We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a nice stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Central Hotel Freiburg
Reviewed 2 October 2013

This is the third time we have stayed at the Central, on the advice of friends who reside in Freiburg. We find the room to be comfortable and the closet system to be very helpful.
The location is ,of course, very convenient to the city center. The breakfast has a nice selection of hot and cold offerings.
As Americans in Europe, we avoid the large chain hotels, preferring smaller establishments.
The Central is one of the best we have experienced.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mwmGrandRapidsMi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (164)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 164 reviews

Reviewed 26 September 2013

It is a cosy and nice place with a really helping and kind staff. However I wouldn't say it deserves as much as 4 stars. The hairdryer didn't work and the service took my towell and did not renewed it... and I found it once exiting the shower. They are only few details, but I consider that a 4 stars hotel should not allow it.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alvaro C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We only stayed one night while touring around the Black Forest, but the room was clean and comfortable, and as the name of the hotel implies, the location offers easy walking distance to any area of the Altstadt.

The hotel offers parking on request in an underground garage for 9 EUR/night (with in/out if you want to leave a deposit for a garage passcard), which seemed reasonable compared to other garage rates in the area. There was a wide selection of items at breakfast, and the service at this family-run hotel was welcoming and friendly. It fulfilled my expectations.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rich_coleman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

This is a not too big hotel in the middle of Freiburg, a German university town near Switzerland and France. When the hotel is not filled to the rim with guests, they will offer rooms for lower prices (also visible on the internetsite of the place). Rooms are not too large, but adequate, as are the in-room bathroom facilities. During a hot summer you may want to ask for a room on the top floor since only those rooms have a/c. The other rooms are equipped with a fan.
Breakfast is wonderful.

Room Tip: hot weather? then ask specifically for a room with a/c (top floor). other room are equipped with fan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tantefrans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013

A bit hard to find even with a gps. Only 4 parking spots in front of the hotel and parking is pricey for such a small hotel. We had 2 single rooms during our stay in June 2013 and they were surprisingly roomy for a standard room type. Walk in small shower in bathrooms. Breakfast buffet was good and plenty. Location is excellent, near major shopping streets and real close to the old part of town.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Doris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013

I spent only two nights at the Central Hotel, but I was quite impressed. The hotel is on a side street in the center of the old part of Freiburg. The front desk staff went out of their way to make sure I had a pleasant stay. My room was spacious, quiet, and very nice. I did not notice any problems with cigarette smoke. The breakfast was better than most Continental style breakfasts. My room was very quiet.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dgrier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2013

The hotel is located quite close to the old town, probably a 15 minute walk from the train station. The staff were very friendly during my stay, but the hotel is very outdated and in need of a facelift. If it don't plan on spending much time in your hotel this place is acceptable, but its more like 2-star rather than 4 (as advertised). Breakfast was quite good, Internet costs an extra 5 EUR per day (which is a pet annoyance of mine!).

Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
Thank Shanryan81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Freiburg im Breisgau hotels
0.2 mi away
Mercure Hotel Freiburg am Muenster
Mercure Hotel Freiburg am Muenst...
#7 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
945 reviews
0.5 mi away
Novotel Freiburg
Novotel Freiburg
#8 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
1,699 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Victoria
Best Western Premier Hotel Victo...
#4 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Alex Hotel
The Alex Hotel
#1 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
391 reviews
3.9 mi away
Dorint Resort An den Thermen Freiburg
Dorint Resort An den Thermen Fre...
#18 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
299 reviews
1.9 mi away
Green City Hotel Vauban
Green City Hotel Vauban
#10 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Central Hotel Freiburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Central Hotel Freiburg

Address: Wasserstr. 6, 79098 Freiburg im Breisgau, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Region: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Freiburg im Breisgau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Freiburg im Breisgau
Price Range: £98 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Central Hotel Freiburg 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Central Hotel Freiburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Central Hotel Freiburg Im Breisgau
Central Hotel Freiburg Germany/Freiburg Im Breisgau, Baden-Wurttemberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing