We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst Hotel I have stayed in for some time”

Hotel Sonne Freiburg
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Sonne Freiburg
st.anton
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Worst Hotel I have stayed in for some time”
Reviewed 6 August 2012

I needed to find a hotel in Freiburg last minute whilst driving down to Austria and the Hotel Sonne was the only one that I could find with a room - I soon found out why. I was told that they only had a room without a shower or toilet available so I accepted that in advance. However the mattress was worn out and uncomfortable, there were no curtains in the room and it faced onto a well lit street. I was charged an extra 10 Euro to park my car off street (London rates but not quality!). I have stayed in many hotels around Europe over the last few years, some expensive and some not but this was for sure the worst in terms of quality and certainly in terms of value for money. I would not stay again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mikeinstanton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    10
    3
    4
    3
See reviews for
4
7
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2012

Nice hotel, walkable to town with very friendly staff and good common areas. Our room was larger than expected and very clean. Recommended if you don't want to be in the thick of town. An easy tram ride into the main part of freiburg though. Many shared bathrooms and toilets so that is not an issue.
We didn't try the breakfast at €12 a night so I can't comment on this.
No tvs In the rooms but a good tv in the main common area.

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank nosey_emma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2012

It doesn't look much from the outside, and the rooms only serve to confirm this.
An older hotel, on the outskirts of the town centre, at least the rates are cheap.
Good if you're on a budget.
Off street parking is an extra 10 euro a night.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SeanC67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Freiburg im Breisgau hotels

USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2012

This hotel is nothing much from the outside, and looks a little old and run down, but inside it is lovely.

Positive: new clean rooms, nice breakfast, nice lounge and lobby, affordable pricing, friendly staff

Negative: slightly away from downtown (15 min walk, or short tram ride), rooms are hostel style so not fancy, noise from hall comes into room, no en suite bathrooms, etc.

Bottom line: a great option for traveling on a budget. Clean, pleasant and practical.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2011

This is a very 'traditional' German hotel, old fashioned but clean and comfortable. We stayed overnight here on our way to Italy, Our room was large with a balcony where we sat and enjoyed the view, We had a good traditional German dinner which came within our target of £50 for two. The staff were pleasant and attentive. We hope to stay here again another year for a longer stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bluefinch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prince George, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 27 February 2010

A pleasant interior and lounge, with a good breakfast area. Helpful staff!
Room was a little tight, and exterior is nothing spectacular.
Overall good value for money and reasonably good location.
Bicycle rentals are a definite plus - I saw Freiburg the way it was meant to be seen!

Stayed February 2010, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank akmohareb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Freiburg im Breisgau hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Alleehaus
Hotel Alleehaus
#39 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
34 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Schiller Freiburg
Hotel Schiller Freiburg
#53 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
101 reviews
1.0 mi away
Green City Hotel Vauban
Green City Hotel Vauban
#11 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Hotel Classic
Hotel Classic
#25 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
79 reviews
0.6 mi away
Novotel Freiburg
Novotel Freiburg
#9 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
1,602 reviews
2.0 mi away
Super 8 Freiburg
Super 8 Freiburg
#42 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sonne Freiburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sonne Freiburg

Property: Hotel Sonne Freiburg
Address: Basler Str. 58, 79100 Freiburg im Breisgau, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Region: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Freiburg im Breisgau
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 56 Hotels in Freiburg im Breisgau
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Sonne Freiburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sonne Freiburg Germany/Freiburg Im Breisgau, Baden-Wurttemberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing