17, top floor so expect an extra flight of stairs, plenty of storage so no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Superbillage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    45
    19
    18
    5
See reviews for
47
43
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 21 January 2013

Stayed here this year (Jan 13) Staff could not have been more helpful and friendly. The food was fantastic with a good choice each evening. Breakfast (Full English) each morning was just the perfect start each day to combat the powder.
Alpine Elements found a really good team here and i wish i could have stayed longer, Jess was a really good Manager, all the staff had a smile, the bar was run very well by Gorgeous himself (inside joke i think) the shuttle service was top dollar each morning and evening.

The Hotel itself was fine, some of the rooms were a bit cosy but lets face it, you only sleep there. They were kept clean and sorted each day which is more than enough.

Would greatly recomend this Hotel more for the staff, food and the atmos.

I would go back straight away.

Thank you to all the staff here for making this years trip a memorable one. Much Love.

Room Tip: The triples would more suit a couple with a small child, Rm 15 and i think 17 would make an awesome...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trustme77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moulsford-on-Thames, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 January 2013

Fantastic holiday,hotel and staff.The reverse being the case last year with a different company. When booking on line there is always the fear that the Chalet/Hotel you are booking has been over sold with very selective photography and a blinding write up. This year ,for our group of skiers and snow boarders,we were met with a very pleasant suprise. When we booked the hotel Fjord in Val D'isere all went well untill we were told it was over booked and our group of 14 would not fit in and we were offered the Hotel Gelinotte. This made us a bit wary but carried on with the booking. Our worry was unfounded ,we were met at Geneva airport by smiling faces and efficiently dispatched on the coach to Val D'Isere,met in resort by a mini bus who took us and luggage up a slight hill to the hotel and carried our luggage in to the Gelinotte for us. The welcome at reception was warm and friendly and the hotel itself better than described. I shared a triple room which,though comfortable, was a little on the small side.Every day of the holiday the room was cleaned and beds made. No worries about keeping warm either,the room was always warm and the shower always hot. No problems with noise at any time through the night,that may be because of me enjoying the 'Val' Apres and night life :-) which is second to none. The Gelinotte Chefs excelled them selves. there is always a choice of meal from the days menu in the hotel which is chosen whilst having a buffet fried or continental breakfast. An all you can eat fry up before a days boarding does the trick . The evening meals were extremely good and plenty of it.Coffee tea and cake in the afternoons for those not having a quiet apres in the blue note or a lively one the Petite danoise or Cafe Face. 'Gorgious George' as we named him in the bar hotel was always happy to serve beer on tap,bottles or spirits from the well stocked bar . Ask for a 'Sasky' if you go( similiar to a White russian) Itll help you sleep through the wierd dreams the altitude brings on. Although there is a free shuttle bus through the resort Alex was there to drop off and collect from the main lifts if you dont fancy the walk.The impression all of our group had was that the staff in the hotel could not do enough,nothing was too much trouble.because of the amount of guys and girls looking after the hotel and the shifts they do there is never a miserable face in the place. For me the staff will make or break a hotel and I can say that these guys know what they are doing and do it smiling which makes all the difference.Val D'Isere will always be Val D'Isere but if you want enjoy your short time there you wont go to far wrong by staying at this hotel and at a very resonable price. Im sure we will be using alpine elements again and if going to Val would check here first. P.s there is a small hill to get up to the Gellinote but hey its an activity holiday and its not bad at all . Me ?Im chuffed we stayed at the Gelinotte.Thanks Alpine Elements.

Room Tip: Triple rooms are a tad small with all your gear in it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mattchus67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2013

I can't rate this place highly enough! What made it stand out from the rest was the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff who went out of their way to ensure everyone had a good time, from the moment of arrival when they happily lugged all of our luggage up the hill, to the time of departure when - even at 3 o'clock in the morning - they were there to help us out with a smile. It was the little touches that made a difference, such as Alex - the driver - offering, unprompted, to take us to the next lift along the road, since we were his last pick-up so he had the time to do it; or George, the barman, anticipating our 'usual' orders when he heard us clattering up the stairs after a hard day's skiing. Everybody was so lovely - and this rubbed off on all the guests too, and made for a really happy, sociable week. The food was EXCELLENT - always tasty and beautifully presented - and the bedrooms and public areas of the hotel were spotlessly clean and well maintained. Well done to Alpine Elements and thank you to you all!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThomasOken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 January 2013

My previous ski holidays have always been in a large group and chalet based. Traveling with just my boyfriend this year, we chose to stay in a hotel for the first time. We chose La Hotel Gelinotte, having discovered a great deal with Alpine Elements (whom we gathered have recently taken this hotel on).
Overall, I thought that La Gelinotte was a really great value place to stay (it is not a 5* hotel, but for the price that we paid, you wouldn't expect it to be). The bedrooms are not huge and quite basic, but really cosy and perfectly adequate. Our room had a lovely balcony that overlookeded the town and the mountains. The bathroom and separate toilet were en suite and nicely decorated, and the fixed wall shower was fantastically powerful (there was never a problem with hot water supplies either, even at the busiest times).
When we first arrived, and having stayed in Val d'Isere before, we did sigh a bit about the location and the fact that it is a 10/15 minute walk to the bottom of the Olympic lift. However, we were very pleasantly surprised to find out that the hotel put on a free mini bus to (8-10) and from (4-6) the Olympic and Hotel. Also, there is a bus stop for the free shuttle bus a couple of minutes walk away if you want to travel outside of these times.
The food included breakfast, afternoon tea and dinner, and was a really great standard. Breakfast was always a hot buffet option, as well as cereal, pastries, etc... Dinner was ordered at breakfast from 3 options, and the variety and quality of the meals was really very good. There was also a bar which served reasonably (for Val d'Isere) priced drinks.
The staff were all very friendly and on hand to help, and arranged social events for those who wanted to get involved. All in all it was a very comfortable and great value place to stay. I would recommend for groups and couples, and I would happily stay there again!

Room Tip: Alpine elements have a hotel plan on the website, so you can see which rooms have balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelgeek_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2012

We stayed in the Gelinotte in April and I have to say what a fantastic place, we had a great holiday and you could ski back quite close to the chalet whichis always a bonus in my book! True the walk back to the chalet/hotel form town is up a short hill, but hey this was an active holiday afterall! Shops and bars were reasonably close (5 mins or so), but we found more than enough going on in the chalet stay in most nights

The food was good, not the best chalet-fare I've had but certainly made us more than happy and wanting more.

What we really liked thjough was our bedroom, which had lovely views of the resort and was more than comfortable, spacious and very tastefully decorated. Again the views (did I mention them?!) were fab and lots of sunshine too. The chalet (hotel) itself was also spacious with lots of areas to get lost in and an extra discount on the bar through their loyalty offer. Nice touch!

And will we be returning? Of course! Well done all, great week!

Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Jo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 April 2012

This was my first stay with Ski Power and will be my last. They call it a hotel but it is not, it is not even a chalet, I have skied with many other companies in my 40 odd years of skiing mostly in chalets but sometimes using hotels and Ski Power are nearly at the bottom of the list, they seem to use every opportunity to extract the extra euro from you, wine extra with your meal, if you dont use their recommended ski hire shop you get charged, if you dont buy ski pass from them you get charged. Ski hosting they say is included but you have to pay to book a place, a complete joke as we were the only people taking up the option. The ski host did not turn up on one day, no one let us know, previous years whilst taking up the option of ski hosting with other companies it was a social event with other guests, not with Ski Power, they take out just the group that booked with them. I like many of the other guests staying the week we were there were surprised that we were staying in France but you dont have that wonderful French bread but you have bake in the oven bread you can buy in the UK, and can you believe you dont get bread with your evening meal, some guests started to buy their own bread. My estimate that at least 50% of the guests were not happy whilst I was there.
On the positive side in general the meals were very good and I think I had one of the best vegetarian meals I have ever eaten.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pete_homefarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlpineElementsTeam, Manager at Hotel La Gelinotte, responded to this review, 26 September 2012
We are very sorry to hear that your experience with Ski Power was not a positive one, however this property is now under a different management and all systems, staff and policies have changed.

We are putting our trusted Service & Catering Programme into this property and making many new changes to the layout and decor of the building. It will be run as a hotel by a professional hotel manager and not as a chalet or chalet-hotel. The poster is correct in assuming it can only work as one or the other. A hotel or a chalet (not a quirky combination of the two). You will now receive a la carte hotel service and professional staff from our Hotels arm. It will not be run as a chalet-style property.

We do appreciate this post which highlights the changes we have made and I do hope that you would consider returning to the Gelinotte with Alpine Elements

Best Regards
Clare Smith - Head of UK Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Val d'Isere hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bellier
Hotel Bellier
#16 of 39 in Val d'Isere
97 reviews
0.2 mi away
Langley Hotel La Foret
Langley Hotel La Foret
#29 of 39 in Val d'Isere
136 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Kandahar
Hotel Kandahar
#19 of 39 in Val d'Isere
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel L'Aigle des Neiges
Hotel L'Aigle des Neiges
#1 of 39 in Val d'Isere
424 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Residence Les Chalets de Solaise
0.4 mi away
Le Yule
Le Yule
#11 of 39 in Val d'Isere
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Gelinotte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Gelinotte

Property: Hotel La Gelinotte
Address: Route de la Balme, 73150 Val d'Isere, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Val d'Isere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Val d'Isere
#6 Spa Hotel in Val d'Isere
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Gelinotte is superbly appointed in central Val d'Isère. and just 7 to 10 mins walk from the slopes, and centre but we offer a private minibus shuttle for guests. All bedrooms are en suite and the property is run as a small ski hotel with fabulous cooked and continental breakfasts and an a la carte evening menu with many other great touches to make your holiday extra special.The hotel has a fully licensed bar and restaurant. Guests will find a sauna for relaxing in after a long days skiing. There is also a quiet lounge for reading, a comfy lounge and TV lounge and a licensed bar with draft beers, spirits and wines. The hotel has Wi-fi access and the public areas are well thought out to offer guests privacy and different options for socialising. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel La Gelinotte France/Savoie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing