We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Belle Epoque

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Belle Epoque
Ranked #8 of 50 Hotels in Baden-Baden
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lovely”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014 via mobile

This is the 2nd time I have stayed here sadly on business not pleasure. It's a lovely hotel in a great location. The rooms are very traditional and so cute. The staff are lovely and the service is first class. It's a lovely hotel and for me a very welcome relief to a dull corporate hotel

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fran_juk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BelleBad, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Belle Epoque, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Thank you very much for your review. We are pleased to hear, that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and we would be glad to welcome you again in Baden-Baden!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    132
    51
    7
    3
    5
See reviews for
26
109
10
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

I loved this hotel!
If you appreciate a fabulous room, excellent service and a place that feels likes home, this is the perfect spot in Baden Baden. It was restored by a husband and wife that worked in hotels all over the world. They certainly knew what they were doing. They also restored The Little Prince Hotel, just around the corner.

The staff is always there when you need them, but disappear when you don't. Loved them!

A beautiful breakfast is served every morning. My favorite was high tea from 2-4pm. HEAVEN!

You will love this hotel. I couldn't recommend it more highly!

Room Tip: Stay in the main house. I had room 121. Great for a couple. Don't miss the 2 spas in town. Both...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CreativeMediaChic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BelleBad, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Belle Epoque, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Thank you very much for your positive review and your recommendation. We are pleased to hear, that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and we would be glad to welcome you again in Baden-Baden!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
115 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2013

I love Baden-Baden, for its fin-de-siecle charm. I feel as if time stoped there. In this hotel the feeling of being transfered to the other epoque is maintained. It is charming, old-fashioned, chick, isolated from the street, with a beautiful gardens - you can see them from the breakfeast room.
The hotel is small - but I'd say it is a perfect size, you will not feel isolated, yet there is no crowd.
In the afternoon they serve a coffee and tea and selection of wines, and snacks. I used to sit by the fireplace, enjoying these moments. The hotel is close to city center - 10 mnutes walk to Caracala, 10 minutes to Casino, 5 minutes to shops.
I had the modern - yet very stylish - room in the additional wing, and it was perfect for me.
Service is excellent, they are willing to help with anything, very polite.
Definitely planning to stay there again.

Room Tip: The rooms in a main building are in old-fashion style. The rooms in the wing are modern. So you coul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MagdaCK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BelleBad, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Belle Epoque, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Thank you very much for your positive review and your recommendation. We are pleased to hear, that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and we would be glad to welcome you again in Baden-Baden!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
61 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

Stayed one night, at the bottom of the hotel's we stayed at on our trip. Good points are size, quiet neighborhood location, nice staff, excellent breakfast, five minute walk to downtown. Bad points are the rooms, or maybe the room we stayed in, titled the Marie Antoinette room. Never seen two bathrooms in a room before, one with toilet and small sink on one side and a tub and shower on the other. Frankly, when i get up in the dark, i don't want to figure out if i'm going right or left. The room was of decent size, but awful decor with a picture of Marie Antoinette over the bed, which was comical. Didn't like to pay 25 Euros to park either when it's not a downtown location.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bhawknine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BelleBad, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Belle Epoque, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Thank you very much for your review and your time to write on your impressions of your stay. Your information is very important to us as they help us to improve our services.
The parking is € 19,- what is quite normal for the city center. It is a lot of work to keep everything neat and we have a night guard watching the parking area and hotel all night.
We are sorry that you didn:t like the seperate bath and toilet situation, most guests prefer that. Next time we will find a different room which comforts you.
We would be glad to welcome you again in Baden-Baden!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrington, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

The people at The Hotel Belle Epoque where from top to bottom awesome!

I had a hard time giving it the top rating as I felt this was a 5 star hotel with a 4 star budget. There was nothing really wrong it just seemed to me some of the very small things (carpet a bit worn in places, room furniture a bit worn) could be addressed. The Bathroom was also very small. I understand this is typical of many very nice hotels built in old buildings but it was the case still the same.

The location is a 5-10 minute walk to the Casino or Pedestrian area but is a nice walk along the canal or through the town.

The bottom line is this is a fantastic small luxury hotel that won my top rating because everyone we interacted with understands what taking care of people is all about.

I would stay at the Belle again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoanG986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BelleBad, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Belle Epoque, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Thank you very much for your review and your time to write on your impressions of your stay. Your information is very important to us as they help us to improve our services.
We are pleased to hear, that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and we would be glad to welcome you again in Baden-Baden!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aspen, Colorado
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

Baden Baden where you get the specialness of the 'waters' at the Friedrichsbad Spa (the good one) along with the beauty of the Black Forest.
The Belle Epoque is a 5 min walk from the main center but well worth the stay. A period mansion built by a Count, it is comfortable in it's surroundings.
But what really makes Belle Epoque stand out are the staff and the thoughtful extras the hotel provides it's guests.
Rarely have we come across staff so helpful in a very unobtrusive way, with advice and thoughtful attention to things we the guest hadn't thought to ask for. Then there's the 'extras' ~ tea with cake (even a glass of wine) from 14:00; a few nuts for your room before dinner ~ why not one bowl for you and another for your wife; or at the (included) breakfast where paper bags are left out for you to take snacks from the breakfast array for 'later'. (How often have we snuck out with some breakfast elements surreptitiously hidden in a napkin?) Here they anticipate your needs and make it comfortable to do it.
And that's the point. You feel you've been taken into a home rather than a hotel and that's a very good feeling.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank atrecker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BelleBad, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Belle Epoque, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Thank you very much for your review and your time to write on your impressions of your stay.
We are pleased to hear, that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and we would be glad to welcome you again in Baden-Baden!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

We had a phenomenal time here. We were a little apprehensive about staying in a small boutique hotel - but all our apprehensions about the place and people were put to rest during our stay - we were extremely impressed and would visit baden-baden again to stay here.

Choose a garden facing room in the main building though because there are quite a few buildings that belong to the hotel.

Very nice quaint rooms, lovely decor and detailing without being obnoxious or over-the-top. Very tasteful choice of appointments. The staff was very courteous and helpful.

Vegetarian options at breakfast (especially heated options) were very limited, it was a decent spread overall though. High-tea was phenomenal with a nice choice of teas, pastries and alcoholic beverages. Just keep in mind that there isn't a restaurant at this property so meals have to be had either in the town or at the sister property. A little bit of a walk from the town center if you don't have a car - need to walk 10 - 15 mins for your meals - we didn't have an issue with this.

Room Tip: choose a garden facing room in the main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thetravellers7447
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BelleBad, Inhaber at Hotel Belle Epoque, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Thank you very much for your review and your time to write your impressions of you stay. Your information is very important to us as they help us to improve our services.
The restaurant of our sister hotel is just 100 meter away by foot, what means about 2 minutes. To walk to the next restaurant in the city it is not more than five minutes. And of course we will serve you warm food from our menu at our restaurant hours directly to the room.
We are pleased to hear, that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and we would be glad to welcome you again in Baden-Baden very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Baden-Baden hotels
0.1 mi away
Brenners Park-Hotel & Spa
Brenners Park-Hotel & Spa
#1 of 50 in Baden-Baden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
0.3 mi away
Leonardo Royal Hotel Baden-Baden
0.3 mi away
Dorint Maison Messmer
Dorint Maison Messmer
#3 of 50 in Baden-Baden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Der Kleine Prinz
Hotel Der Kleine Prinz
#14 of 50 in Baden-Baden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
0.3 mi away
Atlantic Parkhotel
Atlantic Parkhotel
#15 of 50 in Baden-Baden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
0.5 mi away
Heliopark Bad Hotel zum Hirsch
Heliopark Bad Hotel zum Hirsch
#13 of 50 in Baden-Baden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Belle Epoque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Belle Epoque

Property: Hotel Belle Epoque
Address: Maria-Viktoria-Strasse 2C, 76530, Baden-Baden, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Region: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Baden-Baden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Baden-Baden
#9 Romantic Hotel in Baden-Baden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Belle Epoque 4.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Belle Epoque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belle Epoque Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing