We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel away from the world”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dorint Resort An den Thermen Freiburg
Reviewed 4 September 2013

This was a well presented hotel and a fantastic place to stay. The service at reception was very good and made us feel very welcome. The food was nice but you do need to signal to the staff to be served I found this to be a standard in restaurants around Europe. A nice secluded passage way for hotel users to access the spa without going outside as well.

Notes:
- The spa is actually in a separate section to the hotel, unless you brought a package you need to buy a pass for it which is cheaper in the hotel than directly at the spa.
- There's a separate section for saunas and you do have to strip down (Naked) to use them. Something we were not aware or use to this and decided not to use it once inside as it was a bit overwhelming.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank livefc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (287)
There are newer reviews for Dorint Resort An den Thermen Freiburg
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 287 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2013

This is a very nice hotel with cozy and quiet rooms. I loved to open the window every morning and see the forest. The staff were very friendly and assisted us in everything we required. The breakfast was already very good. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marita_Al
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

PLUS :
* clean rooms
* nice and clean bathroom with a big rain-shower
* silent location
* pleasant outside terras if the service was faster
* free internet in the lobby
* a lot of saunas (11) with a nice little bar where it is cheaper to have a drink than in the hotel.
* there is no check if you ordered breakfast or not, so you can just go and eat.

MIN :
* no airconditioning : our room was just under a metal roof, and it was 28 degrees outside and even hotter inside, even at night.
* service in the restaurant is very slow : it took 3 hours to eat an 3-course meal. If you order a drink, you have to wait 20-30 minutes before you get it.
* dinner = very expensive
* not enough parking space, I had to park outside the hotel when we came back from the centre.
* you will feel like a hospital patient, because it is located next to a revalidation hospital. A lot of the patients were also in the hotel and the spa.
* breakfast buffet not bad but limited in choise.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Facehugger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2013

A beautifully-decorated, clean and quiet room with a wonderful view of the forest. The staff were exceptionally friendly (as were the other guests!) and helpful beyond the call-of-duty. I've stayed at this hotel a couple of times (18 months apart) and on both occasions, found the hotel to be nothing short of excellent. Highly recommended to those who desire a "North American" - style hotel room.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ndsci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dorintfreiburg, Verkaufsleiter at Dorint Resort An den Thermen Freiburg, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2013
Google Translation

Lieber Gast,

gerne möchten wir uns bei Ihnen bedanken, dass Sie erneut zu Gast in unserem Dorint Resort An den Thermen Freiburg waren.

Ihre positiven Anmerkungen bezüglich der Freundlichkeit unseres Teams und der guten Hotelküche, ist eine gute Motivation, unser Ziel nach höchster Qualität und Zufriedenheit für unsere Gäste nicht aus den Augen zu verlieren. Wir sind Ihnen dankbar.
Aus gesundheitlichen Gründen haben wir auf eine Klimaanlage auf den Hotelzimmern verzichtet und setzen auf die natürliche Klimatisierung des Waldes. Gerne stellen wir unseren Gästen, bei Anfrage, Ventilatoren in die Hotelzimmer, um für zusätzliche Kühlung zu sorgen.

Wir sagen nochmals herzlichen Dank, dass wir Sie in unserem Hause als Gast hatten und hoffen, Sie zu einem anderen Zeitpunkt in Freiburg erneut begrüßen zu dürfen.

Gastfreundliche Grüße,
Ihr Team des Dorint Resorts Freiburg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2012

This hotel is located only 5 km from Freiburg in the middle of the forest. Right next to it you will find a public thermo-spa with hot springs coming from the ground. Our family room was very nice, clean and comfortable. Breakfast was excellent but what we liked most was the dinner. The restaurant serves an amazing menu for a good price. It is a shame there was no air conditioning in the room as it was very hot and it was difficult to sleep. We also thought our room was too expensive for what it was but overall it was a good stay.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AliciaBrugge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012 via mobile

The hotel located near the highway 5 so it's very good for travelers who wants to toto Europa park , the rooms are very poor without aircondition so it was very hot and very difficult to sleep. The resturant is very good and the breakfast is excellent. So for overall it's very expensive for what you get!! We paid on average a 230 euro for a room with two kids.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gad666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

I have mixed feelings about Dorint Resort An den Thermen. Service is very good and professional as usually in Dorint hotels. The restaurant is very good. Both the dinner and breakfast were enjoyable.

The problem is the room. In my opinion, the room was something one would expect in DDR in the 1980's. I have visited several Dorint hotels (eg. Weimer, Binz) and I have enjoyed my stays. However, this time Dorint let me down big time. It looked like the hotel had been built 25-30 years ago and since then the rooms had not been renovated. In addition, the room was small and very hot. Bathroom as well looked like DDR in the 1980's.

I am surprised that Dorint management is not taking any action in this place. I understand that cash-flow is important but in the long run the rooms like this will kill the brand equity of Dorint brand.

I would recommend travellers to find someplace else to stay when in Freiburg area.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tygrys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 5 July 2012

Thank you very much for your critique and the many postive aspects about our F&B department. We forwarded your remarks and the staff is really thankful for your compliment.
Regarding the nice description of our hotel room we would like to mention our currently onging building under construction. The bare brickwork is already finished - you must have seen it - and the interior work is now done. End of the year 32 new rooms and 5 suites will be available. Additionally we are going to rennovate the existing rooms starting Jan 13.
Visit us in the spring and you will be fascinated.
Therefore your comment about our management not taking action is not justified. We are taking a lot of action.
We would appreciate if travellers could not attend to this comment

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Freiburg im Breisgau hotels
5.0 mi away
Mercure Hotel Panorama Freiburg
Mercure Hotel Panorama Freiburg
#2 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
617 reviews
4.0 mi away
Mercure Hotel Freiburg am Muenster
Mercure Hotel Freiburg am Muenst...
#7 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
922 reviews
3.4 mi away
Novotel Freiburg
Novotel Freiburg
#8 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
1,660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Clarion Hotel Hirschen
Clarion Hotel Hirschen
#6 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
242 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Alex Hotel
The Alex Hotel
#1 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
349 reviews
3.6 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Victoria
Best Western Premier Hotel Victo...
#4 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dorint Resort An den Thermen Freiburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorint Resort An den Thermen Freiburg

Address: An den Heilquellen 8, 79111 Freiburg im Breisgau, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Region: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Freiburg im Breisgau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Freiburg im Breisgau
#9 Luxury Hotel in Freiburg im Breisgau
#12 Business Hotel in Freiburg im Breisgau
Price Range: £88 - £166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dorint Resort An den Thermen Freiburg 4*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star-hotel Dorint Resort an den Thermen Freiburg is modern nonsmoking hotel in the woods at Freiburg. The comfortable rooms and suites are equipped with seperate bathrooms, telephone, mini bar, flat screen tv and free wireless internet. Our restaurant Munstereck offers a range of fresh recipes from the Schwarzwald region. The Freiburger Bar welcomes you for a refreshing drink or tasty beer brewed in our city. The connected thermal bath suites every expectation (against extra charge). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Dorint Resort An den Thermen Freiburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dorint Resort An Den Thermen Freiburg Germany/Freiburg Im Breisgau, Baden-Wurttemberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing