We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good location.”
Review of Hotel Merkur

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Merkur
Ranked #11 of 50 Hotels in Baden-Baden
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very good location.”
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

I spent four days at Hotel Merkur in June.
The rooms are comfortable, reasonably sized, modernly furnished and very clean.
Unfortunately, I had a room on the attic floor, with a small window and no air conditioning. That week temperatures were between 30 and 35°C and it was hardly possible not only too sleep during the night, but also to stay in the room during the day.
But it's known that air-conditioned hotel rooms are quite a rarity in Germany.
The bathroom was big, modern and clean.
There are a minibar, a safe, free wireless connection, a flat screen tv and pay tv is for free.
The personnel is polite and helpful, but not particularly friendly.
Breakfast is good, but some usual German musts such as scrumbled eggs, sausages (Würste) or bacon are not available.
It's also possible to dinner at Merkur Hotel, but I always preferred to look for a restaurant in the pedestrian area, just few metres far from the hotel.
There are parking places, but I came with the train and could easily reach the hotel with a bus, because its stops 150 mt far from it.
All important places in Baden-Baden are reachable by foot: in particular the famous thermae, the Lichtentaler Allee (wonderful boulevard) and the Burda Museum. It's also possible to go to the Merkur Mount with a bus stopping just near.
At the hotel you'll also be given some vouchers to get special prices in some museums, etc.
You can also ask at the reception for a bathrobe and a tea/coffee set.
The price of the hotel may be judged as quite high, but it's good for Baden-Baden, a town where everything is thought for people eith money to spend.

Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Roberta M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    191
    148
    38
    9
    4
See reviews for
48
221
28
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

This hotel is difficult to review as it is a bit like the parsons nose. We arrived at 5pm to be told we were the last arrivals and the hotel was fully booked. The superior room we were allocated was in the eaves on the top floor. Obviously they have not heard of insulation as the room was stiflingly hot and stayed so for the three nights of our stay. We asked for a fan but as the windows were small and would only open an inch to stop us jumping out (tempting at times!), it had little effect apart from circulating the hot air.We saw the pictures in their web ad and our room was nothing like the ones portrayed!
As a consequence we slept badly and this marred the quality of our stay.We were not offered a room change to one that had real windows and fresh air. The room faced the narrow street so there was noise resonating upwards starting at 4am from street cleaning ,the church bell starts chiming at 6.30am.
The breakfast buffet that some contributors eulogise over we thought poor. Bead and cheese a plenty, no croissants, little fruit, limited choice.
The staff, however, were a delight. Very friendly, all spoke English.Would we stay again? Definately not. For 150 euros a night there are better deals in town.

Room Tip: Ask for a back room not on the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Acker53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seoul, South Korea
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

The Merkure is just around the corner from the heart of town this hotel has parking and a restaurant. The staff are friendly and helpful. The restaurant has posted hours that it didn't follow, it closed more than an hour before the stated time. When we asked the front desk worker if the restaurant was open, we were told that we had to ask them. They said they were closed with no explanation. The breakfast was enjoyable and free which is always a bonus though the separate it on the bill, so don't be confused. This is a nice hotel that I would recommend.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank FDW87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Despite I spent only 1 night at this hotel, I can claim that this place is really good and if I have the possibility to visit Baden-Baden again, I will definitely stay there and even for a lobger period. Rooms are nice, spacious and clean, staff is helpful and friendly and the breakfast served at the hotel restaurant was good as well. Internet connection is free of charge and working perfectly, parking spaces are available in the courtyard of the hotel.
Location is perfect, 3 minutes from the city center and all the main attractions. On the whole, there is nothing to reproach and definitely it's a graet value for money. I would strongly recommend this hotel to budget-conscious travellers who nevertheless appreciate quality and comfort.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tinalatina17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

This was our second perfect stay at hotel Merkur and we were as satisfied as at our first time.
Because of our beautiful first trip, we stayed now for five days and booked a package with dinner and the spas included.
We`ve get a beautiful and spacious double room superior with a nice bathroom equipped with a rainshower.
The staff was again very friendly and helpful. We recognized, that the wifi was very fast this time (much more faster than at our last stay) and the free of charge Sky sport channel made it easy for us the watch the soccer world championship.
The rich breakfast buffet made as always a good start in the day and the excellent dinners at the restaurant Sterntaler was a the perfect end for our very nice days in Baden-Baden.
We`ve enjoyed the beautiful city and the very good hotel Merkur and we will come back for sure.

Room Tip: double room superior
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sabrina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

From the outside this hotel is kind of plain, but the rooms are very neat and clean. Sort of Ikea style, but that's fine with me. There were lots of windows in our corner room with lushly planted flower boxes (something you won't get at a Hilton). They will provide a tea kettle and supplies if you ask. Our rate included breakfast which was a lavish european style buffet. The place was remodeled about 2010 and is still very fresh looking inside. Location is great. Staff friendly and helpful.
We will stay there again. Everything it has is excellent for the tourist couple. The only reason I give it four stars is because business customers may not find all the services and facilities they might expect at a larger hotel.

Room Tip: Our corner room was very nice. It's a quiet neighborhood so I don't think there are any bad...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Craig S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boca Raton, FL
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Three friends and I booked this the day before our visit because we decided to go to the spa....and drove 8 hours from Italy to do so. Small hotel with lovely breakfast buffet included in an elegant in house restaurant...it also serves dinner.The rooms were typically small, as European hotel rooms are. Everything was clean, relatively new, and comfortable . The location is right in the center of town with shops and restaurants abounding. This is a classy town. The Caracalla spa was amazing.
I would gladly stay again, but not in the 90 degree heat ....the hotel is not air conditioned ..I presume it is hardly needed, but boy did we need it. It was difficult for us spoiled Americans who are used to air comfort.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wendis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Baden-Baden hotels
0.5 mi away
Leonardo Royal Hotel Baden-Baden
0.2 mi away
Dorint Maison Messmer
Dorint Maison Messmer
#3 of 50 in Baden-Baden
582 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel am Sophienpark
Hotel am Sophienpark
#7 of 50 in Baden-Baden
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Baden-Baden
0.2 mi away
Brenners Park-Hotel & Spa
Brenners Park-Hotel & Spa
#1 of 50 in Baden-Baden
611 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Quellenhof
Hotel Quellenhof
#6 of 50 in Baden-Baden
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Merkur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Merkur

Property: Hotel Merkur
Address: Merkurstr. 8-10, 76530, Baden-Baden, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Region: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Baden-Baden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Baden-Baden
#8 Family Hotel in Baden-Baden
#8 Romantic Hotel in Baden-Baden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Merkur 3.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Double room at hotel MERKUR. Autumn 2007 high-quality renovated rooms, equipped with CD-/ DVD-Player, 26' LCD flatscreen-TV, sat-tv, minibar, direct dial phone, safe, and free of charge amenities as wirless-LAN and Premiere Hotel TV channels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Merkur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merkur Hotel Baden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing