We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Paradies
Nearby Hotels
US$147
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Bierhaeusle Hotel-Restaurant(Freiburg im Breisgau)
US$151
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$144
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
IntercityHotel Freiburg(Freiburg im Breisgau)
US$145
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$138
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Novotel Freiburg(Freiburg im Breisgau)
US$131
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$121
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$116
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$109
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$152
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$146
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Clarion Hotel Hirschen(Freiburg im Breisgau)
US$205
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$122
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mercure Hotel Panorama Freiburg(Freiburg im Breisgau)
US$129
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$123
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Alex Hotel(Freiburg im Breisgau)
US$127
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$121
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel Stadt Freiburg(Freiburg im Breisgau)
US$188
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$132
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (57)
Filter reviews
57 results
Traveller rating
16
25
9
4
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
16
25
9
4
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstop floorold townpensiongermanfreiburg
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 57 reviews
Reviewed 18 April 2013

I stayed for 2 nights. The rooms are inexpensive, 59 euros for a large room for one person with private bath. The bathroom was great - heated floor, lots of hot water and good water pressure. The bed was OK, but the sheets were scratchy. Being on the top floor was nice because the restaurant below is noisy but I couldn't hear anything. There was one computer in the hall on the second floor that didn't always work. I ate in the restaurant several times. The food was great, with lots of vegetarian choices, but the service was erratic. Breakfast is not included in the price. There is no elevator so keep that in mind if you have luggage and are staying on the top floor.

Room Tip: Rooms on top floor are quiet.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mid214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2011

Our weekend at Pension Paradies was a bit odd. There were so many things that went well and others that were just off.

Pros:
-Our room was comfortable and our bathroom was massive! It was actually much bigger than the bedroom.
-We had access to a wrap-around terrace which looked very nice.
-Things seemed clean.
-Location was close to the train station but not in a dodgy area.

Cons:
-As a previous reviewer mentioned, the check-in and check-out process was a bit haphazard.
-Even though the bathroom was massive, the shower had no shower curtain and it made the place like a wet room. Even taking a short shower flooded the entire room. This made it fairly dangerous to walk around as it was so slippery.
-They only have one set of keys so if you are staying as a group of friends you have to coordinate and cannot simply go in and out separately.
-We were lucky that the people staying around us weren't that noisy, but when they did wake up and move about, we could hear them.
-The room was sparse and the little details were missing. Yes, there were coffee and tea fixings, but they were old (only one or two teabags) and we used the tea cups on our first day and by our third day the tea cups were still sitting there and hadn't been cleaned or replaced.

I guess you get what you pay for. Pension Paradies is very reasonably priced.

Overall, I probably would stay somewhere else if I were to go to Freiburg again. But for basic, cheap accommodations it works out okay.

Room Tip: Room #11 had a large bathroom.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank hkteach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2011

We stayed at the Paradies for one night on our way from France to Italy. We really enjoyed our stay and would go back.
The building is very welcoming with a very nice restaurant with leafy outdoor seating. Across the cul-de-sac road there's a park with a little playground ideal if you are staying with children and a dog as we were!
Our room on the last floor was modern, unpretentious, clean and spacious enough for all of us (one double bed, two smaller beds and a cot bed). It also had a small fridge.
Overall, the pension/restaurant has a really good feel: yes, it seems to be managed by very young people and you are a bit lost in terms of checking in and getting help, but everyone makes you feel very welcome and is very helpful once you grab their attention. The restaurant food is good (we had dinner and breakfast there) and reasonably priced.
The only reason for not giving the Paradies full marks is that our room definitely needed some block-out blinds in the normal window and it also lacked a fan - it was very hot that night and keeping the window open meant lots of noise coming from the restaurant below.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cha72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2011

I'm a little conflicted about Pension Paradies. The location was fine, an easy walk from the train station in a quiet neighborhood. Our room was huge and very well appointed. It was clean with a comfortable bed and large private bathroom. There were nice touches like a flower on the table with apples as a centerpiece, however the flower was wilted and dying and the apples were shriveling. Those things aren't particularly important, but little details like that can tip the scale when you're not sure exactly how you felt about a place.

When we arrived it was confusing where to check-in since Paradies is also a restaurant. The staff is young and I didn't get the feeling anyone was really in charge. As guests at the pension, we felt like a bit of an afterthought to the restaurant staff (who were the ones we had to check-in with). The process of getting into our room and then paying for it later seemed a little unorganized. In fairness, we did arrive on Christmas day, so perhaps our experience was out of the ordinary. It's a good choice for a clean, comfortable place to stay. We just had warmer receptions at the other places we stayed during our trip, and those pensions set the bar for this review.

The breakfast in the restaurant had a huge selection and was very good, and the majority of the staff were very nice. I think Paradies would be a good choice for younger travelers, or very laid-back people.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicopier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2009

We stayed in a twin room (room no 2 on 1st floor I believe) with shared facilities for 1 night. It was good value for money (53 euros, with 20 euros to be paid as deposit at time of booking) and they gave us a nice airy room with big window. Room was clean and relatively spacious. Toilet and bathroom facilities were right outside our room: clean and decent. There was a washbasin in our room, as well as tea/coffee making facilities.
The pensione is directly above the restaurant, occupying 2 floors, and a door in the staircase ensures that pension guests are not affected by cooking fumes and noise downstairs. As our room overlooks the carpark, we could hear some gravel crunching sounds and muttered conversations from restaurant guests in the carpark up to 10.30pm or so, but it wasn't intrusive at all. There was an internet terminal outside our room, complimentary for guests, but the computer was quite slow as its cache was full I think. The TV in our room didn't work or we couldn't get it to work-not a big issue for us.
To get to the hotel, take the rear exit of the Freiburg train station (front exit leads to town centre), walk for about 10-15 min, walk into restaurant and approach the supervisor looking person behind the cash counter who doubles as the person in charge of the pensione (no point asking waitresses, they will direct you to the same person). The staff we dealt with were nice and friendly. This place is a nice oasis in sunny Freiburg and a good value stay for budget conscious travellers. Downside only maybe the location-you are not in Freiburg town centre, but hey it's only a 25 min walk or short tram ride (take tram from raised platform connected to train station)away.

Stayed: May 2009, travelled with friends
1  Thank enokilover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews