We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel”
Review of Hotel Alte Laterne

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Alte Laterne
Ranked #21 of 50 Hotels in Baden-Baden
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 June 2013

Stayed 2 nights in May 2013. It was a bit of a nightmare to find as Baden-Baden is a maze of pedestrianised streets that our GPS didn't recognise. Parking for the hotel was about a 5 minute walk away in a large public car park (20Euro for overnight parking). The hotel is very central with all the main town attractions within easy walking distance.

The entrance to the hotel is, strangely, through a cafe. You go in through the main cafe doors and one of the waitresses checks you in then takes you up to the room. I felt a bit uncomfortable walking back and forth through a busy cafe laden with luggage.

The room we stayed in was above the main square with a tiny balcony (no space for a chair or table). The room was very clean but the bathroom had a very slight urine smell about it, and the bathroom is absolutely tiny (a 'larger built' person almost certainly wouldn't be able to use the shower).

Noise in the busy square below starts at about 6am with beer barrel deliveries, rubbish collection, flower display deliveries, street cleaning etc and continues all morning. Noise from the restaurants below finished at about 10pm but it was very cold and rainy when we stayed and I suspect the noise carries on later in good weather. Even though it was cold outside, the room was very warm, but the street noise meant we couldn't sleep with the windows open. There was fan supplied in the room.

Nice breakfast (strangely served in the cafe downstairs), good choice and pleasant staff. The owners of the hotel seem to own several establishments on the square so people pour in from those places too for breakfast.

I would probably stay again if I ever went back to Baden-Baden.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BornToSleep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (119)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 119 reviews

Reviewed 21 May 2013

This hotel Is perfectly located in the middle of the old town
Its literally within walking distance of all major attractions.

Rooms were very clean, spacious and the beds were comfortable

Breakfast was great ! a wide buffet with alot of variety

the hotel has a maze of steps and it was a bit tricky to manage around, especially for elderly persons that stayed with me.

Staff was not very friendly but did their job

Reaching the hotel by car is a bit tricky as well since you have to drive in a pedestrian only zone for about 200m, the hotel has parking nearby for 10 Euros per day (5 minute walk)

Internet worked perfectly in the rooms

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank allon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2013

My husband and a great stay in the very traditional German hotel. The bed was very comfortable and the room was clean. Bad part of the room was that we could not turn down the heat so I had to have the windows open all night. Which was fine as I liked the cool mountain air. there is no free internet. you have to purchase it from the front desk via a tmobile hot spot.There was a parking lot( 5 minute walk away) for our car which was an added bonus. breakfast was good and included in the room. Very central and easy to walk all over the town. If you are looking for a good room that is a good value do not hesitate to stay here.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Swimmy128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2013

Can't beat this delightful hotel for its location, right in the heart of Baden Baden and close to all shops,spa and good restaurants. Staff are very friendly and helpful. Great value for money. Clean and cosy makes it the perfect budget hotel in this delightful town.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mandy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2013 via mobile

We spent New Year's Eve in this precious hotel. The location is great just few steps from famous spa and in the core of the town. It is a great value for money hotel. It is clean and simple with a very nice warm atmospheare. Forget taxi, cars and bus because you can reach everything on foot. Would recommend it.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marco M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2012

Small, nice hotel in the pedestrian area. Rooms were nice and well equipped with sitting area, bathroom and even a fridge. Very kind and helpful staff. Easy to reach buses to different parts of the surroundings.

Room Tip: Don't stay here if you can't go stairs or don't like to wake up while the town wakes up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kariEiksmarka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2012

The hotel has an old-world charm with little things reminding of the times gone. It is prettily decorated and the different way the rooms are placed add to the "cute" factor. A very friendly staff and a good restaurant makes it a perfect place to stay while visiting the city. The hotel is located in a little "pedestrian-only" square making it more attractive if you are visiting the city for a vacation and want to relax.

The closeness to the square may make it a little noisy but we didn't mind it :)

Room Tip: Although the rooms that face the square may be a little noisy but they have a good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NidheeP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Baden-Baden hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Deutscher Kaiser im Centrum
0.2 mi away
Hotel Merkur
Hotel Merkur
#9 of 50 in Baden-Baden
429 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel zum Goldenen Lowen
Hotel zum Goldenen Lowen
#29 of 50 in Baden-Baden
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Etol
Hotel Etol
#27 of 50 in Baden-Baden
87 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hote Loehr
Hote Loehr
#39 of 50 in Baden-Baden
116 reviews
0.7 mi away
Leonardo Royal Hotel Baden-Baden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alte Laterne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alte Laterne

Address: Gernsbacher Str. 10-12, 76530, Baden-Baden, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Region: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Baden-Baden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 50 Hotels in Baden-Baden
Price Range: £99 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alte Laterne 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Alte Laterne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing