We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel zum Goldenen Lowen
Nearby Hotels
Magnetberg Hotel(Baden-Baden)
US$144
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$134
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$204
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$194
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Holiday Inn Express Baden-Baden(Baden-Baden)(Great Value!)
US$109
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$98
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$229
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$220
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$374
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$352
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Merkur(Baden-Baden)
US$135
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$131
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Leonardo Royal Hotel Baden-Baden(Baden-Baden)(Great Value!)
US$96
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$87
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Belle Epoque(Baden-Baden)
US$370
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$237
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel am Sophienpark(Baden-Baden)
US$205
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$190
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$574
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (92)
Filter reviews
92 results
Traveller rating
28
33
23
5
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
28
33
23
5
3
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 92 reviews
Reviewed 15 March 2013

This is a nice small hotel with a traditional bavarian restaurant on the ground floor. Was there with a bunch of friends and we had a real good time. Nice clean rooms, with good enough heating and the family room on the 2nd floor was just right for 4 adults. The staff is also very friendly and helpful.

The location is also just right, walking distance from the 2 best bathing houses in baden-baden. I'd surely stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shreyance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2013

Weekend break and wanted central location and hotel served us well. Only a couple of minutes to the two spas. Hotel entrance is through the pub below, although there was no noise while we were there. Room was alright, not great, not terrible, very clean, warm enough and with a lovely shower. If you're after luxury I would look elsewhere, but for a midrange central location you can do worse than stay here.

Top Tip
- Entrance is through the pub below
- Bring tea bags as our room had a mini kitchen and tea making facilities but no tea/coffee
- To get to the hotel from the airport and to save a taxi, take the 205 from the airport to the bus station which is the last stop(E3.20). Then take the 201 from the bus station (E2.30) and get off at alexanderplatz. From there it is about a 5 minute across the main square to the hotel.
- the hotel does a nice pint of beer!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BLlimited
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2012

The location is located in the pedestrian zone so it can be tricky to get there if you are following your GPS. It can also be tricky to find since reception is IN the restaurant and the signing isn't clear if you are coming from certain directions. The rooms themselves are clean. Once there it is an easy walk to find food or to go to the baths.Our room didn't have a view but we were out and about all day so there wasn't really a need for it. Breakfast is at a separate restaurant across the street but its close so it is not a big deal. All in all it was good but if you are looking for a place to stay that is super fancy and nice this probably is not the place you want to stay. If you are looking for a centrally located place this is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ihearttravel99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2012

Third time I've been to Baden-Baden for the Christmas Markets and I'd seen this hotel before, enjoyed a cup of coffee and decided to stay on my most recent visit. It's really central, close to the shops, a short stroll to the Spa(s) and to the main attraction - the Christmas Market.

The room itself was great. Big comfortable bed. There was only one pillow each but we were given more as soon as we asked. When we first went into the room it was quite cold but soon warmed up once we turned on the heaters. There was a decent shower room and we felt very comfortable.

Breakfast was served in the cafe over the road. It was a decent enough buffet although not overly exciting. A delightful waitress fussed over us making sure we had enough tea and coffee and nothing seeemed to be too much trouble for her.

The Christmas decorations are splendidly wonderfully extravagently madly O.T.T. There's a santa's grotto created in the patio in front of the hotel and little Santas can be seen peering in through the dining room windows, a jolly santa chuckles as you come in, there's reindeer, a sled, pine branches woven through the fencing and .....oh - go and see it, even if you don't stay there.

Evening meals weren't included but we ate there twice. The food was OK but nothing very special. Old school germanic. I found it odd that I couldn't charge the meals and drinks to the room.

The downside was that it pays for being central by being very noisy. There's one of these automatic barriers that prevents access into the street except for service vehicles. It beeps noisily when it goes down and again when it is coming up. So the bin collection, late night taxis, early morning deliveries and so on all led to a really penetrating two tone beeping while the bollard did it's stuff. There was quite a lot of late night (midnight plus) pedestrian traffic on the street outside and the setting in a little square seemed to amplify the noise of the shouting and lengthy discussions probably fuelled by beer.

Would I go back? Probably not. Nothing against the hotel but the noise really disrupted my sleep.

Room Tip: One with ear plugs facing away from the main street.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2011

We entered the hotel Löwen because it was close to the Spa and because it was a three star hotel. We wanted it to be minimum three stars.

I would probably rate this between three and four stars. The room was definitely clean, silent, high standard - not a great view, but none needed. The beds were good quality, clean. The shower was very good, the bathroom clean and nice and of high standard.

The restaurant was very good offering Bavarian dishes. Not big restaurant, but folksy and local type. The breakfast next morning was across the tiny town square and into a separate hotel where there was a small breakfast, although more than sufficient.

We paid 95 Euros for a room, and that was a really good deal in my eyes. Probably the best value for money for the trip we had.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Morten L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews