We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spectacular views and a REAL cuckoo”
Review of Merkur Mountain

Merkur Mountain
Ranked #3 of 50 things to do in Baden-Baden
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Spectacular views and a REAL cuckoo”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We took the funicular train up to the top and hiked back down. The view from the top is amazing, and the little park up there would be a perfect spot for a picnic lunch. We hiked the trail back down and were rewarded by the call of a real cuckoo bird (they sound just like the clocks). I wish we'd had more time to hike, what a gorgeous area.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank KatyFitzg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    203
    77
    12
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Stunning View of Baden-Baden & Black Forest”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

I love this place, it has an ride in the The Merkur Funicular Railway, that pulls you up slowly, by cable on rails, you pay 4 Euros return, the ride up is breath-taking, it almost feels like a roller coaster ride, it is so steep, so if you don't like heights, don't look down, but once you get to the top which takes 5 Minutes, the views are stunning you can see all of Baden-Below with the Black Forest and surrounding Merkur Mountains, there is a beautiful seated restaurant that sit on the edge of the mountain where you can enjoy Brockwurst with fries and a Beer. Some Days they have the Para-gliders and it's amazing to watch. if you walk a little up near the Tower, there are Lido type wooden benches for couples to lay down together in the Sun. If you are fit or like a walk, don't take the lift down, follow the small road it takes one Hour to walk down, and you have some stunning scenery and wildlife, sometimes you only see 2-3 people in the whole Hour, and it brings you down near the Car Park, near the Big Wheel, at the entrance of the Lift, it's a magical place for Romance, and great place for a picnic, or a bite to eat, it's stunning!!!

Website address

http://www.baden-baden.de/en/sport-leisure/excursion-destinations/merkur-mountain-baden-baden/

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank pth1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
95 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Log with a view!”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Our visit on May 11 at 10am was the clearest, see forever, I have ever experienced at the top of the Merkur. The historical cable car track was lined with rhododendrons and the top of the mountain was cool and crisp. You could clearly see the Vosges and around the back of the restaurant, the Murg valley and mountains. Sit on the log -- or on a bench - and enjoy watching the sky divers glide over Baden-Baden. Walk up towards the tower and there are wooden recliners for sun bathing. The Merkur is always worth a visit.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Travel2Enjoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moline, Illinois
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Foggy didn't see much”
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Make sure you check the weather before making a trip to Merkur Mountain. We didn't and it was foggy and we couldn't see anything. I was bummed.
But... You take the train up the really steep mountain which is fun. There is a watch tower you can climb or ride the elevator to the top and see the landscape. There is a café/bar there that looked good. We didn't eat, but it looked good. There was a play area for the kids. They loved it. Brochures were in all languages. People were nice. I visited with my husband and young kids (5 and 2).

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank EOrr28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loughborough,UK
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Worth a trip up here.”
Reviewed 30 December 2013

We were in Baden Baden in December but were very lucky to have a clear sunny day when we went up the mountain on the funicular train. It is about a 30-40 minute walk from the town centre to the train which is operated automatically. Tickets are bought at the bottom of the track and the train is easy to operate.
Once at the top there are beautiful views, a picnic area, children's play area, visitor information and a cafe/bar well worth a visit.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank southpacific53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Merkur Mountain also viewed

Baden-Baden, Baden-Wurttemberg
Baden-Baden, Baden-Wurttemberg
 
Baden-Baden, Baden-Wurttemberg
Baden-Baden, Baden-Wurttemberg
 

Been to Merkur Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing