We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bring Your Own Toilet Rolls...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Pierre & Vacances Residence Les Chalets de Solaise
Ranked #21 of 39 Hotels in Val d'Isere
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Bring Your Own Toilet Rolls...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2012

This place has definitely seen better days. It has a reasonably good location (except if you're dragging skis) but not much else positive to say. The pool that is prominant in the photos on the P&V website was shut and covered during the entire stay, the bed was a pull down from the wall that we had to make ourselves, and the kicker was the 2 sheets left on a toilet roll and being told we had to buy any extras ourselves. Given the supermarkets (which are very good and close by) sell in minimum of 4 I think the C de S is doing a roaring trade on the resale of toilet rolls! Val D'Isere itself is a great place to visit / ski.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    66
    25
    15
    7
See reviews for
87
30
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
near London
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2011

Basic apartment but good value as Val D'Isere is quite expensive. Has everything you need for self cateriing including dishwasher, fridge, hob and microwave but no oven. Decent sized bathroom with shower. Studio has 1 double bed and 2 singles plus table and 4 chairs. There is also a heated outdoor swimming pool which is fun to use in the evening when it's dark outside. Fairly central to shops and restaurants and reasonably close to ski lifts (about 10 mins walk). Staff are friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank trebor22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2011

I went to Val D'isere with a group of friends... We had an excellent time, what a place! Unfortunately Pierre & Vacances Residence Les Chalets de Solaise is not what we were expecting from our travel company review and pictures. The rooms are small and very worn. The staff were very unhelpful and not in the slightest bit friendly. The lockers in the ski room are too small to fit all the snowboards and skis for each room.

The outdoor heated pool is pretty cool and its nice and hot, but you have to be there around 5pm when they pull the cover off, its getting cold by 6pm.

I've been to many resorts around Europe but, this is easily the worst accomadation I have stayed in any Ski resort.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Swirish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2010

I stayed last season and the apartments are small and very very worn down. A big bonus is the central location and if you are looking for a central base and not to spend anytime here, then it will probably do, although it is very expensive for what it is.

The fact all the 'good' reviews below were written on the same date by people in the same location and all signed up on the same day? They seem suspicious to me.

Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank nic_cory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pv_customer_liaison, Guest Relations Manager at Pierre & Vacances Residence Les Chalets de Solaise, responded to this review, 15 March 2011
Many thanks for you response following your stay with us. We are pleased you enjoyed from the central location. Please rest assured that all of our Trip Advisor reviews are impartial and independent. It is regrettable that you were disappointed with the furnishings in your apartment. We have been updating sections of this resort and unfortunately some rooms are in better conditions than others. In the instance that a guest is not happy with the apartment they are allocated, we do ask that this is communicated to our reception team who will endeavour to resolve any issues. Alongside this, we accept that our rooms can be on the small side for any groups traveling together. We advise therefore that any groups visiting our resort check our website before hand for specific room measurements. We also advise that groups opt for a bigger berth room to ensure they have enough space to move around comfortably. Many thanks again for posting your review, please note it has been logged and has been passed onto the Management of the Residence for further review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2010

We stayed at the residence in April 2010 and were really impressed with the accommodation. 4 of us were very comfortable in a mezzanine apartment and thought that it was fully equipped with everything we needed. We didn't spend hours in the apartment but there were enough chairs for all of us. I wouldn't have wanted to have anymore people staying in their though. The underground on site car park was really handy and made unpacking less of a chore than we imagined after the drive from the UK. The staff could not have been more helpful and the pool and sauna were a great bonus. The residence is close to the centre of town so getting food from the supermarket or going out for a drink was not a problem. Supermarkets however aren't cheap in Val d'Isere so stopping before the resort is recommended. We did not find the walk to the bus stop or the slopes a hassle but with small children and lots of kit I would leave more time in the morning. All in all we had a good holiday and would return without hesitation.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crookle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2010

The place is very worn and shows signs of significant decay. The indoor climate is the worst we have ever experienced in the French ski apartments. The apartment is very worn, furniture that bears the hallmark of many years of use, and a carpet that looked alive!

The gym was something old - 8 m2 of space, 3 old machines, room temperature 7 degrees - not acceptable.

P & V takes an overcharge of at least 30%

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pv_customer_liaison, Guest Relations Manager at Pierre & Vacances Residence Les Chalets de Solaise, responded to this review, 2 December 2010
We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with the furnishings and general upkeep of the room you received whilst staying with us. I can confirm that the residence is now scheduled for a full refurbishment and we hope to sort this situation immediately, this includes the gym facilities. As you did not post any booking details we cannot investigate you allegations that we overcharge and if you would like to contact our customer services department we would be keen to discuss this with you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Notts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2010

Went to PV chalets earlier this month with friends. Hotel has all that is needed as base for a great holiday. Staff very friendly and accommodation comfortable. Although refurb would benefit the hotel this did not detract from the experience.
Hotel is in quieter area, set back from main road, but within easy walking distance of bars and restaurants.
Recommend Blizzard Hotel for relaxing drinks and great welcome (make sure you have plenty of Euros...)
Easy access to all skiing areas from hotel.
I will stay at PV again.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaveM26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Val d'Isere hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Ormelune
Hotel Ormelune
#10 of 39 in Val d'Isere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alpina Lodge - Val d'Isere
Alpina Lodge - Val d'Isere
#32 of 39 in Val d'Isere
3.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel le Kern
Hotel le Kern
#17 of 39 in Val d'Isere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel L'Aigle des Neiges
Hotel L'Aigle des Neiges
#2 of 39 in Val d'Isere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Altitude
Hotel Altitude
#3 of 39 in Val d'Isere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tsanteleina Hotel
Tsanteleina Hotel
#1 of 39 in Val d'Isere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pierre & Vacances Residence Les Chalets de Solaise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pierre & Vacances Residence Les Chalets de Solaise

Property: Pierre & Vacances Residence Les Chalets de Solaise
Address: quartier L Illaz, 73150 Val d'Isere, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Val d'Isere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Val d'Isere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Resort at the heart of the Espace Killy Residence located at the heart of the resort. Comfortable ski apartments with access to the outdoor heated swimming pool and wellness area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pierre & Vacances Residence Les Chalets de Solaise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pierre And Vacances Residence Les Chalets De Solaise
Pierre & Vacances Residence Les Chalets De Solaise Hotel
Pierre & Vacances Residence Les Chalets De Solaise France/Savoie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing