We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Traube Tonbach
Nearby Hotels
US$165
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$140
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$100
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$92
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Lamm(Baiersbronn)
US$150
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$144
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Nationalpark-Hotel Schliffkopf(Baiersbronn)
US$357
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Sackmann(Baiersbronn)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Krone(Baiersbronn)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Schwanen(Baiersbronn)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (624)
Filter reviews
624 results
Traveller rating
491
81
34
11
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
491
81
34
11
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsblack forestmain buildingbreakfast buffetcomfortable roomsfive starkids clubdriving tripfamily apartmentfirst ratefinest hotelsworld classspoke good englishthe main dining roomhotel restaurantsexceptional qualityoff the beaten pathuntil noon
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
100 - 105 of 624 reviews
Reviewed 10 March 2014

hotel was great, friendly and beutifull
the spa was great and interesting- a lot of different pools and a nice sauna area
Breakfest was amazing!!!!
the restaurant - one of the best i have ever been in

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vizaim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamilieFinkbeiner, Inhaber at Hotel Traube Tonbach, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

Dear guest,

thank you very much for your stay at Hotel Traube Tonbach and your great recommendation on Tripadvisor. We are really happy that you enjoyed our different areas like our SPA, breakfast and breakfast.

We are looking forward to welcome you again. With the best greetings from the Tonbach valley

Your family Finkbeiner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We had a very memorable short weekend break at Traube Tonbach, everything was perfect! Fantastic restaurants with divine food, amazing breakfast, awesome pool and sauna area (loved the outdoor heated pool!), comfortable and good sized room, friendly and attentive staff. It's definitely a destination on its own. Yes, pricey, but well worth it.
On our first day, we had lunch at the famous Schwarzwaldstube, needless to say, every aspect was perfection, totally deserves its 3 Michelin stars. The next day, we were treated to a huge satisfying breakfast that lasted us through to dinner time. We went walking on one of the many trails around and enjoyed the pool and sauna area after. And finished off the day with a wonderful dinner at Köhlerstube, really really good food.
The only downside is that we only stayed for 2 nights and had to return to the 'real' world after such pure indulgence and pampering time at the Traube Tonbach. We would love to go back again!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunshine_penguin00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamilieFinkbeiner, Inhaber at Hotel Traube Tonbach, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

Dear guest,

thank you so much for your lovely recommendation on Tripadvisor and for your pleasant visit here at Traube Tonbach. We are really happy, you enjoyed your stay and that you could use the bride range of options, we can offer to our guests. Of course we will share your positive opinion to our team.

We are looking forward to welcome you again and remain with the best greetings from the Tonbach valley

Your Family Finkbeiner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

absolutely charming and up to the mark in all aspect. While a bit pricy the experience is worth the tag and the outstanding friendlyness of the employees make sure you have a perfect stay.
Nicely located in a charming environment, it will ensure you have a relaxing and joyful time in the black forest.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank okrased
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamilieFinkbeiner, Inhaber at Hotel Traube Tonbach, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Dear guest,

thank you very much for your stay at Hotel Traube Tonbach and the great recommendation on Tripadvisor. Therefore that our employees are the most important part to pamper our guests and make you feel like home, we have been very happy to read your great comments concerning to them. Of course we will share your positive opinion to the whole Hotel Traube Tonbach with them.

We are looking forward to welcome you again and remain with the best greetings from the Tonbach valley

Your Family Finkbeiner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

we have spend our New Year Eve 3 nights in the hotel, we just enjoy our time! Great foodies, great diner for the 31st Eve Gala Diner, but we really had great time by the pool, sauna and SPA.
Time to relax, attentive employee, dedicated staff to satisfy guest requirement.
Bravo and all the best for 2014, we will be back.

Room Tip: Both side are good, either the valley or the forest !
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EdgardGM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamilieFinkbeiner, Inhaber at Hotel Traube Tonbach, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2014

Dear Mr Edgar G M,
Thank you for your stay at the Hotel Traube Tonbach and the nice review on Tripadvisor. We are really happy that we have been able to make your New Years Eve a memorable event and that we could meet your expectations in every single department like in the SPA & RESORT. Of course we will share your positive comments with the whole team of the Hotel Traube Tonbach.
In pleasant anticipation to welcome you again, we wish you the best for 2014, too and send you the best greetings from the Tonbach valley
Your family Finkbeiner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at the Traube Tonbach. It is a destination in itself, with fantastic restaurants, comfortable rooms, an amazing spa, great pools and warm cosy siting areas in which to have lunch or some afternoon tea.

We had the "half board" package, which was the room, breakfast and dinner, with all meals in the Silberberg restaurant. We didn't know what to expect with the half board restaurant but the food and service were great. It seats 250 people, so it's pretty big, but there was loads of food at the buffet nights and dozens of people serving. On non-buffet night nights, the service was also really fast. The quality of the food was terrific - we were really happy to eat there. We ate there four nights and it was different each night, but consistently high quality. We don't speak enough German to translate a full menu, but there was an English version provided each day and almost all of the staff speak at least some English, and in many cases, excellent English. The dress code seemed to be more than casual from what we observed, with some people getting really quite dressed up for dinner. Given we were on a six week trip from Australia, we didn't pack those sort of clothes so we did get some funny looks at times. Nothing to worry us though!

On one night, we ate at the three Michelin star Schwartzwaldstube restaurant - see my separate review. It was amazing and we would absolutely recommend a meal there.

The room was comfortable and a decent size, although a bit warm when we first got there. We ended up keeping the windows slightly ajar and this kept the room to around 20-22 degrees. It was otherwise around 25 degrees, which was too hot for us. The room was cleaned to a high standard each day.

The spa was divine. We had a number of treatments - scrubs, facials and massages - and they were great. The spa itself is a new building and it was just beautiful with a very relaxed feel. If you are going at a busy time, it is important to book any treatments you want in advance to make sure you get in. It can be a busy place. It is definitely worth treating yourself though. The hotel website has the spa menu on it with all the treatments and prices.

There is a really nice sitting area with a view over the valley, where lunch is available (a decent range of meals from spaghetti bolognaise for EUR8 I think to three mini gourmet burgers for EUR15). It gets the sun and it was lovely sitting there with a cup of tea in the warmth when it was zero degrees outside. The only negative was that people could smoke at the bar and so sometimes it wafted over.

There is a jewellery shop as part of the hotel, with a catalogue in the room. The main offering is from a German jeweller called Scheffel, but there are other pieces too. In house guests get a 10% discount. There are some absolutely lovely pieces, and the woman who works there is really nice too. She didn't speak much English but we managed to communicate about a ring purchase and she called in for English speaking assistance when we needed it!

The fitness room contains two bikes, two cross trainers, two treadmills, around five weights machines and free weights. It was nice and air conditioned too. There is also a range of swimming pools, but the highlight for us was the outside one heated to 32 degrees. You could enter it from the inside of the bulding so no need to actually get out in the zero degrees if you don't want to.

The only negatives about the Traube Tonbach were the internet (it was free and allegedly high speed, but we found it inconsistent to access at all and rarely high speed) and the fact that people can smoke in the hotel. At times, the hallways would smell of smoke and the bar often did, and that was not pleasant. These however weren't negative enough to reduce our enjoyment of our stay, although we were frustrated at the internet at times! Most of the other guests seemed to be speaking German so perhaps wifi was not as important to them, but we travel with our Australian mobiles and ipads so need wifi to avoid massive roaming charges (thanks Telstra...), and decent (i.e. fast and reliable) wifi is pretty much standard now in hotels from our experience.

We felt very welcome at the Traube Tonbach, which does have a family-owned feel. In fact, the owner and his son came to say hi on a few occasions and did that with other guests too. We would definitely return and would recommend the hotel to others.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Feeber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamilieFinkbeiner, Inhaber at Hotel Traube Tonbach, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2014

Dear guest,
Thank you very much for your stay at the Hotel Traube Tonbach and your extensive and fantastic review on Tripadvisor. It is always the greatest confirmation of our work, if our guests are completely satisfied with nearly every single aspect of their visiting. Because the Hotel Traube Tonbach is a family-owned business we like to provide a familiar and relaxing atmosphere, which make our guests feel like being home.
We are really happy that we have been able to meet and overfull fills your expectations to our half board packages in our Restaurant Silberberg. It is our ambition to meet the taste of every single guest with our wide range of food offers from Swabian specialties to international dishes in the four restaurants Silberberg, Köhlerstube, Bauernstube and of course our gourmet restaurant Schwarzwaldstube – Hotel Traube Tonbach. Therefore we have many guests from abroad it is a self-evidence for us to keep multilingual menus available.
In the half board package is also included our delightful afternoon with a variation of cakes and pastry which takes place in the hotel hall with the nice sitting area which you mentioned in your review. We feel really sorry that you have been disturbed by the smell of smoke from our smoking area. We have taken notice of that and trying to find a better solution for this problem.
Our SPA & RESORT with an area of round about 4000qm with 6 swimming pools and a fitness room was completely reconstructed in 2012 and we are very happy that you enjoyed your treatments there. Every treatment room has another motto like “happiness” which shall create an atmosphere of well-being and relaxing. Since the end of last year we offer next to other luxurious products the brand SISLEY to pamper our guests in best way.
Since 2012 we also have extended the shopping area in the hotel with our own jeweler, wine shop and the Traube Lädle, where you can buy souvenirs and products of the Traube Tonbach like spices or chocolate. It was a pleasure for us to read that you enjoyed the shopping there.
Last but not least we want to apologies for the problems that you have had with the wifi. Our reception team will be happy to assist you at your next visit with the access and other arising issues to make your stay as nearly perfect as possible.
We are looking forward to welcome you again at the Hotel Traube Tonbach and with the best wishes for the New Year
Your family Finkbeiner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews