We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem in the heart of Val D'Isere”
Review of Hotel le Kern

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel le Kern
Ranked #17 of 39 Hotels in Val d'Isere
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A hidden gem in the heart of Val D'Isere”
Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

This really is a hidden gem in the heart of Val d'isere and I couldn't recommend it highly enough.Just off the Main Street it is a short walk to the slopes ,opposite the bus stop and near to all the bars and restaurants.It is nestled amongst the 4 and 5 stars hotels in the resort and would be easy to walk past if you didn't know it was there.We were immediately impressed by the fresh flowers in reception and the warm and friendly welcome by Pascale , the manageress who is very efficient and immediately puts you at your ease. Indeed all the staff were helpful and accommodating.The breakfast was plentiful and variable with lots of fresh fruit/ breads/cold meats/cheese and cereals. There is a small pleasant bar area where you can relax enjoy a drink after skiing or before dinner. Rooms are small but clean and well appointed in traditional Savoyarde style. We had a very enjoyable stay at Le Kern- indeed we struggled to understand it only has a 2 star rating and we will definitely be back.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Lyn932
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    29
    11
    1
    0
See reviews for
32
30
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Dani was great and I love the hotel. Friendly staff and very comfortable rooms. All that and an easy walk to the lifts. I booked a single room last minute and was very happy with the rate as well. She advised upon arrival that the two smaller lifts were free after 3pm. I was able to get in a few laps that I had not expected. Local information was great.

Room Tip: Choose first floor as there's no lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Parker_Stokes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2013

Had five fabulous days at Le Kern visiting our children who are doing a ski season. Excellent position, clean, comfy room and great breakfast. Pascale could not have been kinder and suggested some excellent restaurants. Will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ursula S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 12 December 2013

We have been staying at Le Kern every year for the past 5 years at this time of year - it's a great destination for some pre-xmas skiing - this is the perfect place to stay for a ski weekend - Pascale the owner is lovely and really looks after you - it is beginning to feel like our second home in France now we have stayed so often. The hotel is situated right in the centre - really close to the pistes/bars/restaurants which is just what you want. The hotel is really cosy and the rooms nice, clean and tidy. We have stayed in other big hotels in Val D'Isere but we keep coming back to this one as it is so perfectly located and so reasonably priced. Can't wait for the next ski trip back to Val D'Isere - Thanks to all at Le Kern for a great stay - hope to see you next year (unless baby number 2 is on the way!!!)

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonDoctors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2013

We had an excellent stay at Le Kern, located right in the heart of Val d'Isere. We have stayed here before, and LOVE the breakfast - it is fantastic. The hotel manager Pascale is excellent - she is very nice, knows the best places to eat, and is always a pleasure to see and chat to after a day on the slopes. Can't fault this place. Don't miss it.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jonnyvorce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We stayed over Easter, the hotel is centrally located with easy access to the slopes, staff were excellent, two minor gripes: the radiator in our room was not up to it so a plug in electric one was supplied, the breakfast was the same each morning and could have done with some variation - apart from this we would go back and would encourage you to stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colin-Taunton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, New Jersey
Level Contributor
56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013 via mobile

We are stayed in the hotel for 5 days. It is exactly what we expected based on the very good reviews here.
Room- number 8, small, as expected but exactly what we need. Very clean, nice bathroom, comfortable bed.
Breakfast was very good.
Pascale and Dany were there all the time and made us feel at home.

If you look for or need luxury, don't go there!

I would defiantly go back.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhashmo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Val d'Isere hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel L'Aigle des Neiges
Hotel L'Aigle des Neiges
#1 of 39 in Val d'Isere
424 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Altitude
Hotel Altitude
#3 of 39 in Val d'Isere
204 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Restaurant La Toviere
Hotel Restaurant La Toviere
#7 of 39 in Val d'Isere
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Tsanteleina Hotel
Tsanteleina Hotel
#2 of 39 in Val d'Isere
219 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Yule
Le Yule
#11 of 39 in Val d'Isere
118 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Kandahar
Hotel Kandahar
#19 of 39 in Val d'Isere
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel le Kern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel le Kern

Property: Hotel le Kern
Address: Place Frederic Petri, 73150 Val d'Isere, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Val d'Isere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Val d'Isere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel le Kern 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small and charming hotel 2 stars: best location in the center of Val d'Isere , 2 minutes from the slopes, breakfast buffet include in the price of the room, cozy sitting room and bar after ski. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel le Kern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Le Kern France/Savoie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing