We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor Amenities”
Review of Novotel Freiburg

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Novotel Freiburg
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

They claimed the hotel to be air conditioned but the rooms were extremely stuffy without any bit of fresh air. Eventually they admitted it was not air conditioned but had a circulatory fresh air system which too was not working. Hotel gave two small table fans for the rooms to be made tolerable.
Other than this all was pretty ok like any Novotel.

Stayed: August 2014
Thank hs74k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
5383Novotel, Leiter Front Office at Novotel Freiburg, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We do have a centralized air cooling system, unfortunately depending on the outside temperature, we cannot always cool the rooms down as per guests expectations. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel very soon!

Sincerely,


the Novotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,724)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

261 - 267 of 1,724 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2014

We stayed five nights.we were 4 couples travelling in one transporter.We did not get very clear directons to the parking lot.It took us quite a while and when we finally got there we were absolutley dismayed to see that our vehicle was too high,by only a little,to pass through the barrier.Nevertheless at the reception they were very kind and let us park very near the entrance door of the hotel and for free too. we did not have breakfast included which was expensive and quite unnecessary for us,so we ate breakfast in the railway station opposite the hotel.Exellent sandwiches and coffee.For the price we paid 115 eur per night I rate the hotel only average.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank EZRA007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
5383Novotel, Leiter Front Office at Novotel Freiburg, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,
the Novotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Arrived very early - knew we could not check in but were allowed to use the spa which was good after long drive through the night. At first impression of pool was to small but with current button had very good swim and relaxing in spa area. , check In Was efficient as would expect from Germany, room was immaculately prepared and clean, very good nights sleep and had breakfast downstairs in hotel Restuarant. Although seemed expensive when taken in with children eating free very good value, food was excellent offering cooked and continental breakfast- the only bad point as the rest of the world -could not make tea!! But coffee better product. Check out also as efficient as check in. Certainly would recommend and stay at the hotel when in Freiburg again.

Room Tip: Had a room on the first floor quick and easy to access and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
5383Novotel, Leiter Front Office at Novotel Freiburg, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,
the Novotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We stayed here in July the night that Germany won the foot ball (or soccer) world cup. There was a party in the street near the hotel. We a perfect view of the party! Some of you could be thinking oh that's bad ......it was NOT. When we had the window opened watching the party is was soooooo loud but when we shut the window...silence. It was great to be there that night and we will never forget it. The hotel seems new. It is very clean has good food and the room size was a lot bigger that other Germany hotels. It is near the train station and luckily for our son a McDonalds. We had a great stay here and if we are ever in Freiburg again we know where we will stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Careful-tourist-IN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
5383Novotel, Leiter Front Office at Novotel Freiburg, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,
the Novotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Novotel, Freiburg is located in a good place with access to Railway station / Bus stand / shopping area and it is quiet old property.

Internet is FREE everywhere in the Hotel, which is a major deviation to other German Hotels. Food quality is normal and not much variety compared to the standard black forest hotel. Lifts are quiet old and make lot of noise. Swimming pool is very small but water quality is good.

Room Tip: I think there may be better hotels near by for the same tariff range.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Parpanatha Pala... M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
5383Novotel, Leiter Front Office at Novotel Freiburg, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel very soon!

Sincerely,

the Novotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
5383Novotel, Leiter Front Office at Novotel Freiburg, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We stayed at this hotel for a weekend trip into the Black Forest and we were grateful for the availability of this particular hotel. The staff is incredibly accomodating with everything from check-in to breakfast service.

Parking is located directly beneath the hotel; however, you can only enter into the garage from one direction. The downside of this hotel is the proximity to the main train station. If you drive into Freiburg, the train station is a distraction; however, if you decide to take the train into Freiburg, the proximity is great.

The Novotel is located within a five minute walk of the pedestrian zone and less than a ten minute walk to the main square and the cathedral. Either way, the centrally located Novotel is a perfect place to stay.

Last but not least, the breakfast is well worth the cost. The standard hot breakfast menu (eggs, sausage, waffles) are available, but also a selection of black forest meats are offered making this a very unique selection to start your day.

Room Tip: Face away from the main train station if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
5383Novotel, Leiter Front Office at Novotel Freiburg, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,
the Novotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Freiburg im Breisgau hotels
0.6 mi away
Mercure Hotel Freiburg am Muenster
Mercure Hotel Freiburg am Muenst...
#6 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
960 reviews
1.7 mi away
Mercure Hotel Panorama Freiburg
Mercure Hotel Panorama Freiburg
#2 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
656 reviews
3.4 mi away
Dorint Resort An den Thermen Freiburg
Dorint Resort An den Thermen Fre...
#15 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Victoria
Best Western Premier Hotel Victo...
#3 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
376 reviews
2.3 mi away
Clarion Hotel Hirschen
Clarion Hotel Hirschen
#7 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
253 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Alex Hotel
The Alex Hotel
#1 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Freiburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Freiburg

Address: Konrad-Adenauer-Platz 2, 79098 Freiburg im Breisgau, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Freiburg im Breisgau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Freiburg im Breisgau
#5 Luxury Hotel in Freiburg im Breisgau
#6 Family Hotel in Freiburg im Breisgau
#10 Romantic Hotel in Freiburg im Breisgau
#13 Business Hotel in Freiburg im Breisgau
Price Range: £84 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Freiburg 4*
Number of rooms: 219
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Freiburg Am Konzerthaus is located in the heart of the university town of Freiburg. With 219 rooms, a terrace, eight meeting rooms and direct access to the Konzerthaus convention centre, this 4 star hotel is perfect for relaxing or concentrating on work. Unwind with our swimming pool, sauna and beauty treatments. Business travellers and holidaymakers appreciate our central location, opposite the ICE train station, 60 km from Basel International Airport with an easy connection to the A5. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Accorhotels.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Novotel Freiburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Freiburg Hotel Freiburg Im Breisgau
Novotel Hotel Freiburg
Novotel Freiburg Im Breisgau
Freiburg Im Breisgau Novotel
Novotel Freiburg Germany/Freiburg Im Breisgau, Baden-Wurttemberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing