We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint but just OK”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Gutshof - Hotel Waldknechtshof
Ranked #14 of 32 Hotels in Baiersbronn
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Don't be fooled by the quaint images of the unique post and beam construction of this renovated barn. Everything was nice, but the overall feel from the owners/staff was cool and distant. There were two helpful staff that spoke English, but others seemed to remain at arms length. Dinner was very expensive and not that great. Breakfast was cooked to order and well done.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (58)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 58 reviews

Reviewed 23 October 2012

we only stayed one night. Would have enjoyed to spend a bit more time. Its a very unusual place, in a former oxen barn. Lots of character. Tall people will have to be careful though, there are some very low exposed wooden beams in the rooms. But the rooms are spacious, even set up for housekeeping, with a well disguised small cooking area ( it rises out of an old chest) and refrigerator. Lots of nice antique touches. Great bedding. Wonderful breakfast.
we ate in the Bistro , which our check-in person recommended. They employ young people who are interns,learning the hospitality business, and speak several languages. We enjoyed them !
Its a 'we will return' place,for sure.

Room Tip: it depends on your priorities. We didn't need the kitchen facilities. Not sure whether there was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oregonoma4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2012

We stayed two nights with our three children at Waldknechtshof and had a mixed experience.
To start with the good things we were pleasantly surprised to see how big the apartment on the top floor was; it had three bedrooms, a large living room with a kitchenette and a big bathroom with both bath tub and separate shower cabin, also there were two toilets. The apartment was well furnished and the view from the windows spectacular.
The hotel has both a bistro and a restaurant and we reserved a table at the restaurant at 7 p.m. the first night (restaurant is open from 6-10 p.m.). In short, we had a bad night at the restaurant as the service was extremely slow. For a restaurant with this high prices we had expected better and more expedient service, although the quality of the food was very good. On top of this we were offered a complementary glass of desert wine to make up for the long waiting times between courses, only to find out while reading through the bill after check-out two days later that we had been charged €15 for this "complementary" desert wine. Rather than risk another evening of waiting, we decided to eat at the Italian restaurant across the street the next evening, which is highly recommendable. The breakfast at the hotel was quite good though and the service good.
The hotel offers free wi-fi, but the signal seems not to reach the top floor and I had always to go down to the first floor to be able to connect; this was not a big problem as we were only there for two nights, but for longer stays this would be very annoying. I notified the staff and they said they would have a technician come over to fix the problem, so hopefully future guests won't have this problem.
To summarise, we loved the apartment but were let down by the service at the restaurant. Perhaps we were unlucky as there were many guests dining at the restaurant that particular night, but still they shouldn't take in more dining guests than the staff can handle. The restaurant is supposed to be high class and the menu prices are in accordance with that ambition - as is the food - but the service needs improving.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Andres I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2011

Traveling with four adults and two kids. Got the two bedroom apartment and had friends take the loft. GREAT rooms. Clean, comfortable, great beds. Kids had their own room. Quiet area. Loft was outstanding!!! Wished we would have been there as the views were great.

Dined in the lower restaurant first night. Wow. Outstanding food and service. We raved about the dinner and we are fairly discriminating diners. Michael went WAY out of his way to get us taken care of. He is very good with guest services and should do very well here. Prices for food and wines were not too bad. Didn't know much about German Rieslings but were steered the right way. Nice job, Waldknechtshof!

Room Tip: Book the lofts. Trust me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cyclonebrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2010

We stayed here for 2 nights. It's located just off the main road but there is no noise at all.
The rooms are very spacious, decoration is a bit sparse and not very personal. Our family had two adjoining rooms which worked out very well.

Breakfast is the usual dependable German spread, lots of fresh bread, yoghurts, cereals, fresh eggs, etc
There is a kind of bistro for informal meals in the evening and a fancier restaurant. A word of warning, try to eat before large groups descend on the restaurant, otherwise one could wait for ages. The food however was well prepared and there is a good German wine list.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eh_64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2008

Just returned from a weekend at the Waldknechtshof and had a most enjoyable stay. The staff were very friendly and the rooms charming. The restaurant downstairs was amazing - we loved it so much we went back again the second night. The only thing we missed was the lack of nearby pubs/bars to walk to, but we still had a great time. Would highly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pjfLondon_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2008

We stayed here for 1 night after driving from Austria back to the UK. We didn't know what to expect as never stayed in a small village before and had not been able to book a room in the Black Forest for 2 adults and 2 children. We had an apartment which was in the roof of the hotel and the views were amazing. The apartment was very large with a large sofa bed for the children downstairs and an upstairs open planned bedroom for us. This was not what we were expecting so was a lovely suprise. The hotel was very quite and we found a nice italian restaurant opposite for dinner.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Olivia035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Baiersbronn hotels
2 mi away
Hotel Traube Tonbach
Hotel Traube Tonbach
#3 of 32 in Baiersbronn
606 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel Lamm
Hotel Lamm
#12 of 32 in Baiersbronn
126 reviews
6 mi away
Flair Hotel Sonnenhof
Flair Hotel Sonnenhof
#17 of 32 in Baiersbronn
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Hotel Sackmann
Hotel Sackmann
#5 of 32 in Baiersbronn
253 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hotel Schwanen
Hotel Schwanen
#23 of 32 in Baiersbronn
21 reviews
8.3 mi away
Nationalpark-Hotel Schliffkopf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gutshof - Hotel Waldknechtshof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gutshof - Hotel Waldknechtshof

Address: Baiersbronner Str. 4 | Klosterreichenbach, 72270 Baiersbronn, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Region: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Baiersbronn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Baiersbronn
#10 Romantic Hotel in Baiersbronn
Price Range: £110 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gutshof - Hotel Waldknechtshof 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Gutshof - Hotel Waldknechtshof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waldknechtshof Hotel Baiersbronn
Gutshof - Hotel Waldknechtshof Baiersbronn, Germany - Baden-Wurttemberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing