We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good place to stay in Baden-Baden”
Review of Hotel Merkur

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Merkur
Ranked #12 of 50 Hotels in Baden-Baden
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 April 2014

This hotel is situated in a quiet neighborhood but in very short walking distance to the centre of Baden-Baden. The rooms are clean and modern and have enough space.
The value-for-money ration is very good and there is a very good restaurant within the building.
But there is no bar or lobby to have a glas of vine at the end of the day.

Room Tip: A room to the backside will be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johannes50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (422)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 422 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2014

We stayed at the Hotel Merkur while visiting Baden-Baden for a short vacation. The hotel is in a very nice location - very near to a bus stop and short walk from all the major attractions (such as pedestrian shopping zone, casino, spas). The room we stayed in was a nice size for Europe and very modern and clean. I found the beds a little hard...but that's a matter of preference. The breakfast was included and very substantial. The staff was always present and very friendly and helpful. There is an elevator, but it is pretty small. It was easier to just use the stairs to get around. We did experience some loud street noises in the morning from garbage trucks and kids going to school. But during the evening and night we weren't disturbed by anything.

I don't have anything negative to say about the hotel - I think it met our expectations. I don't give it 5 stars because I usually reserve that for hotels that truly stand out in some way. But I would be happy to stay at the Hotel Merkur if we ever find ourselves in Baden-Baden again. Which I hope we do - we were so impressed by the extensive amount of hiking trails. The hike up to visit the old castle is well worth it. Great place to explore if you have children!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank christinamn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

All round I could not fault this hotel. It is located 50 metres from the main town centre, the rooms are large and modern. Staff extremely friendly. The Wifi works well, there is onsite parking and the breakfast is very good.

The rooms are very large in comparison with other hotels. We have been travelling for a month and stayed in many hotels however the Hotel Merkur is amongst the best 3 to date. The other good think about this hotel is that it has a lift (and after you have been carrying bags up and down stairs - it is a great relief.

Baden-Baden is a great city to visit (one night only). We were very surprised by the size of the city and the main pedestrian mall.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SydneyTraveller_2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Refreshingly friendly and optimal located hotel in the centre of Baden-Baden.
The staff welcomed us very heartly and it was the perfect start for a wonderful stay.
Our room was spacious, modern, clean and lovely decorated as the whole hotel.
A rich breakfast buffet and a delicious restaurant made us also feel well.
Free of charge wifi, Sky-TV and the parking garage are also plus points.

Room Tip: Our Junior Suite was very spacious and mordern
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mario U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Very good Hotel with a friendly and helpful staff. Perfect located in the centre of Baden-Baden, with parking spaces

Spacious, modern and clean rooms, nice decorated as well as a the whole Hotel.

A rich breakfast buffet and a delicious Restaurant.

We missed nothing and will come back to the Hotel Merkur at our next Germany trip for sure.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Massimo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

The Hotel Merkur is very well placed for easy access to the town centre. The receptionists were friendly and helpful and the rooms warm and clean with all necessary facilities. The key system to enter our room was challenging at times but help was always available!
Breakfast was excellent with a huge range of hot or cold foods served as a buffet but with waitresses serving drinks and taking special orders. The evening meal was also very good with good service and the dining room was attractively decorated.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank southpacific53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

This is the third time that we have stayed in this hotel and just love it. The location is central and in walking distance to the center of the city and the Kurhaus (Casino). I would recommend the superior room which costs a little bit more but offers excellent value in terms of space and other facilities. Breakfast is excellent with a wide variety of breads, cheeses and other essentials. Eggs are also freshly made to order.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Asayeed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Baden-Baden hotels
0.5 mi away
Leonardo Royal Hotel Baden-Baden
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Baden-Baden
Holiday Inn Express Baden-Baden
#10 of 50 in Baden-Baden
575 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dorint Maison Messmer
Dorint Maison Messmer
#3 of 50 in Baden-Baden
622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Der Kleine Prinz
Hotel Der Kleine Prinz
#14 of 50 in Baden-Baden
233 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel am Sophienpark
Hotel am Sophienpark
#4 of 50 in Baden-Baden
297 reviews
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Badischer Hof Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Merkur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Merkur

Address: Merkurstr. 8-10, 76530, Baden-Baden, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Region: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Baden-Baden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Baden-Baden
#8 Romantic Hotel in Baden-Baden
#8 Family Hotel in Baden-Baden
Price Range: £85 - £205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Merkur 3.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Double room at hotel MERKUR. Autumn 2007 high-quality renovated rooms, equipped with CD-/ DVD-Player, 26' LCD flatscreen-TV, sat-tv, minibar, direct dial phone, safe, and free of charge amenities as wirless-LAN and Premiere Hotel TV channels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Merkur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merkur Hotel Baden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing