We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice hotel and friendly service in a quite corner of the lovely Baden Baden downtown”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Dorint Maison Messmer
Ranked #3 of 50 Hotels in Baden-Baden
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A nice hotel and friendly service in a quite corner of the lovely Baden Baden downtown”
Reviewed 29 March 2012

Me and my wife spent two nights at this modern hotel late September 2011, and we enjoyed it very much, breakfast was excellent , location is superb beside the Casino and only 100 meters to the middle of the lovely city of Baden-Baden a nice relaxing city for a couple of days.. Room prices were expensive compared to other hotels in the area, we paid about 300 euro per night includig breafast , other 4 & 5 star hotels were between 170 - 230 euro, but Dorint deserved the difference as it was modern and well furnished rooms .

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bo3baid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorint2010, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Dorint Maison Messmer, responded to this review, 14 May 2012
Dear "Bo3baid",

thank you so much for reviewing your recent stay at the Dorint Maison Messmer, Baden-Baden.
We are delighted to hear your positive feedback and kind words about our hotel.

We hope to welcome you back very soon!

The Team of the Dorint Maison Messmer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

568 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    348
    152
    43
    16
    9
See reviews for
82
259
24
103
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
314 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2012

I just loved my stay at the Dorint. They do have a keen eye for detail.
The bed and table linen are immaculate. The staff at the receptio very friendly.
The breakfast buffet was the best part with all the excellent homemade german bread and jelly not forgetting the delicious musli.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MiriamM972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorint2010, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Dorint Maison Messmer, responded to this review, 14 May 2012
Dear "MiriamM972",

thank you so much for taking the time to write your kind and informative review! We will be sure to pass on your comments to the individuals and departments that you mentioned. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again very soon!

All the best,

the team of the Dorint Maison Messmer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2012

This hotel is in a great location - next door to the casino and Kurhaus, 5mins from the Frieder Burda gallery, just across the river from the main shopping street, and under 10mins walk to Friedrichsbad and Caracala Therme.

The hotel itself is modern feeling, but still maintains the grand feel appropriate for the spa town. Our room was huge, with a comfortable bed and a balcony overlooking the courtyard. Complimentary water (a large bottle) was provided each day.

The swimming pool and saunas were gorgeous and very clean. The staff were generally pleasant and friendly (although the barman was a little inexperienced). The breakfast buffet was absolutely amazing - a huge variety of delicious food was available.

I only have two slightly bad points. There was no wifi in the hotel, which was a bit surprising for a modern luxury hotel, but didn't really inconvenience us. The room service menu was also rather lacking for vegetarians - the only options were a soup or a mozzarella salad. The salad was very nice, and fortunately I wasn't terribly hungry, but even one hot option would be good! There was also very little choice in the Theaterkeller restaurant - I would put it down to just being German, but I ate very well in other places around town.

Those are both pretty minor quibbles though, and certainly didn't spoil our stay. We would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuisseSuisse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
37 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Really beautiful, modern and comfortable hotel set in an ideal location. Hotel seems to be in a perfect shape, very clean and well kept. Rooms are very bright and specious. We were staying in czar room, which was beautifully decorated in the style of contemporary elegance. Room was relatively large with nice sitting area and two balconies, nicely furnished with almost all necessary amenities, including surprisingly large TV set. Only drawback was the lack of water cooker.
We've dined in room on several occasion, and the food was excellent. However, the menu is surprisingly limited.
We've really enjoyed the hotel, and would recommend it to anyone visiting Baden Baden. It is probably the best choice currently in the city for an upscale hotel, if you prefer modern hotels. (there are plenty of grand hotels in Baden-Baden, but I'm really not a big fan of having a crystal chandelier in my room). It is also perfectly located, basically in the center of the city, in the Kurpark, right next to Lichtentaleralle and 10 minute walking distance to Festpielhaus.
My only problem with the hotel (and that is way I'm not able to give it higher mark) is the service. It's just beyond me that cleaning lady would ring at our door at 11am, to see when she can clean our room, as she has seen that we have left the "do not disturb" sign on the door. This really spoiled the whole stay. Additionally, once we've returned in the evening to our room, we've found out that only some used glasses were changed, while have been left, together with a used knife on our coffee table. (it's not that they've overlooked them, the used glasses and knife were nicely placed next to each other).

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dBogda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2011

This was the second year we went and although it is a great hotel with lovely staff the standards had slipped. Fantastic barman, great people working there super food but at the high price we paid for Christmas here 2 staff on duty in the fine dining restaurant and an hour to 90 minutes to wait before any food arives is not acceptable. staffing was poor in the hotel generally in the evening. There was no DVD or cd player in the room, we found out on the last day you had to ask for one ??? Also terrible connections and charges for internet. Any apple devices dont work at all and only one 'free' p.c. usually busy. They say this will change in 2012.
All this said it is still a lovely place and we would recommend it.

Room Tip: Ask to face the front of the hotel and corner rooms are biggest
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DGoscar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorint2010, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Dorint Maison Messmer, responded to this review, 25 January 2012
Dear "IanOscar",

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your kind and informative review! I will be sure to pass on your comments to the individuals and departments that you mentioned. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again very soon! The new system for the Wifi will be installed next month.

All the best,
Marcus Cahill, Sales&Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sion, Switzerland
Level Contributor
266 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 241 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2011

Baden Baden is a magnificent town, which provides infrastructures, nature and is restful. Unfortunately, we booked at the wrong hotel. We have nothing negative to mention about the infrastructures, the room and the quality of food, which meet the standard of a 5* hotel. However, we were surprised and also very disappointed by the poor quality of the service.
The cleaning ladies are sulky and make noise early in the morning, the breakfast suffers from a lack of personnel and the reception staff lowered their eyes each time we passed through the hall. We were particularly dissatisfied by the reception and concierge staff who provided an insufficient service (they don’t know for example that the surroundings offer marvellous jogging tracks in the forest).
The guests come partly for leisure and partly for business but we felt this stay as totally impersonal. As a matter of fact, nobody had an idea about our names after a 4 days stay! We felt that there was no management and no guideline. We saw the manager for the first and last time on our departure day at breakfast: this woman went to greet a few guests but a few guests only! We didn’t belong to them. We mention this example to illustrate how bad-mannered a part of the staff and the managing lady are. We will definitively visit Baden Baden again but never again Dorint Messmer.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Olympicchampion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorint2010, Manager at Dorint Maison Messmer, responded to this review, 24 November 2011
Dear Olympicchampion,

thank you very much for your feedback on your recent experience. We are very sorry to hear our service did not meet your expectations.
We would appreciate the opportunity to discuss your comments further so we can examine the issue you experienced. We hope that you will reach out to us directly at anke.lock@dorint.com (General Manager)

All the best,
Anke Lock, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 25 October 2011

The hotel is situated near the park, the casino and the town center. The hotel staffs are very friendly and always helpful and the service is the best! Rooms are nice and clean although internet and entertainment electronics can be improved. Hotel bar is very cozy and the food is really great. All in all very nice and cozy hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Inon22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorint2010, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Dorint Maison Messmer, responded to this review, 24 November 2011
Dear Inon22,

what wonderful feedback! We are delighted to hear about your stay with us.
We appreciate very much that you are taking the time to write your kind and thoughtful review, and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back very soon

All the best wishes

The Team of the Dorint Maison Messmer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Baden-Baden hotels
0.3 mi away
Brenners Park-Hotel & Spa
Brenners Park-Hotel & Spa
#1 of 50 in Baden-Baden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
0.6 mi away
Leonardo Royal Hotel Baden-Baden
0.3 mi away
Hotel Belle Epoque
Hotel Belle Epoque
#7 of 50 in Baden-Baden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Baden-Baden
Holiday Inn Express Baden-Baden
#10 of 50 in Baden-Baden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aqua Aurelia Suitenhotel
Aqua Aurelia Suitenhotel
#12 of 50 in Baden-Baden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
0.6 mi away
Roomers Baden-Baden, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dorint Maison Messmer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorint Maison Messmer

Property: Dorint Maison Messmer
Address: Werderstr. 1, 76530, Baden-Baden, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Region: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Baden-Baden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Baden-Baden
#3 Luxury Hotel in Baden-Baden
#6 Romantic Hotel in Baden-Baden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Dorint Maison Messmer 5*
Number of rooms: 151
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Dorint Maison Messmer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dorint Maison Messmer Hotel Baden-Baden
Dorint Maison Messmer Baden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing