We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel on the prettiest street”
Review of Hotel Kreuzblume

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Kreuzblume
Certificate of Excellence
Ireland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel on the prettiest street”
Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

This hotel gets good reviews for very good reason. It is located on possibly the prettiest street in Freiburg. It is within an old building but inside the rooms are modern & light & airy. It has free wi-fi. It is very conveniently located less than 3 minutes walk the lovely main square, a further 3 minutes will take you to the main shopping street. When I arrived I got a taxi from the train station but even that is a handy 15 minute walk. The staff were very nice & welcoming, I didn't get the pleasure of having dinner in the restaurant but by all accounts it is very good. I very much recommend this lovely little hotel!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank itchyfeet1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    42
    10
    4
    2
See reviews for
21
55
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Four of us stayed here just after Christmas 2013. The hotel is in a great location close to the Cathedral and in the heart of it all. The staff gave us advice when we asked on where to get a good German meal, a beer etc. and every time it was spot on. You get the real sense that the staff here care about providing good service. Freiburg is a great destination and we would definitely stay here again if / when we return.

Room Tip: Both rooms we had were great and both were on the street entrance side. I'd ask for that side a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PaulVictor_6008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014

Stayed one night at Hotel Kreuzblume during a family trip to Germany. The hotel is very small and on one of the most charming streets in Freiburg. Rooms are clean and adequate, no frills. The staff at the hotel is extremely friendly and work very hard to run the hotel and restaurant. We had one of our best meals of the entire Germany trip at the Kreuzblume restaurant, I highly recommend it! We had a very early train to catch the next morning so the kitchen and staff started early just to make us breakfast before we left which I was really impressed by.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chicago31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013 via mobile

Smaller hotel with stylish touches and great staff. This hotel is on a lovely little street (especially picturesque at Christmas time) with restaurants nearby and parking just 2-mins away. Very convenient! We had a quiet room, as requested, and slept very well - though the bed may not be as supportive for some. Staff were helpful with restaurant recommendations and with the included breakfast (the waitress checked on us several times during the buffet). The food was delicious. I would stay at this hotel again and recommend it to those looking for a smaller hotel.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Banana_abroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nijmegen
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Small hotel at great location, right in the middle of the old city in one of the most beautiful streets of Freiburg. Friendly owners, clean and modern rooms. Great shower and beds. Breakfast is served in restaurant with friendly staff and fresh, fantastic coffee! Close by parking in nearby parking garage. It was our first visit to Freiburg and it surprised us positively.
Restauran

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 2bataves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

I stayed only one night, but would have loved to stay longer. The room was nice, bathroom little bit old, but very clean with very good toiletries. The staff is very friendly and professional. The food in the restaurant was just wonderful and I had the best wine ever (would love to know what is was exactly, forgot to ask for the name).
Location is perfect, right in the center of the Altstadt.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Acacias_Niteroi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Onchan
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

From the moment we arrived until the moment we left the friendliness and efficiency of the owner and his colleagues was exemplary. We stayed only one night, but wished it could have been longer. The restaurant food was superb and service was excellent. Whilst there is no direct parking, it's only a very short walk from what looks like a very safe (and well-lit) car park. The location is excellent, and the rooms are very clean and comfortable. It might be a bit noisy on a warm summer evening (no air-con so open windows) but that's a small price to pay for staying so close to the heart of a historic and picturesque city. We loved it and will definitely go back.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Freiburg im Breisgau hotels
0.2 mi away
Mercure Hotel Freiburg am Muenster
Mercure Hotel Freiburg am Muenst...
#6 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
886 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Alex Hotel
The Alex Hotel
#1 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
296 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Oberkirch
Hotel Oberkirch
#5 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Victoria
Best Western Premier Hotel Victo...
#4 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
350 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Colombi
Hotel Colombi
#3 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
436 reviews
0.6 mi away
Novotel Freiburg
Novotel Freiburg
#9 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
1,604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kreuzblume? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kreuzblume

Property: Hotel Kreuzblume
Address: Konviktstr. 31, 79098 Freiburg im Breisgau, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Region: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Freiburg im Breisgau
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Freiburg im Breisgau
#7 Romantic Hotel in Freiburg im Breisgau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Kreuzblume 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Hotel Kreuzblume reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Kreuzblume Germany/Freiburg Im Breisgau, Baden-Wurttemberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing