We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another good visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Zum Roten Baeren
Reviewed 13 October 2013

This hotel is in an ideal location for the Old Town of Freiburg. It is an old building but has a lot of character which makes up for lack of air conditioning, although if the weather had been hot we might not have said that! As other reviewers say it is noisy at night but that is hardly the fault of the hotel. The rooms at the back are quieter, but maybe the noise is the price you pay for a convenient central location. We had no problem with the wifi. Maybe the hotel could provide a little more in the way of toiletries.
The staff are very friendly and helpful, breakfast excellent. The restaurant is to be recommended, quite expensive but worth it.
We will definitely stay here again on our next visit to Freiburg.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MJM48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (114)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 114 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2013

This trip to Freiburg, for the Christmas markets, was a return for me but a first time for DH. Though I had adored my last visit at Roten Baeren, this time was less stellar, though I must affirm that you will not find any better staff and service personnel anywhere.
I had asked for the room I had so enjoyed two years before, but was given, at first, what was termed a comparable room.
I did not think so. It was much smaller than the other room and with not so nice a view. But it did have good design and lighting.
I was very unhappy, however, that my previous room was not available, so the dear good- hearted staff shuffled things around and got us into my former room for the last three nights of our five-night stay.
Unfortunately, for no reason I can fathom, the room had been kind of stripped down and rearranged: the bed had been moved and lamps on the wall had been taken out, replaced with old creaky table lamps. A pretty fabric sofa had been replaced with an awful clunky leather one..
Still, we greatly enjoyed the courtyard view and the ample space..
Breakfast was included and we found it exceptional, served by friendly young folks.
We also ate dinner and lunch -- likewise very good.
Not sure why there is such inconsistency in the rooms. Location and staff are wonderful though.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room. Be aware that rooms in the same category may vary in size and amenities...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janniebeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2012

The staff at this hotel are wonderful but the room needs better facilities. There was no air conditioning which was unfortunate as it was a very hot night and with the window open there was just a little too much noise. It also needs better WIFI considering most of us find this hotels only through being able to access the internet I consider it to be a basic requirement for hotels to have a good, fast free and free connection to the Net. Other than that it was excellent.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Minesbetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2012

Although the worthy staff tried to make up for the situation the Roten Baeren, is an old hotel (the oldest in the world according to them) that hasn't been kept up to date with the times. The fold out bed for my child was a death trap that actually had a nail pointed outwards. The towel rack was radioactively hot and there was a alarmed door at the end of the room for no apparent reason. Having said all this breakfast was excellent and again the staff do their best.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2012

The Hotel lays claim to being the oldest guesthouse in Germany, and while it is full of history (for a small fee, you can vist their huge cellars - quite something...), its infrastructure is absolutely up-to-date. Rooms are spotlessly clean with good-quality furnishings, linen and towels, and very decent beds. The hotel restaurant is was no bother, in terms of noise, and neither is the tram in front (how do they manage to have a tram run near-silently?!). The upside is that the breakfast they serve to hotel guests is fresh, generous, and tasty. Staff have been very friendly indeed, and so this is a place I would certainly recommend. Note: parking at the hotel is very limited (5 places in their underground garage, I think); they provide discounted access to a public garage nearby (Euro 10 per day).

Room Tip: 1: wireless internet is free, but doesn’t reach all rooms (we were on the third floor and had no sig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pete K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2012

Nestled in the old part of the city you can approach this hotel by car for the convenience of dropping bags but beware the trams and bikes which feel like they are coming from all directions.

The friendly greeting is a good start and reception staff have handy a notice for your car explaining that you are a guest and just dropping bags.

No porter available but a lift is available for the rooms. The room we had at the front of this very old building was a good size and had a lovely modern shower with good water pressure. The staff were very helpful and spoke excellent English.

Nice robes and slippers make you feel vey comfortable as you settle into the chaise to rest from a hard days sightseeing. Location could not be better from which to explore this delightful city the shops and cathedral.

Good desk away from the sleeping area to recharge equipment and write reviews.

The restaurant food was very good for traditional fare with smiling helpful staff and breakfast on the first floor was plentiful and fresh.

The view from our room at the front of the hotel was a delight but with the windows open it was a bit noisy for sleeping and a lot of light coming in through the rather meager curtains. The bed however is comfortable. No air con so if it was really warm that could be a problem our room did have a fan.

Red bears are everywhere woven into the carpets, on the towels, even on the slippers so you will not forget where you are.

Definitely worth the experience.

Room Tip: Consider the noise factor if selecting a front room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mcguigs12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

I have to say that the location is simply excellent. The hotel from outside looks very good. It is a petty that the room I was in was dirty, the carpet stained, the bathroom dirty and the walls also dirty. Not to speak about the fact that you can only have internet connection up to the 1st floor and that the people at reception are not exactly customer friendly,...

All in all for only €150 for one night !
Not to go back again

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Torino74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Freiburg im Breisgau hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Oberkirch
Hotel Oberkirch
#6 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
311 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Kreuzblume
Hotel Kreuzblume
#26 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
126 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Rappen am Muensterplatz
Hotel Rappen am Muensterplatz
#19 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Victoria
Best Western Premier Hotel Victo...
#4 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
376 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Alex Hotel
The Alex Hotel
#1 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
398 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alleehaus
Hotel Alleehaus
#42 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Zum Roten Baeren? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Zum Roten Baeren

Address: Oberlinden 12, 79098 Freiburg im Breisgau, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Region: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Freiburg im Breisgau
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 56 Hotels in Freiburg im Breisgau
Price Range: £88 - £147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Zum Roten Baeren 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Zum Roten Baeren reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zum Roten Baeren Hotel
Hotel Zum Roten Baeren Germany/Freiburg Im Breisgau, Baden-Wurttemberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing