We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Charming Little Prince”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Der Kleine Prinz
Ranked #15 of 50 Hotels in Baden-Baden
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 June 2010

This is a delightful boutique hotel. Well situated, friendly staff, free internet access in the lounge; buffet breakfast and afternoon tea included in the price. We have stayed here many times and look forward to returning.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keepongoing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DKP-BB, Manager at Hotel Der Kleine Prinz, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2011

Thank you very much for your positive review and your recommendation. We are pleased to hear, that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and we are looking forward to welcome you again in Baden-Baden!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (235)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

93 - 99 of 235 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2010

I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights recently and must say the experience was amazing. To begin with Baden Baden is a lovely little spa town with abundant greenery and pedestrian streets leading to lovely shops, wonderful restaurants and most importantly, the fantastic thermal spas. My stay in the town was doubly pleasurable because I picked this hotel.
On reaching Augustaplatz or Leopoldsplatz from the train station by bus, the hotel is an easy 5 minute walk away. It has parking facility that I did not need to use.
I was greeted very warmly and promptly taken to a beautiful room on the 2nd floor. When I expressed disappointment that the bathroom had only a shower and not a bath, I was promptly taken to another room. It was delightful to see the staff so eager to satisfy their client’s every fancy.
The room itself was spacious and uniquely designed, given the theme of the hotel (Exupery’s The Little Prince). It had a nice, big and comfortable bed, lounge area, mini bar, spacious ornate cupboard with safe and well designed bathroom. An umbrella was provided for use during the stay.
Breakfast was lavish and served in the very appealing restaurant. Paper bags were also set out, encouraging guests to pack lunch for a day trip. I tried a very delicious cake during high tea on the day I checked in. Not being hungry, only eyed the rest of the fare. Pity, I wasn’t in the next day to partake some of the treats. The dinner I had one night at the restaurant was by far one of the best (and also expensive…but totally worth it!) meals I had during my 2 week holiday in Europe. A starter of roasted sweet potato was extended complimentary from the chef. Returning after a blissful couple of hours spent at the spa, with an eager appetite, the hot soup served with rolls was very welcome. And the warm asparagus in brown butter was absolutely delicious.
There is a little library where one can access the internet on a PC.
I loved the charming paintings and little pieces of art and craft all over the hotel. My only regret is that I couldn’t stay longer. Can’t wait to go back someday…..

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SonaG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DKP-BB, Manager at Hotel Der Kleine Prinz, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2011

Thank you very much for your approval as well as your positive review. We are pleased to hear, that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and we would be glad to welcome you again in Baden-Baden!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2009

From the time of checkin the team of staff made us feel very welcome and attended to our every need with the most professional and courteous efficiency one rarely sees these days.

Every member of staff we encountered maintained this outstanding level of customer care and we felt the need to mention this personally to the hotel owners.

My partner and our travel the world on business staying in some of the finest hotels in the world and we have to say that we would rank you amongst the top three best experiences we have ever had in over 25 years in traveling both in business and pleasure.

We will always mention the Kleine Prinz to our friends and business associates should they be looking for accommodation in the Baden area.

Bespoke individual rooms all tastefully decorated. Great bathroom with huge corner bath and power shower. Lounge area in the room.

Exceptional lavish breakfast with freshly prepared fruit, champagne and excellent coffee. Gourmet dinner - which was a wonderful experience. Almost forgot to mention the afternoon high tea - with a selection of cakes, gateaux and coffees which is included in the room rate.

Great location and a real treasure of a find. Baden-Baden has many great hotels but we feel the Kleine Prinz is a real gem - one not to be missed.

Baden is a great place to visit but our stay was made exceptional by the quality of standards at the hotel and of course the staff.

We will be going back next year!

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank strawberrymaggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2008

I've been to this hotel many times and I love it. The rooms are beautiful, really confortable and adorable, and so is the restaurant. The service is excellent. It was a joy to stay there.

Stayed: September 2008
Thank vanevane9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2008

Stayed in Baden Baden for 2 nights at the Little Prince - It is a very nice hotel. The staff could not be more helpful or friendly. The rooms are cosy - Well presented but not modern - they have actually sourced all of their furniture to "theme" the rooms and they are defintely comfortable. The bed we had was also very comfortable.
Free Wifi is available in the lobby as is a PC for the internet if you are not taking a laptop.
Breakfast was very nice - freshly made eggs however you like them, and again the service is brilliant.
The hotel is only a 5 minute walk from anything you could want to go to and is excellent value for money.
You will need to get a cab from the trainstation to this hotel but I am sure no one would see that as a huge problem.
The only issue we had was that it was a little pricey compared to other hotels we stayed at in France, but the location and service were exceptional.

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank fussytraveller3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2008

When we booked this hotel was rated as the #2 hotel in Baden-Baden. For us it failed to live up to this rating or the notion of "romantic". On arrival in the tiny , dark lobby the staff explained that the hotel was limited about how much it could be updated due to its position in a conservation area. An apology on arrival is always a bit disconcerting ! On the plus side we were offered a choice of rooms but they had tired and sometimes, downright oppressive furnishings. In the room we finally chose, some glass fittings were broken and other ythings looked well-worn. The bathrooms were also barely adequate for the status and cost of the hotel. Equally, the restaurant food was well prepared and presented but again, in an old-fashioned and uninteresting sort of way. Most other guests seemed 70 +. One positive point on the old-fashioned theme was the old-fashioned courtesy and friendliness of most of the staff. The Little Prince theme adds little to the overall ambience and seems more of an owner's "folly ". I did not go expecting to write a negative review so I am doubly disappointed.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Karuthers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2007

We just returned from a week-long trip to Germany. Included a side trip to the thermal spa town of Baden-Baden.

Traveling with 4 kids in tow is always a challenge. As the demographics of Baden-Baden skews up, we were concerned with finding a family friendly but nice place to stay for 2 nights. We found a wonderful, family-owned hotel in town called Der Kleine Prince [--] . Each room is decorated with hand -selected antiques, as is the decor. Just a short walk from the ancient roman baths, the hotel owners have attended to each detail.

The baths are therapeutic but we just enjoyed relaxing in the many pools of varying temperatures - as well as the soap massage. The Friedrichs-Bad, the ancient bath house, is only for adults - and is only in the buff. Parts are single sex, with a coed section in the middle (with the most beautiful details). For kids (age 7 and older) and those in need of bathing suits, the contemporary bathhouse, Caracalla, is also wonderful (with an outdoor section too).

Most importantly, Der Kleine Prince Hotel welcomed our 4 young kids without hesitation. The kids especially loved the lavish breakfasts and afternoon tea which are included. We chose the penthouse suite, with 2 bedrooms, kitchenette, and 2 full baths (complete with jacuzzi in one, and claw-foot tub in another). The roof top views and timbered ceilings offered lots of charm. And we had plenty of room to spread out!

Really lovely.

4  Thank AmericanInHeidelberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Baden-Baden hotels
0.3 mi away
Dorint Maison Messmer
Dorint Maison Messmer
#3 of 50 in Baden-Baden
633 reviews
0.4 mi away
Leonardo Royal Hotel Baden-Baden
0.1 mi away
Brenners Park-Hotel & Spa
Brenners Park-Hotel & Spa
#1 of 50 in Baden-Baden
661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Belle Epoque
Hotel Belle Epoque
#10 of 50 in Baden-Baden
229 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel am Sophienpark
Hotel am Sophienpark
#4 of 50 in Baden-Baden
310 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aqua Aurelia Suitenhotel
Aqua Aurelia Suitenhotel
#12 of 50 in Baden-Baden
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Der Kleine Prinz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Der Kleine Prinz

Address: Lichtentaler Strasse 36, 76530, Baden-Baden, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Region: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Baden-Baden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Baden-Baden
#10 Romantic Hotel in Baden-Baden
#12 Luxury Hotel in Baden-Baden
Price Range: £151 - £292 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Der Kleine Prinz 4.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Der Kleine Prinz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Der Kleine Prinz Baden
Der Kleine Prinz Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing