We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect if travelling by car”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Altenberg Hotel-Restaurant
Ranked #25 of 50 Hotels in Baden-Baden
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 April 2014

While planning my trip by car to explore this part of Germany I was in doubt if I should stay dowtown Baden Baden or in the countryside. I took a chance at Altenberg (good price and not far from the city) and was utterly surprised. Baden Baden did not meet my expectations, but this hotel did. It´s a simple hotel, in a quite small village, with not much around. Just nice German countryside, with vines and beautiful houses. But then, the staff was so friendly that made us feel at home. Clean and ample room, with wireless. Simple and cozy restaurant, with good (and plenty of) German food. Perfect for couples who want a nice and quite dinner after exploring around during the day. I found out there are MANY charming villages nearby, which were if more interesting than Baden Baden itself (try Sasbach, for instance). If you´re travelling by car, this could be perfect as a basis for exploring the region, including neighboring Strasbourg, in France. There are many interesting places in this part of Germany (btw, for spa, try Badenweiler, 150m south of Baden Baden, which I found even more interesting). Driving to Baden Baden is a mere 10min away and you can park downtown (for example, public parking under Augustaplatz) to visit the city. Of course, if you´re looking for nightlife, bars, etc, you should stay in town, not at Altenberg. The difference, I think is that Baden Baden has a ´art nouveau´ style, not too German. On the other hand, in Altenberg I really felt like in the German countryside. So, if you´re looking for a relaxing stay in the countryside, it´s perfect. If you´re coming by bus, train, etc, well, stay downtown.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank maa34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (87)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 87 reviews

Reviewed 14 March 2014

stayed here for 2 nights and had an absolute great time, the rooms are large and very modern. The bathrooms very modern and an awesome towel warmer. Be sure to come back for dinner. The spaetzle and with venison is my absolute favorite.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Internationalgotoguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

We stayed here june 2013 on our way home whist on a biking tour of Europe, plenty of safe parking for bikes. We rode up the B500 on our way to this hotel in the pouring rain and when we went to the reception the owner quickly showed us to our beautiful room and brought up two baskets and asked us to put our wet bike gear into, he then took it all away and hung it up in his drying room so we would have nice dry kit for the next day. The waitress at dinner was very nice and spoke excellent English and was very knowledgeable on all the food and drink on the menu. The wine is something else as was the Hatz beer. Food was very good indeed and all reasonably priced. There is not much to do around this hotel but im sure there are plenty of nice walks close by, but for an overnighter is ticked all the boxes. Next morning breakfast was the usual European affair but was very tasty and eat as much as you like/can, and all fresh. When we went back to our room to get a shower and prepare for the next leg of our tour we noticed that outside our room was all our motorcycle gear completely dry, thankyou. As others have said it is very peaceful which is exactly what me and my wife wanted, i would definitely stay here again and would recommend it to anyone. The only small gripe, not mine my wifes, was that you are only given one code for the wi-fi so you can use only one device and it took a bit of explaining that we needed 2

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ilovemytiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

We stayed here in sept last year. The accommodation was lovely, clean and spacious. Good short walks around the neighbourhood. Lovely wine next door. Good choices for breakfast. We had our evening meal there too. Very helpful lady to explain the menu.
We are staying there again this year for a couple of nights. If you have your own transport it is a good location to use as a base to discover the area. The owners are very helpful too.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elorac2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Our stay here was relaxing and enjoyable. The rooms are very clean and spacious, the breakfast buffet is outstanding and the view is beautiful. While the hotel is not within walking distance of the heart of Baden-Baden, you can reach the city via an easy bus ride or short drive. The peace and quiet was very nice and the owners were very hospitable. Dinner at the restaurant was great, traditional German fare. Try the spaetzle, it's yummy!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KELLIE G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights during our motorbike touring holiday. The hotel owners were very helpful and couldn't do enough to make us feel welcome. The rooms were clean and a good size. We had a meal in the restaurant on one evening and it was tasty, fresh and plentiful. The bus stop into Baden-Baden was right outside the hotel and was a pleasant journey. I would recommend this hotel if you are staying in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Saraw01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We booked for one night at short notice. Arrived later than planned but this was not a problem. Staff were friendly and helpful, room very clean and well-presented as is the hotel generally. Breakfast offered a wide choice, and our evening meal was excellent - check the nights when the restaurant is closed. Pleasant setting in a small village in a wine-growing area, 10 mins from Baden-Baden by car. Would stay there again

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Baden-Baden hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Rebenhof
Hotel Rebenhof
#1 of 1 in Neuweier
247 reviews
3.9 mi away
Allee Hotel Leidinger
Allee Hotel Leidinger
#32 of 50 in Baden-Baden
23 reviews
4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Baden-Baden
Holiday Inn Express Baden-Baden
#11 of 50 in Baden-Baden
580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Hotel Deutscher Kaiser
Hotel Deutscher Kaiser
#27 of 50 in Baden-Baden
53 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Gasthaus Hirsch
Hotel Gasthaus Hirsch
#43 of 50 in Baden-Baden
26 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hote Loehr
Hote Loehr
#39 of 50 in Baden-Baden
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Altenberg Hotel-Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Altenberg Hotel-Restaurant

Address: Schartenbergstrasse 6, 76534, Baden-Baden, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Region: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Baden-Baden
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 50 Hotels in Baden-Baden
Price Range: £68 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Altenberg Hotel-Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Altenberg Hotel-Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing