We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel La Gelinotte
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Avancher(Val d'Isere)(Great Value!)
US$429
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel la Savoyarde(Val d'Isere)
US$334
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$185
US$181
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Altitude(Val d'Isere)(Great Value!)
US$326
US$249
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$277
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Christiania(Val d'Isere)
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Avenue Lodge Hotel(Val d'Isere)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (256)
Filter reviews
256 results
Traveller rating
140
73
20
18
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
140
73
20
18
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsalpine elementswhite water raftingmountain bikingmanager markminibus servicefree activitieslarge groupsauna and steam roomchalet hotelfree minibushotel runs a shuttle busactivity holidayhotel offercakesreal creditsteep slopea great family holiday
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
174 - 179 of 256 reviews
Reviewed 5 March 2014

We reserved our stay fairly last minute and for the price we paid I feel we got good value for money. The staff were super: friendly and attentive, and the food was good- better than I expected. The hotel is a little trek for the slopes, and the walk is a little arduous after a hard days skiing, but they provide a shuttle in the morning which is really handy, and it also runs in the afternoon although we didn't use it then. The only moot point was the room which was quite shabby, and had seen better days, with a miniscule bathroom, however you only really use the room to sleep and shower in so it didn't really matter that much, and for the price we weren't expecting the ritz either.

Overall a great stay!

Room Tip: Request a balcony as not all rooms have them, we did and it is a nice amenity...
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Forced to travel at half term this is a review of a £4000+ (for 2 adults 1 child) holiday that was not worth the price, if you travel at other times or get a late deal then it might be better value. We chose this place because it is in Val ....nuff said. And because it has a pool, now to call it a swimming pool is a little generous, its about 20ft by 10ft and 3 strokes about covers it, fine for kids to jump about in. There is a nice steam room but it was only on 1 night of our stay, no reason given. As others have said it is up a fairly steep hill, they transport your bags but you have to walk up. There is a minibus to take you to the slopes and back again at peak times otherwise its not too far from the free resort bus service which is very good. The airport transfers are a nightmare, they pick up and drop off en route and seem to avoid motorways so it takes longer than it might. Getting a bus at 0445 which then spends 1 hour picking up in Tignes and still gets you to the airport nearly an hour before the flight is open for check in is a rubbish end to a holiday. Even worse when we had to get our luggage downstairs by 0330 !!!
Others have mentioned a wine option, we did know about it, and did book it. I was rather bemused to find a chalet holiday which did not include wine so merrily paid my money. The "offer" wine is pretty unspeakable which ever colour you choose. They have a wine list which must be a nice little earner, 14-17euro a bottle for just OK stuff. We were told no refund on the wine offer ...."its really cheap ...and so is the wine"! The food is mixed, breakfast is alright with cooked food 6 mornings, cereal, tinned fruit salad, croissants etc but very cheap bread for toast. Dinner is more hit and miss, tartiflette was a particular low point, semi cooked potatoes imperceptible cheese and possible a lardon somewhere in the dish. I suspect a minimal amount of money is allocated for the food. Our son is a finicky eater (despite my best efforts) and twice I asked if he could have ice cream for pudding and each time was told it would take ages because it was deep frozen ....which seemed rather odd, its frozen at home and doesn't take 30 mins to serve.
I do agree with other reviewers the staff are great and are always polite and helpful and friendly particularly the driver Callum and Sophie and a couple of waiters whose names I don't remember.
We stayed in one of the new rooms G2 which was clean and roomy, although the wet room was slightly more wet than I would have liked as the shower flooded the entire bathroom. Hot water plentiful. Pillows are tiny and very flat but more arrived promptly when we asked.
The lounge is new and has a reasonable number of chairs tho not enough when the place is full. No visible games, no facilities for children to play. There is a television and most seemed to watch TV or gaze at iPads etc. With children in mind it is worth knowing the fire place is in a strange place with narrow staircases and metal bannisters immediately beside the fire. There is a notice saying the metal gets hot but it is a bizarre design and seems quite risky.....even more odd when the windows have bits of paper stuck to them so people notice they are windows and don't walk straight through the glass. The balance of hazards seems to be way more with the fire.
One particularly annoying feature is that there are not enough boot driers for the number of people they pack in, a fact they are aware of and which is attributed to the "owner", if you are going to call a place premium I do think you might sort out the basics like that.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ASTNewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Location - the chalet is situated on a hill about 10-15 minute walk into the centre of Val d'Isere (without skis and boots), The chalet provides a free mini bus in the morning and afternoon which must be booked the night before. The driver was helpful and flexible.

Note that the coach cannot reach the chalet so it is necessary to walk from the coach park to the chalet on arrival and departure. The luggage is taken in the mini bus. There is no lift to the bedrooms so luggage must be carried up several flights of stairs.

Val d'Isere has an excellent free bus service which runs regularly until late at night.

Food - the food is basic pub grub (curry, fish pie, lasagne) and head office regulates tightly how much can be spent. The catering staff do not appear to have much flexibility. The evening meal must be chosen the night before. Guests are allocated a table for all meals during the week. I do not have a sweet tooth and when i asked for an alternative (fruit or cheese) the waiter suggested I buy my own cheese and they would serve it to me. When I mentioned this to the manager he arranged for fruit salad for the rest of the week.

The chalet offers a wine deal for €20 per person for the week. Unfortunately, we were not advised of this and only found out mid week from another guest.

On Thursday morning (staff day off) breakfast was a joke. By 8.30am there was very little food left. The fruit bowl had one pear in it, there was no croissants left and no one had any butter ( I was given some butter when I asked for it). We felt abandoned!

There is one toaster for all the guests to use. Several of the elements are broken so some of the slices only toast on one side. The staff are aware of this but nothing is done to replace or repair it.

Afternoon tea consists of one type of cake and tea and coffee. The tea and coffee is removed promptly at 5.30pm. This is the first time we have been in a ski chalet/hotel where tea and coffee hasn't been available all day. A tea bag and some hot water costs pence to provided.

Hotel - this is not a 4 star hotel.
There is no TV in the room. There is a big difference between the rooms. The old rooms are tired and desperately need to be refurbished. I saw one of the new rooms and they are of a much better standard. There was a smell of sewage in the corridor outside our room.

3 sachets of shower gel were provided for the week for 2 people and when they were finished they were not replaced. We had to ask for more sachets. The bedroom we stayed in (room11) was very small and not suitable for tall people or those with children due to the pitch of the roof and the proximity of the toilet to the hot towel radiator.

Make sure you have a shower / bath before 6.30pm as the hot water runs out.

Room Tip: DON'T stay in room 11. The problems with this room were pointed out in a review in 2013. Alpine Elements have not made any changes despite the refurbishment of part of the chalet. The room is not suitable for 3 people as it has limited storage. The sloped pitch of the roof makes it unsuitable for tall people. The toilet is electric and located very close to the hot radiator, consequently I wouldn't recommend the room for small children. The room was freezing cold (unusual for a ski chalet) as there were no seals in the window. The person responsible for maintenance used cellotape to try to seal them. We placed cushions in the window to try to keep some warmth in the room and opened the door to the corridor to let warmth in. One of the beds is in an alcove with no light. We were given a lamp when we pointed this out.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank only_visiting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

One of the best hotels I've stayed at on a ski holiday. We had a large group of people in early to mid twenties. All hotel staff were very helpful and friendly throughout. We were always seated in the same area for dinner - the food was delicious and there was a choice of three for each of starter, main and dessert. There was also the option of cooked breakfast every morning. There is a comfortable seating area around the bar to relax and have some afternoon tea and cake after a hard day of skiing. The twin room 16 was great as were the others I saw. The hotel is a 10 minute walk from the slopes but there's a shuttle bus which will take you to and from the hotel. The hotel has a steam room, sauna and swimming pool all of which are great to help the muscles recover. Honestly don't have anything bad to say - thoroughly enjoyed my ski holiday and in a large part thanks to the hotel.

Room Tip: Twin room 16 was very good - no problems at all
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aamir A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our holiday and really thought we struck lucky staying at Hotel Gelinotte. We had some reservations and concerns before we arrived as we couldn’t decide if it was a hotel or a chalet. The only chalet aspect is that guests eat out for 1 night (Thursday) to give the staff a day off. We were told that the rest of the resort’s chalet staff have Wednesday off and Gelinotte have Thursday off as it’s quieter and easier to find restaurants. This proved to be the case.

Positives.

The hotel staff are excellent, a big thumbs up. Professional and courteous but chatty and amiable and took time to involve. For example, on arrival a couple of our party got chatting to a member of staff (introduced as the Assistant Manager at the welcome meeting) and unprompted he took us on a tour of the hotel explaining the facilities and procedures.

The hot breakfast option included 'real' bacon and sausages, not the French equivalent.

The pool, sauna and steam room are excellent, although the steam room wasn’t working one day. A maintenance engineer was due to visit and it was working the next day.

The separate toilet & bathroom is more convenient than combined.

Rooms 14 & 4 have great views up to the town.

The big log fire was always welcome after a hard day on the slopes.

The communal area is on several open-plan levels, with some ‘snug’ areas, which is great to either get chatting to other guests or find a quiet area to read or catch up on emails.

The boot room is spacious and includes electric boot dryers. More ski racks are needed to prevent damage to the walls.

The shuttle bus to the slopes is a great idea and the driver always said he would be around in the afternoon if we wanted to be driven back. The walk back from the main ski area is about 15 minutes in ski boots.

A table was allocated for Breakfast and Dinner for the duration of out stay, the dining area is spacious and Dinner is served from 7:30pm but not strictly at 7:30pm.

The quality of the food was good and 2 choices for each course were presented the night before. Each night we were asked if we still wanted our previously chosen meal and amendments could be made.

The Dinner wine deal is excellent and superb value.

Negatives

The bedrooms are dated, especially compared to the new extension, however the bed was comfortable and there was enough storage (a set of drawers and a wardrobe) and the shower was never cold.

There is only 1 domestic coffee pot for meal times which constantly had to be refilled and was sometimes weak. Instant sachets were available, as well as various tea bags and plentiful boiling water.

There is no facility to make tea or coffee in the bedrooms.

It would be convenient if the WIFI worked in the bedrooms but it worked well in the communal areas.

Room 5 has no view from the balcony now that the extension has been built.
Room 01 has no view and the shower pressure is variable.

The "afternoon tea" cake quality was variable but still very welcome.

We are now looking at next year’s holiday and Alpine Elements is our 1st consideration. We have been skiing for many years and compared to the big operators our stay at Gelinotte felt personalised and sincere. Well done and thank you.

Room Tip: rooms 14 & 4 have great views. The view from room 5 is blocked by the new extension. Room 01 has no view.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jonathan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews