We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hope to be back”
Review of Rathausglockel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Rathausglockel
Ranked #1 of 22 Baden-Baden B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hope to be back”
Reviewed 27 January 2014

We originally planned to be in Baden-Baden for 1 or 2 nights, but extended our stay to 6 nights, all due to the magic relaxing atmosphere in the hotel. All of the staff members are extremely helpful, polite and cheerful. The hotel itself is elegant, clean and comfortable. There is no lift but the staff is happy to help with the bags. A library under a skylight is a lovely touch. Free wi-fi and central location (next door to the spas) are winners. The restaurant downstairs is very cozy and worth a visit in the evening, we fell utterly in love with the chestnut soup.

Room Tip: Email the team to let them know your preferences.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SvetlAnna123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoia A, Inhaber at Rathausglockel, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Dear Guest "SvetlAnna123",

This is an ultimate praise, that you decided to prolong you stay, since you liked it so much. Thank you for being our guest and your time to review our property. Please come back soon!

Sunny Regards
Zoia A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    153
    53
    16
    1
    2
See reviews for
34
123
23
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

We loved our stay at Rathausglöckel. This is a must-stay when visiting Baden-Baden. The place is a stone's throw away from the famous Friedrichsbad and Caracalla Therme (literally one minute-walk away). The staff is extremely nice and helpful. They would just provide us with everything we needed and asked for! There was not a problem at all when we asked for a late checkout and we could easily leave our luggage in the storage and pick them up later before we were leaving.

We stayed at the Junior Suite which is very charming, warm and spacious (living room with sofa, closet, writing desk and flat TV), large bedroom with Victorian-style bed and a very clean and spacious bathroom with free toiletries. In general the hotel has a very warm and friendly family-like run atmosphere. Appreciate it - it is a very old but perfectly renovated building - a real gem!

Do not miss the restaurant - owners and waitresses there are very nice, service and customer oriented. The food (dinner and breakfast) is just delicious! Don't forget to try the local wines. Ask the owner for wine recommendations according to your food - she will be very willing to help and explain everything very thoroughly.

I would definitely recommend Rathausglöckel for anyone visiting the city. Our only regret was that we could not stay longer since we were flying back home that afternoon. :(

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kallio_Pap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoia A, Inhaber at Rathausglockel, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Dear Guest Pallio_Pap,

Thanks for staying with us and for sharing so many helpful details about your stay and our hotel. We’re so pleased to hear that our team gave you good service and that you enjoyed your stay. We hope you come back soon and may be for a longer stay!
Warm regards,
Zoia A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We spent new year at the very homely Rathausglockel. The hotel is maintained to a very high standard, it is spotlessly clean and very well kept. The staff are unflinchingly cheerful and happy to help with whatever you need. The location is superb, on the same street as the spas and practically smack in the middle of town.

My only tiny gripe is that the bed is not the most comfortable. If was fine for the first couple of nights but by the third night it starts to feel a little less comfortable.

We had booked for the new year's eve gala dinner in the restaurant. The food is superb, full of flavour and perfectly cooked. Bring your appetite because the portions are huge! The aioli that comes with the bread basket is heaven in a pot. The service is a bit hit and miss sometimes, but in a charming way, rather than a terrible way.

This is definitely now a regular destination on our travel calendar. I doubt there's anywhere better in Baden Baden to stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Seestee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoia A, Inhaber at Rathausglockel, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Dear Guest "Seeste",

Great to hear you loved your second stay and enjoyed our hotel. I am sorry you did not have a perfect sleep on the new foam matress. We are purchasing new spring matresses for some rooms, and I will make sure to assign you a room with spring mattress for your next stay. Hope to see you soon!

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

If you look for service that's it.
If you look for the original that's it.
If you look for clean rooms that's it.
If you want to feel home that's it.
If you want to be welcome that's it .
Breakfast is just fine if you do not see something on the buffet just ask they make it without charge.
2 Minute to the SPA
2 Minute to downtown
No noise .
Best room 14, 11, 15, 7, 6.

Room Tip: Room Junior Suite nr. 14
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tester2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoia A, Inhaber at Rathausglockel, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Dear Guest "Tester2000",

Thank you for your praise! Of course we gladly try to fulfill special wishes of our guests - that's what hospitality is all about. Please come back to visit us soon!

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wivenhoe, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

We have just spent the Xmas break at the Rathausglockel Hotel and everything from booking to the confirmation to the welcome and the services was first rate and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay there, nothing was too much.
We stayed in room 6, comfiest beds by far.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fatuscatusi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoia A, Inhaber at Rathausglockel, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Dear Guest "Fatuscatu",

Thank you for your precise and wonderful comments about your stay in our hotel. Please come back soon to visit us again!

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2013

We stayed for one night in a junior suite in late November. The room was comfortable, with plenty of space and everything that we needed. While we would have liked to try the hotel's restaurant for dinner, unfortunately we stayed the one night of the week that they are closed (Wednesday). Happily, the hotel receptionist was exceptionally helpful with recommendations and directions for other restaurant options. The hotel is located just down the street from the Freidrichsbad baths, which was a lovely surprise for us, as well as being very close to the shops and restaurants of the old town. We had a great time wandering around the old town including the Christmas markets, and can't wait to go back again!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoia A, Inhaber at Rathausglockel, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Dear Guest "Amanda F",

Thank your for taking time to review your stay and for praising our location, facilities and service. Please come back to visit us again soon!

Sunny Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Nice room without being amazing, but had everything you could need. The lady at reception had a lot of personality which was fun. The breakfast was great, they cook you fresh eggs at your request. You are also very close to town, in fact you are pretty much in the old town.

We parked at the vincent parking lot, which I think is the closest.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Bec_and_daz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoia A, Inhaber at Rathausglockel, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Dear Guests "Bec_and_daz",

Thank you very much for staying in our hotel and commenting on your stay. We are glad you liked our hotel and the service and hope to welcome you as our guests here again in the future.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Baden-Baden hotels
0.7 mi away
Leonardo Royal Hotel Baden-Baden
0.1 mi away
Hotel Quellenhof
Hotel Quellenhof
#5 of 50 in Baden-Baden
148 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel am Sophienpark
Hotel am Sophienpark
#7 of 50 in Baden-Baden
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Dorint Maison Messmer
Dorint Maison Messmer
#3 of 50 in Baden-Baden
582 reviews
0.4 mi away
Brenners Park-Hotel & Spa
Brenners Park-Hotel & Spa
#1 of 50 in Baden-Baden
611 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Baden-Baden
Holiday Inn Express Baden-Baden
#10 of 50 in Baden-Baden
561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rathausglockel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rathausglockel

Property: Rathausglockel
Address: Steinstr. 7 - 9, 76530, Baden-Baden, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Baden-Baden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Baden-Baden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Rathausglockel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rathausglockel is a 4-Star family-run hotel. It is located in the heart of the city center, less than a minute walking distance from Friedrichsbad and Caracalla thermal baths. Rathausglockel was fully modernized and restored with attention to historical and architectural accuracy at the beginning of 2009 by the Asel family. Our goal is to provide warm, gracious, genuinely-friendly service in an environment of extraordinary comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Rathausglockel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rathausglockel Hotel Baden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing