We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Views of Baden Baden - Out of the Way Location”
Review of Hotel Tanneck

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Tanneck
Ranked #48 of 50 Hotels in Baden-Baden
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Beautiful Views of Baden Baden - Out of the Way Location”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Very charming, quaint cross between a castle and victorian inn. Location is 10 minute walk down a footpath to town (some steps, some asphalt). If you would rather take a lower incline, go out the front door of the hotel and upon arriving at the street take a left down that road to get to town by the Dorint. The room we occupied was spacious with a balcony and awning to stave off some of the summer heat. There is no air conditioning and no elevator but has spacious large windows, as well as a beautiful spiral staircase. We were fortunate enough to be one level lower than main floor so it was somewhat cooler. The shower had great water pressure and the bathroom was clean. There is only shampoo in a tear away packet, and small soap for washing. I typically travel with my own soap, shampoo and conditioner so this is a non issue for me. The beds were not uncomfortable, but adequate; however, the pillows were completely flat. There is an in room safe that you will need to pay for if you wish to utilize, as well as rent a tv if you so choose. The breakfast was adequate to start the day with a variety of meats, fruits, and breads, yogurt and cereal. Some reviewers post about the 'quirkiness' of the host but that is what makes her special. (She reminded me very much of my late grandmother in a good way). I agree there should not be extra charges for "extra" amenities that typically would be included anywhere else. Be advised this is a "pet friendly" hotel and there are cats about the property. If you have allergies, you might be best staying somewhere else. Parking is available for 5-6 spots otherwise if you have a car you may risk getting a parking ticket along Werderstrasse. There is a bus stop right outside the hotel as well. Beautiful, out of the way location with great views of the city. I have stayed several times in Baden Baden and each hotel has its negatives and positives. I would stay here again even though I rated it average. I rated it as such because for the price, there are other locations in the city that offer a little bit more for the same amount of money but do not offer the view and uniqueness that this one has.

Room Tip: Choose lower floor room if you want to be cooler. Close blinds during the day and open windows at n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elizabeth-Lucy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    6
    5
    4
    4
See reviews for
8
5
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Salem, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

I misbooked a room for Hotel am Markt in Baden Baden and even though there was a philharmonic symphony premier in Baden Baden that weekend, Hotel Tanneck had a room for me. I found a spacious clean room, good bathroom, simple and good breakfast and wonderful hosts. It was peaceful, just a 5 minute walk uphill from the casino and concert hall. You can't ask for much more!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sleepy Bavarian Village
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 16 September 2008

We stayed at Hotel Tanneck when my mother-in-law came to Germany to visit while we are stationed here with the Army. I picked this hotel based on the cute pictures that the hotel's website had listed. It was a bit pricey for what it had to offer. We had 2 doubles, both with spectacular views over Baden-Baden. This really was the only thing about the hotel that stood out.

My husband and I had a recently remodelled room with a tiny bathroom and lumpy bed. My MIL and 5 year old daughter stayed in the next room over. Their bed was also terribly lumpy, you could even feel the support beam about midway down the bed. Their room was musty/moldy smelling, probably caused by water damage above the heater where the wallpaper was noticably moldy and needing to be replaced. The hotel's own website states that they specialize in adjoining rooms which is what I requested. I booked the room 4 months in advance, but did not receive adjoining rooms. The rooms were next door to each other, not adjoining. My definition of adjoining means that there is a door between the rooms so that you don't have to go out into the public areas of the hotel to get from one room to the other.

We were only in Baden-Baden for one night, so the rooms were bareable. I won't stay there again.

  • Liked — the view
  • Disliked — rooms need remodelling to include new mattresses
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank GrafArmyWife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Baden-Baden hotels

American abroad
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2008

Nothing wrong, but nothing more than just a place to stay. This hotel is pretty much as the previous reviewers describe. There's nothing really wrong with it, but nothing to make me recommend it to anyone traveling to Baden-Baden, either. We chose it because of a Rick Steeves recommendation, but I think there are better choices and he could drop this one from the list. The location in the foothills above the town does make a quiet stay with a nice view. It's only a 10-minute walk into town (steep climb) and the free parking is a plus. That said, the hotel itself seems reluctant to provide value for money and almost deliberately doesn't want to provide the little extras that make you leave feeling satisfied. (Extra charge for an egg at breakfast when we're paying 140 euros per night? Come on!) Our quad room had 4 mis-matched sets of scratchy, thin towels (how much does it cost to provide a set of soft, matched towels?) Rooms are not just quirkily decorated; they are shabby and neglected (but clean.) The innkeeper was kind, efficient and helpful; not exactly cheerful, but we didn't find that anywhere in Baden-Baden, to be honest. In short, this would be OK if you are stuck, but Baden-Baden is so charming, it has to be worth looking for a hotel with charm, too.

  • Liked — Views of the town
  • Disliked — Shabby interior and minimal comforts
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Zawojska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
238 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2007

A charming lady in charge, but alas the hotel was sadly wanting in most respects. It was clean but very 'down-at -heel'. Good views of the city.
BUT, Breakfast indifferent, and noisy old fashioned cooler/fridge.
Totally uninspiring. The worst of 8 hotels in Germany on this trip, AND THE DEAREST!!! 100 Euros a night was ridiculous. We had much better for less than half the price elsewhere!!!

  • Liked — View
  • Disliked — State of building/furnishings/food
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank sapdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
234 reviews
202 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 414 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2007

Lately, I've been staying in faceless institutional hotels and longing for someplace with more local character. So, when driving by Baden Baden, we took the opportunity to drive into town unannounced and find someplace with Character. Along the hotel trail, marked through the city and up into the hills, I came across the Hotel Tanneck.

The inn is a cross between cottage and victorian castle, built into the hillside with a small parking area out front. The eclectic lobby has a bit of everything, presided over by the crisp and friendly woman who owns the house. We chose to spend an extra 5 euro to get the balcony double: it's a hike up a curving stairway with luggage, then down a hall full of plants, glass, and oriental rugs, to the rooms.

The hotel (more of an inn) is a bit like staying with your eccentric aunt: somewhat run down and filled with every knick-knack imaginable. The view from our small balcony was stunning, overlooking the city with panoramic views. The room itself is small, a mix of big heavy beds and deep wooden closets, odd little lights and well-used chairs. Unfortunately, the double bed turned out to be two twins pushed together. It's worth noting that, peering around the edge of the balcony, we could see more modern rooms refurbished next door to ours.

In-room TV is extra (there is a set for rent in the hall!) and an internet terminal is available in the lobby (for a charge). The bathroom is small but the shower has ample hot water. The neighborhood is residential and quiet at night. Breakfast is in a sunroom overlooking the city; cereals, meats, cheese, breads, juice. You get a pot of coffee: eggs and other items are extra charge.

The city is a short, vertical walk from the inn, down a path and steps to the city. Mark your course: it can be tricky to remember all the junctures back up. There is tourist information at the bottom (open at 10 am), and the casino is next to it. DO make time to walk across town to the Caracalla Spa, the mineral baths and water park that are a fun and very relaxing experience no matter what your group.

The hotel is, indeed, quirky, but charming: it's a comfortable and unique stay that fits in with the fanciful setting.

  • Liked — Location, character
  • Disliked — Faux-double bed
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DaveH-ExPat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2007

We shall be making our fourth visit to Hotel Tanneck this June. The position is fabulous, overlooking the Kurpark and with a delightful walk down into town through the wooded park. (The uphill return can be avoided by using the bus if you're lazy.) The hotel is a large traditional house with huge overhanging eaves and is run by two very friendly and helpful sisters. They expect you to make yourself at home - and we have been treated with unusual kindness in the past. The generous size of the rooms and their particularly fine outlook more than compensate for any lack of modern style in the ensuite facilites. Excellent value for money in this expensive town, where a fine outlook, private parking and a balcony are hard to find without paying treble the price.

Helpful?
3 Thank Gabriella62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Baden-Baden hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Etol
Hotel Etol
#20 of 50 in Baden-Baden
85 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Bischoff
Hotel Bischoff
#39 of 50 in Baden-Baden
44 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel zum Goldenen Lowen
Hotel zum Goldenen Lowen
#30 of 50 in Baden-Baden
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Deutscher Kaiser Lichtental
Deutscher Kaiser Lichtental
#28 of 50 in Baden-Baden
48 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Am Friedrichsbad mit Prager Stuben
1.3 mi away
Allee Hotel Leidinger
Allee Hotel Leidinger
#33 of 50 in Baden-Baden
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tanneck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tanneck

Property: Hotel Tanneck
Address: Werderstr. 14, 76530, Baden-Baden, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Region: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Baden-Baden
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 50 Hotels in Baden-Baden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Tanneck 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HRS, Hotel.de, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Tanneck reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tanneck Hotel Baden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing