We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Lau
Marbella, Spain

Look no further this place has it all.

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 29 Feb 2024
So you are not sure which mountain to go to, which hotel, which part pf the Alps, well look no further this place hit all are requirements and then some! Where do I begin? The mountain is THE BEST all around mountain to go to in the Alps, and this hotel is 100% the place to be. It is cosy, it is perfectly situated and the service is beyond expectations, not a detail that is not thought of. The rooms have spectacular views, the breakfast was a 10! You can tell that they place a lot of importance on presentation and atmosphere. There is a spa that is much needed after a day on the slopes and you won’t want to leave the hotel after that. We had dinner at the rotisserie and omg was it to die for. Amazing wine list too! After we used the bowling alley and played pool while enjoying spectacular cocktails from their bar. I would recommend this place to anyone looking for a great ski holiday in the best moutain in the Alps. Thank you Barmes for making our stay so memorable. Oh and shout out to the ski room staff for the great recommendations and to the young concierge team who made our stay extra special. Ps. This is a Relais & Châteaux property and once agian they don’t dissapoint. Def in the top 10 Relais Château properties i’ve stayed in.
Date of stay: February 2024
Room Tip: You can buy lift tickets at hotel. Ski in ski out. If you end up wrong part of the mountain last...
Trip type: Travelled with friends
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Valérie Boulenger, Directeur général at Hôtel Les Barmes de l'Ours, responded to this review
Responded 11 Mar 2024
Dear Lau_a_gi,
The entire team at Les Barmes de l’Ours would like to express our heartfelt gratitude for your detailed and complimentary comment about our hotel. We are delighted to learn that the quality of service provided by each team member and the ambiance and decor of our establishment met your expectations. It was a genuine pleasure to host you and contribute to making your stay truly memorable. We sincerely hope you will consider returning, and please rest assured that your kind words have been shared with all departments.
Best regards,
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £137
  • Booking.com
0.2 miles from Hôtel Les Barmes de l'Ours
Free Wifi
Pool
Tsanteleina et Face de Bellevarde
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.3 miles from Hôtel Les Barmes de l'Ours
Free Wifi
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £302
  • Booking.com
0.6 miles from Hôtel Les Barmes de l'Ours
Free Wifi
Restaurant
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
  • Vio.com
1.0 miles from Hôtel Les Barmes de l'Ours
Free Wifi
Pool
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £116
  • Hotels.com
0.3 miles from Hôtel Les Barmes de l'Ours
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £129
  • Booking.com
0.2 miles from Hôtel Les Barmes de l'Ours
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £115
  • Hotels.com
1.1 miles from Hôtel Les Barmes de l'Ours
Free Wifi
Restaurant
£125
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
1.7 miles from Hôtel Les Barmes de l'Ours
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £317
  • Hotels.com
1.3 miles from Hôtel Les Barmes de l'Ours
Free Wifi
Pool
View more hotels in Val d'Isère
Reviews (199)
Filter reviews
199 results
Traveller rating
138
34
14
7
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
138
34
14
7
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews michelin star rotisserie restaurant la table pro shop dessert buffet french alps half board shuttle spa ski val equipment bellevarde wine piste gondola
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 199 reviews
Reviewed 15 January 2024

A wonderful Relais and Chateau property in Val d'Isere, nearly ski-in/ski-out. Nicely appointed and comfortable rooms, clean and well maintained. Loved the Sisley toiletries. Super helpful front desk and concierge (shout out to Manon and Antoine). Excellent breakfast buffet in the mornings and dinner at the Michelin starred La Table de l'Ours is not to be missed. Very good gym, fabulous indoor pool, hammam, sauna and jacuzzi. Sisley spa is excellent and Solene the spa manager is great. Nightly entertainment in the bar area, great playroom for the young kids and teenagers (as well as the young at heart; the pool table and the foosball were lots of fun). The ski pro shop had excellent service and very good ski rental equipment. The hotel shuttle takes you and picks you up anywhere you want to go in town. Our family had a wonderful time at this hotel!

Date of stay: December 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Aluor
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Valérie Boulenger, Directeur général at Hotel Les Barmes de l'Ours, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2024


Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience at Les Barmes de l’Ours! It was a real pleasure for us to welcome you.

We’re delighted to hear that you enjoyed the confortable rooms, quality of service of Manon, Antoine and Solenne, and the Michelin starred-dining at La Table de l’Ours. It’s fantastic that our leisure facilities, entertainment options, and shuttle services added to your family’s enjoyment.

Please know that your kind words have been shared with the different services : it’s always a gratification to know that we have met our clients’ expectations.

Hoping to welcome you again for another stay!

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2023 via mobile

High-level service, stable team years after years, worthy of a palace.
Excellent cocktails and food. I recommend to go for half board as the food is quite expensive like everywhere in the French Alps.

Special mention :
-housekeeping, the best ever experienced, perfect.
-incredible restaurant, matured meats (56€…), dessert buffet, service
-the shuttle (taxi) on demand that brings you anywhere for free. Ultra-efficient service.

The lessers :
- location a bit out of the way but some likes
- rooms a bit dated, at least on my floor (1st I think)

Room tip: Ask for a room above 2nd floor for view on the slopes
Date of stay: December 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Lester B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 January 2023 via mobile

I have recently stayed at Les Barmes de l’Ours this past week for 7 nights. Overall it is a fantastic property. The staff were all very friendly and accommodating. Great location very near the Bellevarde gondola and pistes. They were willing to drive you anywhere in town and pick you up as they did for me one night when I had dinner in Le Fornet. I ate in the Rotisserie restaurant one night and it was fantastic. Great food, wine, and service. Highly recommended. La Table de l’Ours was the biggest surprise. Beautiful dining room, incredible service , and literally every dish was simply incredible. They really deserve a second Michelin star. It was superior in every way to Atelier d’Edmond (2 stars) in Le Fornet. Common areas of the hotel are beautiful and what you would expect from a 5 star property. My biggest issue/complaint is the room. Even though it was the least expensive category the price was still 750 euros per night. It was extremely outdated and poorly decorated for a Relais & Chateaux property. Old mauve carpet and bland old furniture with nothing to suggest an Alpine decor is just not acceptable at this level. It was clean but I’ve stayed in many other much less expensive hotels in the Alps with rooms far nicer and better decorated. In spite of all the positives of the hotel I don’t think I can wholeheartedly recommend this property unless the room reflects the quality expected and the price charged, especially for a 7 night stay. FYI it was room 121.

Date of stay: January 2023
Trip type: Travelled solo
1  Thank Mikeyr88
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 March 2022 via mobile

The location is superb, the service is excellent and the rooms are all you expect. Stayed in a room at level 1 and we had a nice patio with a sitting area. The spa was nice as well and the concept where the Pro shop stores your equipment is really good.

Date of stay: March 2022
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank headebb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 February 2022 via mobile

This is a sumptuous hotel in the centre of Val d’Isere, near the ski lifts although you don’t have to walk anywhere as they are only too ready to drive you wherever you want to go.
We had a suite and a superior room and these provided great space. The beds were super comfortable and the sheets and pillows great.
I was surprised that you had to pay extra at breakfast for eggs other than scrambled eggs…having said that, the breakfast was varied and delicious.
The Wellness was very welcome at the end of an active day skiing, but I was disappointed that the yoga instructor was on holiday and there was no replacement as this was something I was looking forward to.
My biggest disappointment was the poor service afforded me as a vegetarian….the food here is superb if you eat fish and meat but very limited for me, and I did not feel that they were particularly interested in making sure that my food suited my needs.
They also charge significant amounts for bottled water even when you have asked for tap water!
The staff at reception were very professional and helpful.

Date of stay: February 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank 866suziea
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews