We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, character, comfort and service!”
Review of Hotel Kreuzblume

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Kreuzblume
Certificate of Excellence
Northumberland
Level Contributor
246 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Location, character, comfort and service!”
Reviewed 1 July 2013

A small, family run hotel in the old town. Perfectly located and nice, modern rooms (although no air con). The staff genuinely care, as it is their business, and we really felt at home. The street is quiet, the beds comfortable and so you get a good nights sleep (although, as with many similar towns, the church bells can be heard). Coupled with a fantastic restaurant, I would highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank StevieC_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    41
    10
    4
    2
See reviews for
21
55
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2013

I read the reviews for this hotel before booking. Thought it would be a nice place in the old part of town. We stayed for a few days in June and weren't impressed. The area was nice, but the room was very average. I felt like I was staying at a relative's house, and just had to put up with the mediocre accommodations. Unfortunately this place was not free, like a relatives house would be, so we cut our stay short to stay somewhere else.

The hallways were dark and gloomy, the room was small and dingy, the chair in the room was broken, the bathroom was tiny and cramped and overall not a very nice place. Didn't even bother with the restaurant, because I wasn't impressed with the hotel. Very disappointing experience for a once in a lifetime trip. I'm glad we went somewhere else, and will never be back to this hotel.

The city of Freiburg was an incredible place. Full of cute shops and nice people. Lots of history here, and a pleasant environment for a vacation in the Black Forest. Apart from the hotel, we had a fabulous time.

Room Tip: Find a room in another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David_S33324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
109 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2013

During a recent vacation to Germany’s Black Forest, my wife and I stayed at the lovely little Hotel Kreuzblume in Freiburg. For years I’d wanted to visit that quaint little town in southwestern Germany, and was not disappointed despite the rain while we were there. The hotel is located on a narrow cobblestone street, draped with flowers, in the historic district which is full of museums, shops, eateries, and nice places to stroll. A few blocks away you can hike up the Schlossberg for a beer and great view of the town and its surroundings. There’s a central shopping street with a somewhat gross McDonalds sign plastered onto one of the arched old gateways. (I can bet the old timers loved to see that sign put up! I found it offensive, and I don’t even live there.)

Anyway, we enjoyed our small, but well-kept room, and the owners and chefs (brothers, I think) were very accommodating to our needs – even bringing up some complementary hot tea when my wife felt a little under the weather. While there was no lobby in the hotel where we could just sit and relax, there was a very nice restaurant on the ground floor where you choose your meal from a list based on the number of courses you’d like. I chose a two-course meal and was impressed by the excellent taste and presentation. A very pleasant eating experience. I arrived for dinner a little before the traditional dinner hour, so at first I thought I would have the restaurant to myself, but it soon filled up. If there was a small downside, there was not always someone at the desk 24/7 (which also served as the bar in the restaurant), but for us it was no problem. There was always someone there in late afternoon and I imagine you could call for assistance from your room if necessary. I highly recommend this place with its photogenic setting in the old town section of Freiburg, just a stones’ throw from the Augustiner Museum.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pete B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2013

As a travel agent, I like to research the hotels I send my clients. This time it was for me and family, and it is a fabulous choice, on the prettiest street - flowers growing up the buildings and hanging overhead like a canopy. In the old town where everything is walking distance. Great owners great rooms wonderful little restaurant on the street level of the hotel best choice

Room Tip: The ones facing the street have great views but the garbage trucks come down the street very early
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2013

Probably in the prettiest street in Freiburg, this Hotel is a gem! A warm welcome by the charming owners was matched by them accommodating a change in our reservation without any fuss. And then the restaurant: sympathetically "cool" in style (modern and very tasteful) the limited menu is simply delicious. Local dishes are presented with haute cuisine stylishness and flair. Very refined. Rooms are modern and immaculate. The corridors are cleaned by a robot! We have to come back!

Room Tip: Maybe ask for back of Hotel. Early rising street cleaners and late clubbers may be noisy but no wors...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haarlem
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2013

My stay in Hotel Kreuzblume was truly wonderful. The hotel is on a charming, wisteria decorated small street at the foot of the Schlossberg. The famous tiny canals run along the Konvikstrasse's small boutiques, but city conveniences such as a parking garage and high street shopping are steps away. The hotel is run by 2 Dutch brothers and a German woman, who take every care with your stay and are very hospitable. English, German, and Dutch are spoken fluently, and their enthusiasm for their work is obvious in the immaculate and simple grace of the decor. The rooms are simply decorated with a design theme, and beds are box spring - an unusual find in Europe and very welcome to this American! Thus I slept comfortably with a cool breeze from the window which could be opened a crack or fully, depending on what you want. Another welcome feature not readily found in small hotels in medieval city centers was an elevator, making luggage transfer less of a sweaty exercise than usual. The rooms have TV, hair dryer, great pillows and the rain style shower in the bathroom was heavenly. Overall a great value for money and I will definitely return - not in the least for the splendid restaurant which I have written a separate review about. This hotel is a perfect base for exploring the very walk-able city center, and venturing further afield to the wine country and Basel/Mulhouse.

Room Tip: Rooms in the front have view of the cobblestone street but can be noisier in the evenings with foot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AvBakenes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene OR
Level Contributor
65 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2013

This sweet little hotel is on a narrow scenic side street in Freiburg, with easy access to interesting antique stores and other shops of various kinds. The hotel is small and will need to know when to expect you so there'll be someone to unlock the door. Staff were helpful and cheerful. The room was comfortable and clean with a great bed, and the breakfast was just fine for us, not a huge variety but certainly enough good fresh food. The WiFi in the room was good. The only thing is, if you're walking from the train station expect to be pulling your suitcase along cobblestones for 15 minutes to get here!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KarenGH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Freiburg im Breisgau hotels
0.6 mi away
The Alex Hotel
The Alex Hotel
#3 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Oberkirch
Hotel Oberkirch
#7 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Victoria
Best Western Premier Hotel Victo...
#4 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mercure Hotel Freiburg am Muenster
Mercure Hotel Freiburg am Muenst...
#6 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 875 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Colombi
Hotel Colombi
#2 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
0.6 mi away
Novotel Freiburg
Novotel Freiburg
#9 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kreuzblume? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kreuzblume

Property: Hotel Kreuzblume
Address: Konviktstr. 31, 79098 Freiburg im Breisgau, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Region: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Freiburg im Breisgau
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Freiburg im Breisgau
#7 Romantic Hotel in Freiburg im Breisgau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Kreuzblume 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Hotel Kreuzblume reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Kreuzblume Germany/Freiburg Im Breisgau, Baden-Wurttemberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing