We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but breakfast to be improved”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Clos Syrah
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Valence
Italy
Level Contributor
83 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Good but breakfast to be improved”
Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

One night stay for business reasons.
Very good location close to highway but in a secluded place with many rooms overlooking the internal garden with pool.
Very warm and efficient welcome, in general serice is really kind and supportive at reception and restaurant.
Nice, clean room with everything in good shape.
Only drawback, breakfast selection has to be improved to be in line with the rest of the services provided.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Mariastuarda-Burson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    127
    47
    15
    11
See reviews for
35
149
15
73
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Neuchatel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

Spent a night here with my wife and enjoyed the personal service. Rooms are of good quality with beautiful (completely new) bathrooms. Very convenient to the highway - easy "off and on" when traveling. The breakfast is OK but could be a bit more generous... The owner of the hotel took a particular interest to ensure that everything was perfect - always a nice touch.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing "in" towards the pool - it will have less road noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neuchatel_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester
Level Contributor
93 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2012

We were in a ground floor room with terrace overlooking the pleasant garden and pool. There is plenty of offroad secure parking. It is very near the autoroute so if the door is open you can hear the traffic in the distance. The bed was comfortable and bathroom fine. However what made this a worthwhile stay was the excellent food at very reasonable prices. The most expensive menu was the gourmet menu for 32 euros. The fillet steak was perfectly cooked with a fresh pepper sauce around it rather than smothering it. I had beautifully griddled scallops. The breakfast was a buffet breakfast and included boiled eggs and lovely pastries. The only downside was the coffee at breakfast which you helped yourself to from a machine-it was not worth drinking! The coffee at dinner was clearly made elsewhere and was delicious. The staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BillieWinchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2012

We stayed at Clos Syrah on our way back from the Cote D'Azur just for an overnight stop. I had my reservations as I don't like mid to low level chain hotels, and normally I'd rather avoid them like measles, however I read some really good reviews and decided to trust Trip, its never let me down yet! Oh thank God I did! We had spent 5 days in Antibes in a self catering house in the old town, and what I can only describe as a camping experience with a roof and brick walls. To say the place was basic and not very clean was an understatement. So when we arrived at Clos, to a clean, large room with our own terrace overlooking a garden, clean white cotton bedding and towels, I was so relieved. After my Antibes experience it was pure luxury. We arrived late, but the duty manager (I'm guessing as he was so good) arranged to have two plates of food done for us despite the kitchen being closed, a gorgeous platter with all sorts of tasty morsals on it with lovely bread, and some wine, that we relished. It really was lovely. I learnt the next day from the charming young man on reception that they called it an 'English platter'. How lovely! The customer service was excellent. We had the best nights sleep. Breakfast was lovely the next morning, which comprised of a buffet, one of the nicest breakfasts we have had since we have been in France, and we have paid extortionate amounts for a pathetic continental in many places. The hotel has free wifi so I was able to catch up with business emails prior to our departure for the next leg of our journey back to Calais. My one criticism was of the shower, which I had to hold by hand to wash my hair and shower with, as the wall bracket didn't accommodate the attachment well, sprouting water everywhere but at me. But to be honest everything else was so good that that was a small issue. The room was spotless too, I have seen other reviews that state otherwise just before I began this review of my stay, but I cannot fault the cleanliness.

We were travelling with my elderly mum, and my pooch. My mum was so relieved to stay somewhere nice after the Anitbes experience, and the hotel was very accommodating with Henry who was allowed in the restaurant both in the evening and for breakfast, and we were not charged for him either, another rare experience, as most places add on another charge for the privilege.

I'm giving this an excellent rating based on the customer service. The rooms are not glamorous 5* luxury, they are executive and comfortable and provide a nice stopover, but the hotel was managed brilliantly and the the staff were outstanding. If the owner of this establishment reads this I would just like to say that you're team are excellent and do you proud.

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank woodpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2012

The room are good size and recently renovated. The television is good and has lots of channels. The air conditioning works well. The breakfast consists of a huge and satisfying buffet. The big disadvantage of the hotel is the lack of cleanliness: The toilet was dirty, there were plenty of hairs in the shower. It is so disgusting that you don’t want to take a shower. My advice: I you look for a clean hotel, stay away.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank travellerparis11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yves r, General Manager at Best Western Clos Syrah, responded to this review, 13 August 2012
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

I thank you for taking the time to share the experience you have had at Best Western Clos Syrah during your last stay.

We pride ourselves in offering a high level of service. I am very disappointed that we were not able to meet your expectations during your stay.

I appreciate your sharing your concerns and it is my hope you will give the opportunity to better serve you in the near future and to offer you our undivided attention.

I am looking forward to welcoming you again at Best Western Clos Syrah.

With my best regards,

Yves Ruspeler,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2012

Visited this hotel in July 2012 for business trip
The room i stayed in was clean, and the hotel has a nice Resturant with reasonable food.

There is no bar fridge in the room , and the location is not really accessible to a supermarket nearby.

The staff are friendly and they speak English for foreigners.

The plus point is the hotel is not far from the city and TGV train station, provided if u drive

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andreuk3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2012

We stayed here on our way back from a weekend in Cannes and Monaco and it offered everything we wanted and more.
The hotel was ideally located; just far enough out of the centre without been too far out. The rooms were nicely decorated and clean. The bathroom was a little dated but as it was clean and functional it was not a problem.
The staff were polite, efficient and very helpful. We ate in the restaurant and the quality of the food was amazing.
There is also a great outdoor pool.
A great place to stay with really nice staff

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Valence hotels
1.7 mi away
Novotel Valence Sud
Novotel Valence Sud
#6 of 20 in Valence
805 reviews
1.5 mi away
Mercure Valence Sud
Mercure Valence Sud
#9 of 20 in Valence
81 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ace Hotel
Ace Hotel
#1 of 20 in Valence
440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Atrium Hotel
Atrium Hotel
#4 of 20 in Valence
234 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#2 of 20 in Valence
337 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ibis Valence Sud
Ibis Valence Sud
#7 of 20 in Valence
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Clos Syrah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Clos Syrah

Property: Best Western Clos Syrah
Address: Boulevard Pierre Tezier, 26000 Valence, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Drome > Valence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Valence
#4 Romantic Hotel in Valence
#4 Family Hotel in Valence
#5 Luxury Hotel in Valence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Clos Syrah 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the site of Clos Syrah, hotel, restaurant and seminar venue in Valence.In Valence, between Drôme and Provence, in the heart of the Côtes du Rhône vineyards, Clos Syrah welcomes you into a remarkable environment close to Drôme and Provence's tourist sites. We invite you to explore Clos Syrah hotel, La Syrah gastronomic restaurant and our seminar packages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Best Western FR, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Clos Syrah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Valence
Valence Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing