We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel zum Goldenen Lowen
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Alte Laterne(Baden-Baden)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Bischoff(Baden-Baden)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel zur Altstadt(Baden-Baden)
View Hotel
Hotel Am Markt(Baden-Baden)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Hotel am Sophienpark(Baden-Baden)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Roemerhof(Baden-Baden)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Quellenhof(Baden-Baden)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Haus Reichert(Baden-Baden)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (92)
Filter reviews
92 results
Traveller rating
28
33
23
5
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
28
33
23
5
3
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 92 reviews
Reviewed 18 April 2013

As it's situated in a pedestrian area the satnav was struggling to take us to the door so we parked the car and made our way to the hotel and received a tremendous welcome. We registered and were sat down with coffee whilst young Paolo offered to go to the car park to collect our cases from the car and what a great first impression these things created.
The hotel itself is bierkeller style, with very comfortable (and quiet) rooms and a spacious bathroom with a brilliant shower.
We had lunch in the cellar and the service was very good, the waiter was particularly helpful and the food was good. Breakfast the following morning was served in a place across the road and offered a good choice plus quality food. Again, the service was exemplary.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ashover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

This is a nice small hotel with a traditional bavarian restaurant on the ground floor. Was there with a bunch of friends and we had a real good time. Nice clean rooms, with good enough heating and the family room on the 2nd floor was just right for 4 adults. The staff is also very friendly and helpful.

The location is also just right, walking distance from the 2 best bathing houses in baden-baden. I'd surely stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shreyance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2013

Weekend break and wanted central location and hotel served us well. Only a couple of minutes to the two spas. Hotel entrance is through the pub below, although there was no noise while we were there. Room was alright, not great, not terrible, very clean, warm enough and with a lovely shower. If you're after luxury I would look elsewhere, but for a midrange central location you can do worse than stay here.

Top Tip
- Entrance is through the pub below
- Bring tea bags as our room had a mini kitchen and tea making facilities but no tea/coffee
- To get to the hotel from the airport and to save a taxi, take the 205 from the airport to the bus station which is the last stop(E3.20). Then take the 201 from the bus station (E2.30) and get off at alexanderplatz. From there it is about a 5 minute across the main square to the hotel.
- the hotel does a nice pint of beer!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BLlimited
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2012

The location is located in the pedestrian zone so it can be tricky to get there if you are following your GPS. It can also be tricky to find since reception is IN the restaurant and the signing isn't clear if you are coming from certain directions. The rooms themselves are clean. Once there it is an easy walk to find food or to go to the baths.Our room didn't have a view but we were out and about all day so there wasn't really a need for it. Breakfast is at a separate restaurant across the street but its close so it is not a big deal. All in all it was good but if you are looking for a place to stay that is super fancy and nice this probably is not the place you want to stay. If you are looking for a centrally located place this is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ihearttravel99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2012

Third time I've been to Baden-Baden for the Christmas Markets and I'd seen this hotel before, enjoyed a cup of coffee and decided to stay on my most recent visit. It's really central, close to the shops, a short stroll to the Spa(s) and to the main attraction - the Christmas Market.

The room itself was great. Big comfortable bed. There was only one pillow each but we were given more as soon as we asked. When we first went into the room it was quite cold but soon warmed up once we turned on the heaters. There was a decent shower room and we felt very comfortable.

Breakfast was served in the cafe over the road. It was a decent enough buffet although not overly exciting. A delightful waitress fussed over us making sure we had enough tea and coffee and nothing seeemed to be too much trouble for her.

The Christmas decorations are splendidly wonderfully extravagently madly O.T.T. There's a santa's grotto created in the patio in front of the hotel and little Santas can be seen peering in through the dining room windows, a jolly santa chuckles as you come in, there's reindeer, a sled, pine branches woven through the fencing and .....oh - go and see it, even if you don't stay there.

Evening meals weren't included but we ate there twice. The food was OK but nothing very special. Old school germanic. I found it odd that I couldn't charge the meals and drinks to the room.

The downside was that it pays for being central by being very noisy. There's one of these automatic barriers that prevents access into the street except for service vehicles. It beeps noisily when it goes down and again when it is coming up. So the bin collection, late night taxis, early morning deliveries and so on all led to a really penetrating two tone beeping while the bollard did it's stuff. There was quite a lot of late night (midnight plus) pedestrian traffic on the street outside and the setting in a little square seemed to amplify the noise of the shouting and lengthy discussions probably fuelled by beer.

Would I go back? Probably not. Nothing against the hotel but the noise really disrupted my sleep.

Room Tip: One with ear plugs facing away from the main street.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews