We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, and a great walk into town!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Deutscher Kaiser Lichtental
Ranked #29 of 50 Hotels in Baden-Baden
Polperro, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good value, and a great walk into town!”
Reviewed 12 February 2013

The hotel Deutscher Kaiser, Lichtental proved ideal for our Baden-Baden visit. It’s among the lowest in price, but though an older style family hotel, the bedrooms and bathrooms are immaculate and there’s a good buffet breakfast. The hotel is cheaper because it’s in a village suburb (there’s a more expensive hotel of the same name in town). But that’s no problem as it’s at the end of the Lichtental, a wonderful linear park of green, trees and flowers – a great 20-25 mins walk into town, though we always took longer! There’s a frequent bus service from the station, through town, and paralleling the valley, stopping right outside the hotel (Eckerle Strasse stop). Definitely recommended.

Room Tip: Streets are quiet at night so no noise problem
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    23
    5
    1
    4
See reviews for
4
23
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edison, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2012

Stayed here with two friends on a recent trip through southern Germany. Not the most modern place (except for flat TV in room), but for less than 30 Euros a person including (an appropriately scoped) breakfast certainly a great deal. Bus stop right next to the hotel with regular connections downtown, free wifi, very kind and accommodating owners.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Josh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2012

I wouldn't rate the hotel as three star, as they position themselves. But the hotel is very good for two star. Convenient location: right in front of a bus stop. Bus to city center or railway station goes every ten minutes in daytime.
I recommend to arrive to the hotel before 8pm, otherwise you can meet closed door.
Anyway, they offer the best price in the town.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dr17ee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kildare, Ireland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2010

Like another reviewer, I had intended to book the Deutscher Kaiser in Baden Baden centre and by mistake booked this one...D'oh that's why it was cheap! It was fine. Firstly if travelling by train you have to get the bus to Baden Baden anyway and this place is only a couple of stops further on. The bus stop is directly outside, so no wandering around trying to find your hotel. The hotel is on the worn side, with well trodden carpets on the stair case. But the room is very spacious and airy. The bathroom is small and shower very old school, but surprisingly strong. No TV in the room, but on the last morning I discovered the TV in the guest room which seemed to have English language channels. Breakfast was typical German and unlike other reviewers, I found the owners helpful and friendly. The famous Lichtental allee is just across the road and is a beautiful walk into town. Maybe like another reviewer it was because I booked by mistake that I had low expectations, but overall I enjoyed it and would book the hotel again if looking for a cheap and cheerful option in Baden Baden,

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ducksinarow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
65 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2009

This place definitely has its ups and downs. Our room was clean, but the bed was very uncomfortable. I think this is because it was old. I think that just about everything in the place was from the 1980s. The hotel is a good 20 minute walk from the center of Baden-Baden. We had beautiful weather, so the walk was quite lovely. If you should happen to have poor weather, you will have to depend on the bus, or drive. The website for the hotel states that they have a computer for guest use. What they don't mention is that you will be given a hard time about it and someone will watch you as you use it. Our hostess at the time of our visit was not friendly at all. The breakfast was absolutely awesome - hearty and a wide selection of items. It was too bad that our breakfast was interrupted by the hostess berating an employee for using too much water while cleaning the floor.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happybackyard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
78 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2009

Although not in the centre of town, the hotel is still convenient and it's a lovely walk along the river to get there. Very traditional European hotel with no tv in the room, but plenty of character. We have stayed there 3 times now and found the owners to be very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sherrie_Russell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Baden-Baden hotels
0.2 mi away
Allee Hotel Leidinger
Allee Hotel Leidinger
#36 of 50 in Baden-Baden
19 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Roemerhof
Hotel Roemerhof
#32 of 50 in Baden-Baden
63 reviews
3.9 mi away
Altenberg Hotel-Restaurant
Altenberg Hotel-Restaurant
#26 of 50 in Baden-Baden
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Deutscher Kaiser im Centrum
0.5 mi away
Leonardo Royal Hotel Baden-Baden
1.1 mi away
Hotel Quellenhof
Hotel Quellenhof
#6 of 50 in Baden-Baden
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deutscher Kaiser Lichtental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deutscher Kaiser Lichtental

Property: Deutscher Kaiser Lichtental
Address: Hauptstrasse 35, 76534, Baden-Baden, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Region: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Baden-Baden
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 50 Hotels in Baden-Baden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Deutscher Kaiser Lichtental 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Deutscher Kaiser Lichtental reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deutscher Kaiser Lichtental Baden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing